True Detective : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 12, 2014
Season #: 1, 2
True Detective Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1680 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A 17-year hunt for a serial killer in Louisiana begins with Detectives Rust Cohle (Matthew McConaughey) and Martin Hart (Woody Harrelson) joining the search in this eight-episode anthology series.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    100
    The drama is quite riveting.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 10, 2014
    100
    True Detective runs slow and steady without ever seeming to drag. Even minor characters get room to breathe, and seem independently alive; the briefest scenes seem to imply life beyond the frame.... The dance [Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson] do together here is work of a very high order, and all the reason you need to watch.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 2, 2014
    100
    The acting--by Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson--is off the charts. The writing and the concept, by series creator and novelist Nic Pizzolatto, undulates from effectively brash soliloquies to penetratingly nuanced moments carried by sparse prose. Lastly, director Cary Joji Fukunaga has created a beautiful, sprawling sense of place (the series is shot and set in Louisiana).
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Jan 13, 2014
    100
    After True Detective, all the other TV cops hunting serial killers are going to look like copycats. It’s that the taut script and spot-on dialogue takes us on a ’90s noir roller coaster ride of Shakespearean tragedy with fearless literary aspirations, delivered by two actors at the top of their game.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 10, 2014
    90
    The crime they're investigating often takes such a back seat to the show's tricky structure and the all-pervasive angst you may once again wonder what exactly HBO has against the notion of narrative urgency. But be patient with this slow-burner of a disturbing, demanding drama. These detectives are truly fascinating.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 10, 2014
    80
    Happily, Harrelson and McConaughey play the characters well enough, and the script is crafted ingeniously enough, that we want to know where it all goes next--and don't focus on the likelihood it will be no place good.
  7. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Mar 27, 2014
    30
    Whatever the length of the show’s much admired tracking shot (six minutes, uncut!), it feels less hardboiled than softheaded. Which might be O.K. if True Detective were dumb fun, but, good God, it’s not: it’s got so much gravitas it could run for President.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 217
  1. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Just another lover of "True Detective". Yes, it does remind me of several other detective/procedural series on TV but it is so much moreJust another lover of "True Detective". Yes, it does remind me of several other detective/procedural series on TV but it is so much more subtle, so much better acted. Harrelson and McConneghy are far from being among my favorite actors but on "True Detective", they simply show how it is done. Excellent! Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Judging from the first episodes, this could be another milestone in the modern TV drama wonder so far. It's lovingly crafted in every aspect,Judging from the first episodes, this could be another milestone in the modern TV drama wonder so far. It's lovingly crafted in every aspect, from the visual and directing to the writing and the acting. Sure, it's slow and brooding but never unnecessarily so. In fact, the low tempo makes it all the more enjoyable. There is a confidence, a knowingness to it. True Detective is aware of it's own strengths and plays them to very max. Let's just hope they keep it up throughout the season. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2014
    10
    True Detective is not just a TV show about serial killers. It is a take on the eternal struggle between darkness and light. The first seasonTrue Detective is not just a TV show about serial killers. It is a take on the eternal struggle between darkness and light. The first season focussed on the worlds of the two detectives Rust Cohle and Martin Hart. True Detective is about questions every human needs to ask him/herself. Is life worth living with such evil in this world? Is the human race worth fighting for? The show is a philosophical discussion as much as it is a cool crime show. It refuses to be a "sexy show" like a Dexter. It will put off people who ONLY want a cool serial killer chase. Don't get me wrong. There is a cool serial killer chase in there. But it offers so much more.

    The writing and dialogue are sublime. Matthew McConaughey puts up a spectacular performance and is one of my favourite detective characters of all time. Dark, brooding and partly insane. The cinematography is outstanding, right from the opening montage (which is beautiful) to the gruesome murder scenes. It is one of my all time favourite TV shows.
    Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Sometimes I will watch a tv show and from the beginning I will have to force myself to push through boring dialog. From the start of this showSometimes I will watch a tv show and from the beginning I will have to force myself to push through boring dialog. From the start of this show to the end I WAS GLUED! I wanted more and more and more. The characters were amazing the story was very clever and kept me thinking. I really hope if they continue with new detectives they sit down and think very hard about how they can top this. This is one of my favorite series thank you HBObasedgod Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2016
    9
    American television is evolving, aggressively abandoning the 20-episode season in favor of shorter, character-driven, story-concentratedAmerican television is evolving, aggressively abandoning the 20-episode season in favor of shorter, character-driven, story-concentrated seasons heavy on substance and light on filler. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2016
    8
    Powerfully acted by it's developed characters and brilliantly crafted by Nic Pizzolatto, True Detective overcomes a slow start and somePowerfully acted by it's developed characters and brilliantly crafted by Nic Pizzolatto, True Detective overcomes a slow start and some familiar police procedural elements to craft an exquisite experience that pays off dividends in the end of the season. Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2015
    0
    Yes the acting is good but the rest is awful,The story is not interesting,the characters are not likeable and the series is boring asYes the acting is good but the rest is awful,The story is not interesting,the characters are not likeable and the series is boring as hell.This is probably my biggest disappointment in a tv show. Expand

See all 217 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best (and Worst) New TV Shows of 2014

    The Best (and Worst) New TV Shows of 2014 Image
    Published: December 23, 2014
    We reveal the year's best-reviewed first-year series, as well as 2014's top TV movies, miniseries, and specials.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  4. Episode Review: True Detective Season 1 Finale

    Episode Review: True Detective Season 1 Finale Image
    Published: March 10, 2014
    Find out what critics are saying about last night's season finale of HBO's True Detective, "Form and Void."
  5. Midseason TV: A Guide to Winter's New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV: A Guide to Winter's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 2, 2014
    Browse our guide to the most notable shows debuting over the next few months, including promising newcomers like HBO's True Detective and returning favorites such as Justified, House of Cards, Sherlock, and The Americans.