• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 12, 2014
Season #: 1, 2
True Detective Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1238 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A 17-year hunt for a serial killer in Louisiana begins with Detectives Rust Cohle (Matthew McConaughey) and Martin Hart (Woody Harrelson) joining the search in this eight-episode anthology series.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    100
    The drama is quite riveting.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 10, 2014
    100
    True Detective runs slow and steady without ever seeming to drag. Even minor characters get room to breathe, and seem independently alive; the briefest scenes seem to imply life beyond the frame.... The dance [Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson] do together here is work of a very high order, and all the reason you need to watch.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 2, 2014
    100
    The acting--by Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson--is off the charts. The writing and the concept, by series creator and novelist Nic Pizzolatto, undulates from effectively brash soliloquies to penetratingly nuanced moments carried by sparse prose. Lastly, director Cary Joji Fukunaga has created a beautiful, sprawling sense of place (the series is shot and set in Louisiana).
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Jan 13, 2014
    100
    After True Detective, all the other TV cops hunting serial killers are going to look like copycats. It’s that the taut script and spot-on dialogue takes us on a ’90s noir roller coaster ride of Shakespearean tragedy with fearless literary aspirations, delivered by two actors at the top of their game.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 10, 2014
    90
    The crime they're investigating often takes such a back seat to the show's tricky structure and the all-pervasive angst you may once again wonder what exactly HBO has against the notion of narrative urgency. But be patient with this slow-burner of a disturbing, demanding drama. These detectives are truly fascinating.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 10, 2014
    80
    Happily, Harrelson and McConaughey play the characters well enough, and the script is crafted ingeniously enough, that we want to know where it all goes next--and don't focus on the likelihood it will be no place good.
  7. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Mar 27, 2014
    30
    Whatever the length of the show’s much admired tracking shot (six minutes, uncut!), it feels less hardboiled than softheaded. Which might be O.K. if True Detective were dumb fun, but, good God, it’s not: it’s got so much gravitas it could run for President.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 187
  1. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Just another lover of "True Detective". Yes, it does remind me of several other detective/procedural series on TV but it is so much moreJust another lover of "True Detective". Yes, it does remind me of several other detective/procedural series on TV but it is so much more subtle, so much better acted. Harrelson and McConneghy are far from being among my favorite actors but on "True Detective", they simply show how it is done. Excellent! Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson steal the show, for me especially McConaughey, he shines here and shows why he received an AcademyMatthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson steal the show, for me especially McConaughey, he shines here and shows why he received an Academy Award. And the script, the characters, pacing, the show itself is above amazing. The story keeps you glued to your seats, while you crawing for more, and the fact you'll probably need to watch this show twice to figure out everything, or if you missed some small details. All in all the best detective show i ever watched, can't wait for season 2 to come out. For anyone who didn't yet see True Detective i'm asking you to give this show a chance and i promise you won't regret it. I would be very suprised if McConaughey or Harrelson don't get an Emmy. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    acekwong ; men you don´t know nothing about tv shows, sorry about this, but i have the sensation that you only watch things like walking dead,acekwong ; men you don´t know nothing about tv shows, sorry about this, but i have the sensation that you only watch things like walking dead, the following, with gun fire all the episode. Probably you should deleted your account (Im from chile, thats is why my english its so bad)

    The show is amazing, the different timeline, and flashbacks have a very good sensation, i like the story and the characters, they are amazing too. A shame that there is only 8 episodes, and the characters wont be repeting next season.
    Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is simply brilliant television, The writing, the photography and the acting is simply sensational. How freaking amazing is Mathew Mconaughy? And woody harrelson is brilliant as well. Episode 4 was absolutely gripping, the sort of TV that only comes around once and awhile. It reminds me of particular episodes of the Wire and more recently Southland where you are watching and on the edge of your seat. I'm just worried they won't get 4-5 seasons out of the premise because I just want this series to go on and on. Get on it! Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    Moody, hypnotic, philosophical, biting, moving, complex: just three episodes down and I'm completely captivated by this new HBO series. TheMoody, hypnotic, philosophical, biting, moving, complex: just three episodes down and I'm completely captivated by this new HBO series. The acting is masterful. The dialogue is believable (a rare treat). The self-reflective story line demands that the audience watches and waits; so we look forward to being invited in on each secret. Television for grown-ups. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2014
    8
    The refined acting and writing help make this drama overcome the soapy, grotesque feel the show has at times. Don't get me wrong: the show isThe refined acting and writing help make this drama overcome the soapy, grotesque feel the show has at times. Don't get me wrong: the show is visually stunning. It just needs the extra push. Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2014
    0
    While McConaughey and Harrelson do the best they can with this awful script, they can't save this show all by themselves. I found this show soWhile McConaughey and Harrelson do the best they can with this awful script, they can't save this show all by themselves. I found this show so boring and pointless that I couldn't finish the series. The characters are are unlikable and not terribly interesting (Harrelson is basically an **** and McConaughey is just ridiculous), and the supporting characters are pretty much cardboard cutouts of supposedly real people. The women exist merely as props or bouncing **** and ass, and after a few episodes it was really hard to care what was going on. Don't bother with a second season, because I can't imagine anyone could possibly still be awake after watching the first season. Expand

See all 187 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best (and Worst) New TV Shows of 2014

    The Best (and Worst) New TV Shows of 2014 Image
    Published: December 23, 2014
    We reveal the year's best-reviewed first-year series, as well as 2014's top TV movies, miniseries, and specials.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  4. Episode Review: True Detective Season 1 Finale

    Episode Review: True Detective Season 1 Finale Image
    Published: March 10, 2014
    Find out what critics are saying about last night's season finale of HBO's True Detective, "Form and Void."
  5. Midseason TV: A Guide to Winter's New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV: A Guide to Winter's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 2, 2014
    Browse our guide to the most notable shows debuting over the next few months, including promising newcomers like HBO's True Detective and returning favorites such as Justified, House of Cards, Sherlock, and The Americans.