• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 13, 2006
User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 51
  2. Negative: 24 out of 51

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichelleG
    Apr 28, 2007
    9
    We still miss Tuesday Night Bookclub. The show was very addictive and interesting to watch. We were just talking about it again the other day. Loved the newlyweds and the woman with the animals. It was really a good show.
  2. HollyG
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    Please air this show again! I want to know what happened to everyone!!!
  3. InezS
    Oct 9, 2006
    9
    Show was not that bad. Better than the crap CBS has put out lately. Each of the women had an interesting situation they were living with...i know a lot of other women could to relate to something in each. Too bad it was canned so fast, it was getting quite interesting
  4. Kristi
    Sep 8, 2006
    0
    Awful.. so glad it's not going to be on anymore. I've lived in Scottsdale almost all my life, and they really gave the place a bad rap. This was the most unrealistic 'reality' show I've ever had the displeasure of watching.
  5. GlendaJ
    Aug 1, 2006
    9
    We enjoyed it...much better than the crap that's on replacing it. Hope it returns soon. Very real, very right on.
  6. MelodyG
    Aug 1, 2006
    9
    Just found this site. Had to put my 2 cents in even though it's over. Too bad it's been cancelled ~I thought it was pretty good and was quite bummed it went off the air. I hope CBS reschedules it so we can all see how it went for the women. it sure is still getting a lot of chatter for a cancelled show.
  7. AD
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    I really enjoyed this show. Even though these women are all differnet, I could relate to all of them, and I do believe that it is true, and not scripted! I hope that they will bring it back. If you get past the outside appearances and look at the real issues, you may find that you relate as well.
  8. JeanetteD
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    I really liked the show, and I was really dissapointed that it's not on the air anymore.
  9. Melanie
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    Loved the show! I just heard it's off air now. That's awful and really unbelieveable. I would much rather watch these women go through "real" issues than a fictional dysfunctional sitcom!!! It's like watching a lifetime movie...and I love those too!!
  10. SRichardson
    Jun 27, 2006
    9
    I love it!! Why isn't it on tonight?!??!
  11. PaulJ
    Jun 23, 2006
    0
    After watching for 10 min I couldn't take anymore and switched channels. Then I kept checking back to see if it was really as bad as I thought. Each time the answer was "Yes!".
  12. LoriP
    Jun 22, 2006
    0
    This show is a train wreck....soooo awful!!!
  13. Diane
    Jun 22, 2006
    0
    STINKS
  14. RhondaD
    Jun 21, 2006
    6
    Its okay, last night was better than the first episode. The "Den Mother" is really funny, just being mother earth to the kids. Sara has personality and a good sense of humor. She seems real to me.
  15. JenniferW
    Jun 21, 2006
    8
    I loved it!!! It showed such different people with different problems.
  16. mitzik
    Jun 20, 2006
    0
    All I can say is, CBS has GOT to be kidding! What pure, unadulterated drivel. And I find it hard to believe it is not scripted.
  17. AnnaB
    Jun 19, 2006
    7
    Hope they show more of the dog. Scottsdale...or is it Snotsdale?
  18. JackH
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    I love this show. I grew up in Scottsdale and it's spot on! It's kind of weird that it's on CBS though... as it feels like an ABC show. I'm counting the minutes to Tues. to see this show again.
  19. DonL
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    The worst - plastic and shallow
  20. MarianneL
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    Terrible!
  21. LynnP
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    Could this show get any worse? These women need a "reality check" not a "reality show".
  22. roberto
    Jun 15, 2006
    5
    I vote 5 because Cris's is the only real person and her attempt to save the marriage is a 10 but the others are a 0
  23. JaniceR
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    I made the mistake of watching this godawful thing and still have a bad taste in my mouth. It was a cleansing experience to read what the critics said.
  24. LINDAH
    Jun 14, 2006
    5
    Mediocre show to say the least. Hey! I didn't know it was reality. I thought it was scripted, and the newlywed woman......whatever her name is....she is such an -itch! She has a cute hotty for a hubby, so why would he stick around and put up with her attitude.
  25. NoelC
    Jun 14, 2006
    9
    The high quality production seem to be throwing veiwers off in buying into these women being real.
  26. kaceys
    Jun 14, 2006
    9
    I liked it!
  27. LeslieB
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    Give me a break this was one of the worst shows I have ever seen. What a bunch of pathetic plastic women.
  28. MaureenR
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    Ugh! I used to be a stay-at-home mom, and I never even had time to complain about things like these women do! And as for Kirin--31??--I don't think so honey. They may be rich in money, but they are the most shallow, self-centered group of *itches to come down the pike in a long time! Shame on ALL of them. I will never watch again.
  29. BrookA
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    I tuned in to this show only because I grew up in Phoenix and lived in Scottsdale for about 6 years after college...Wildy disappointed. I would have rated this show a 0 if it hadn't been for Mr. Butters!
  30. EvaW
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    I watched this show because the critics said it was a great new show to watch. Well, they were wrong. This show is horrible. I found it really difficult to care about these women at all. Do not waste your time. I will not watch again. It's basically junk food for your soul. I feel sorry for these women. They should give away all their money and learn to be caring, down to earth human I watched this show because the critics said it was a great new show to watch. Well, they were wrong. This show is horrible. I found it really difficult to care about these women at all. Do not waste your time. I will not watch again. It's basically junk food for your soul. I feel sorry for these women. They should give away all their money and learn to be caring, down to earth human beings again. Expand
  31. LoriC
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    This was the absolute worst show I've ever seen.
  32. mrssmith
    Jun 14, 2006
    8
    this show is almost as exciting as having sex in a car accident. I tried to look away, because I knew this hour of my life is prescious and I might want it back some day, but I could not. I loved the girls nuevo riche trailer park additudes almost as much as I loved the fact that they have no idea they are way more anna nicole than nicole kidman. I would like to say that this show is too this show is almost as exciting as having sex in a car accident. I tried to look away, because I knew this hour of my life is prescious and I might want it back some day, but I could not. I loved the girls nuevo riche trailer park additudes almost as much as I loved the fact that they have no idea they are way more anna nicole than nicole kidman. I would like to say that this show is too rediculous to watch however, that is precisely why you should. Expand
  33. RS
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    Very stupid! I can't believe this is on the TV. How embarassing for Scottsdale!
  34. MaryH
    Jun 14, 2006
    8
    I was expecting the worst and was surprised that i actually found it entertaining. I will watch again next week. What was that someone said about, "it's like watching a trainwreck" that's what it feels like.... painful but possibly addicting
  35. StephanieH
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    Worst show ever. Can't tell if this is reality tv or just really bad acting. And TOTALLY unbelievable.
  36. ChrisJ
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    it's a "we''re pretty with too much money and nothing to do so let's play dress up and make a tv show of our so-called lives" show!
  37. vivio
    Jun 13, 2006
    0
    A piece of Mr. Butters excrement. Unfortunately you won't find a diamond ring even if you used a power washer. I can't believe I withstood the pain of that hour.
  38. AnnieD
    Jun 13, 2006
    2
    Give me a break, this show makes Desperate Housewives look like a freakin' documentary. Two words: As If.
  39. AnnieJ
    Jun 13, 2006
    1
    This is the strangest show. I have the feeling that scenarios are scripted and then ad-libbed in the way that cheap porn movies are ... stopping short of the graphic sex. Yuk!
  40. CherylK
    Jun 13, 2006
    0
    This is THE WORST reality show because it's NOT a reality show at all. It's just a staged half-baked idea about people who have less brains and more money and time than they know what to do with. Horrible, horrible, horrible.
  41. SteveC
    Jun 13, 2006
    7
    I enjoyed the show and think that other people will as well. Regardless of their social status, these women will appeal to people from different walks of life.
  42. Saph
    Jun 13, 2006
    0
    I shall not waste precious breathing time to watch this inane series. I would much rather read a good book.
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 8 out of 13
  1. Book club? Please. These Scottsdale, Ariz., women don't read. They whine, they shop, and they obsess over the way they look. [16 Jun 2006, p.71]
  2. "Book Club" is one of those "wink, wink, nudge, nudge" series. You know, the kind that promote themselves as giving unvarnished looks into real-life issues facing women in a variety of situations but that mostly exist to exploit them.
  3. One of the more awful projects to hit CBS prime time in years.