Twenty Good Years : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 11, 2006
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 38
  2. Negative: 13 out of 38

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. aquilesd
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    i will give it a chance
  2. RhondaB
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    Excellent show - love it. I was enjoying it more w/ each episode.
  3. TonyG
    Oct 18, 2006
    8
    The second episode made up for the pilot. Twenty Good Years is like Lithgrow's '3rd rock form the sun' character is on speed.
  4. nilm
    Dec 31, 2006
    9
    Very differend and funny tv show. Must see.
  5. JoeP
    Oct 31, 2006
    4
    stupid, very few funny moments.
  6. MaxG
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Great show. Lithgow is alays terrific
  7. Compo
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    Given the opportunity, this could have been the next version of LOTSW. Two thumbs down to NBC for pulling the plug in such a short period of time.
  8. DavidP
    Oct 12, 2006
    3
    I did not watch more than five minutes. I couldn't. Tired jokes and a laugh track that laughs at EVERYTHING. Unfortunately I was really looking forward to it - both stars are fantastic, but this show blows.
  9. UlfB
    Oct 12, 2006
    0
    Truly one of the least funny, least interesting, least enjoyable 15 minutes of television I've ever suffered through. Luckly, I found my remote after exhaustive searching and was able to change the channel.
  10. AriM
    Nov 6, 2006
    0
    I gave this a 0 instead of a 1 because it has two such great talents that are horribly wasted. It makes me sad that the fact they are doing this show means they're not out there doing something that might actually be entertaining. I had high hopes for two of my favorite television actors. Five minutes in, they were dashed. I still watched it for one more episode to give it a chance. Gag.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2006
    2
    Most predictable sitcom in ages. Nothing new comes out of this show and the laugh track makes me feel like an idiot.
  12. MarkS
    Oct 18, 2006
    2
    A terrible shame that this show is so bad because both of the stars are excellent and are very well cast. They put in the best they can, but the material itself is so unbelievably weak that it doesn't even matter. In the hands of a better writing staff and perhaps with a better premise this show could be fabulous, but at present I could barely tolerate a full episode. Quite tragic as A terrible shame that this show is so bad because both of the stars are excellent and are very well cast. They put in the best they can, but the material itself is so unbelievably weak that it doesn't even matter. In the hands of a better writing staff and perhaps with a better premise this show could be fabulous, but at present I could barely tolerate a full episode. Quite tragic as I'd actually been looking forward to it. Expand
  13. ChrisD.
    Oct 19, 2006
    7
    What I've seen I have enjoyed. It's not off to the greatest start, but with the story and cast, it still has quite a bit of potential.
  14. bills
    Oct 25, 2006
    8
    Needs better writers but I love Lithgow and Tambour (sp?).
  15. Ryan
    Oct 26, 2006
    4
    Two telling things about this show: 1) there's a laugh track 2) one of the highest user reviews starts with "you all". I give this a four for the talent of Tambor and Lithgow alone. Its a sad state of affairs that Tambor can go from a brilliant show like Arrested Development (that most Americans simply were not quick enough to keep up with the jokes) to this. Lithgow, talented as he Two telling things about this show: 1) there's a laugh track 2) one of the highest user reviews starts with "you all". I give this a four for the talent of Tambor and Lithgow alone. Its a sad state of affairs that Tambor can go from a brilliant show like Arrested Development (that most Americans simply were not quick enough to keep up with the jokes) to this. Lithgow, talented as he is, needs a better agent. Some of the material in this show is good, but the patronizing laugh-track really takes away the honest comedy. It feels forced. Expand
  16. billyb
    Feb 10, 2007
    0
    When watching this show, I just sat there waiting for a punch line that never came.
  17. KarenH
    Oct 11, 2006
    1
    I am hard pressed to think of a show with this much talent that's this bad. We could only stomach 15 minutes. The only thing worse was the show that preceded it, 30 Rock. Actually, we're not even in agreement with that. They're both equally bad. We won't watch EITHER again. UGHGUGH!!!
  18. C.Cotton
    Oct 11, 2006
    0
    Huh... why did NBC even put this show on the schedule?
  19. OK
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    i don't know why everyone's rating this show so low. just saw it. pretty funny. not the funniest show i've ever seen, but it still had its moments. 10 to even out the haters
  20. elwoodd
    Oct 11, 2006
    1
    overacted overshouted overlaughtracked underwritten
  21. bradleys
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    I enjoy watching the show very much. Jeffrey & John are brilliant!
  22. BrandonS
    Oct 14, 2006
    0
    What a disaster. Paired with 30 Rock, this is the least funny hour on television (and that's counting dramas).
  23. DonDada
    Oct 16, 2006
    8
    While this show is nowhere near Family Guy or Simpsons in it's funniness, it is a good comedy in a time when good non-animated comedies are non-existent. John Lithgow is hillarious no matter what he does. A half hour show of him telling knock knock jokes would be entertaining. It's nice to see a show that doesnt take itself too seriously or try to be too poignant, and just While this show is nowhere near Family Guy or Simpsons in it's funniness, it is a good comedy in a time when good non-animated comedies are non-existent. John Lithgow is hillarious no matter what he does. A half hour show of him telling knock knock jokes would be entertaining. It's nice to see a show that doesnt take itself too seriously or try to be too poignant, and just offers up simple laughs. The people who dont enjoy this show can simply not watch and enjoy their "Will and Grace" and "Everybody Loves Raymond" reruns. Expand
  24. CarlosMencia
    Oct 18, 2006
    0
    This show is so bad. And I mean "Family Guy" bad. Seth MacFarlane had to have something to do with this. Nothing is this bad without the MacFarlane seal of approval.
  25. KevinL
    Oct 18, 2006
    8
    I think other sit-coms that Lithgow was in were funnier, but the show to me hasn't had a bad start so far.
  26. BillC.
    Oct 19, 2006
    1
    Just Awful. Two fine actors...how'd they ever choose to do this? This is a resume' killer!
  27. katel
    Oct 24, 2006
    8
    You'll are much to negative on this show. The night I watched it was a lot better than 30 Rock which seems rated to high to me. John Lithgow is great as expected and the rest seemed OK as well
  28. SunnyK
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    Considering most of the new shows are pretty bad and having been to a taping, this show has great potential.
  29. simons
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    John Lithgow at his best.
  30. HolH
    Nov 15, 2006
    0
    Just awful. Really really awful.
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 26
  2. Negative: 17 out of 26
  1. 38
    I will be rooting for this series to improve, but not watching it.
  2. 12
    Despite Lithgow and Tambor's capabilities, the series sags badly amid the moldy excesses of generic, over-the-top slapstick.
  3. A perfectly serviceable but utterly forgettable sitcom.