Tuesday Night Book Club : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 13, 2006
User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 51
  2. Negative: 24 out of 51

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JaniceR
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    I made the mistake of watching this godawful thing and still have a bad taste in my mouth. It was a cleansing experience to read what the critics said.
  2. LeslieB
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    Give me a break this was one of the worst shows I have ever seen. What a bunch of pathetic plastic women.
  3. Diane
    Jun 22, 2006
    0
    STINKS
  4. Saph
    Jun 13, 2006
    0
    I shall not waste precious breathing time to watch this inane series. I would much rather read a good book.
  5. vivio
    Jun 13, 2006
    0
    A piece of Mr. Butters excrement. Unfortunately you won't find a diamond ring even if you used a power washer. I can't believe I withstood the pain of that hour.
  6. AnnieD
    Jun 13, 2006
    2
    Give me a break, this show makes Desperate Housewives look like a freakin' documentary. Two words: As If.
  7. EvaW
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    I watched this show because the critics said it was a great new show to watch. Well, they were wrong. This show is horrible. I found it really difficult to care about these women at all. Do not waste your time. I will not watch again. It's basically junk food for your soul. I feel sorry for these women. They should give away all their money and learn to be caring, down to earth human I watched this show because the critics said it was a great new show to watch. Well, they were wrong. This show is horrible. I found it really difficult to care about these women at all. Do not waste your time. I will not watch again. It's basically junk food for your soul. I feel sorry for these women. They should give away all their money and learn to be caring, down to earth human beings again. Expand
  8. MaureenR
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    Ugh! I used to be a stay-at-home mom, and I never even had time to complain about things like these women do! And as for Kirin--31??--I don't think so honey. They may be rich in money, but they are the most shallow, self-centered group of *itches to come down the pike in a long time! Shame on ALL of them. I will never watch again.
  9. ChrisJ
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    it's a "we''re pretty with too much money and nothing to do so let's play dress up and make a tv show of our so-called lives" show!
  10. StephanieH
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    Worst show ever. Can't tell if this is reality tv or just really bad acting. And TOTALLY unbelievable.
  11. RS
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    Very stupid! I can't believe this is on the TV. How embarassing for Scottsdale!
  12. LoriC
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    This was the absolute worst show I've ever seen.
  13. mitzik
    Jun 20, 2006
    0
    All I can say is, CBS has GOT to be kidding! What pure, unadulterated drivel. And I find it hard to believe it is not scripted.
  14. Kristi
    Sep 8, 2006
    0
    Awful.. so glad it's not going to be on anymore. I've lived in Scottsdale almost all my life, and they really gave the place a bad rap. This was the most unrealistic 'reality' show I've ever had the displeasure of watching.
  15. CherylK
    Jun 13, 2006
    0
    This is THE WORST reality show because it's NOT a reality show at all. It's just a staged half-baked idea about people who have less brains and more money and time than they know what to do with. Horrible, horrible, horrible.
  16. AnnieJ
    Jun 13, 2006
    1
    This is the strangest show. I have the feeling that scenarios are scripted and then ad-libbed in the way that cheap porn movies are ... stopping short of the graphic sex. Yuk!
  17. BrookA
    Jun 14, 2006
    1
    I tuned in to this show only because I grew up in Phoenix and lived in Scottsdale for about 6 years after college...Wildy disappointed. I would have rated this show a 0 if it hadn't been for Mr. Butters!
  18. LynnP
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    Could this show get any worse? These women need a "reality check" not a "reality show".
  19. MarianneL
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    Terrible!
  20. DonL
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    The worst - plastic and shallow
  21. LoriP
    Jun 22, 2006
    0
    This show is a train wreck....soooo awful!!!
  22. PaulJ
    Jun 23, 2006
    0
    After watching for 10 min I couldn't take anymore and switched channels. Then I kept checking back to see if it was really as bad as I thought. Each time the answer was "Yes!".
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 8 out of 13
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Alynda Wheat
    33
    Book club? Please. These Scottsdale, Ariz., women don't read. They whine, they shop, and they obsess over the way they look. [16 Jun 2006, p.71]
  2. "Book Club" is one of those "wink, wink, nudge, nudge" series. You know, the kind that promote themselves as giving unvarnished looks into real-life issues facing women in a variety of situations but that mostly exist to exploit them.
  3. One of the more awful projects to hit CBS prime time in years.