Twenty Good Years : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 11, 2006
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 38
  2. Negative: 13 out of 38

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. aquilesd
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    i will give it a chance
  2. RhondaB
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    Excellent show - love it. I was enjoying it more w/ each episode.
  3. TonyG
    Oct 18, 2006
    8
    The second episode made up for the pilot. Twenty Good Years is like Lithgrow's '3rd rock form the sun' character is on speed.
  4. nilm
    Dec 31, 2006
    9
    Very differend and funny tv show. Must see.
  5. MaxG
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Great show. Lithgow is alays terrific
  6. Compo
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    Given the opportunity, this could have been the next version of LOTSW. Two thumbs down to NBC for pulling the plug in such a short period of time.
  7. ChrisD.
    Oct 19, 2006
    7
    What I've seen I have enjoyed. It's not off to the greatest start, but with the story and cast, it still has quite a bit of potential.
  8. bills
    Oct 25, 2006
    8
    Needs better writers but I love Lithgow and Tambour (sp?).
  9. OK
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    i don't know why everyone's rating this show so low. just saw it. pretty funny. not the funniest show i've ever seen, but it still had its moments. 10 to even out the haters
  10. bradleys
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    I enjoy watching the show very much. Jeffrey & John are brilliant!
  11. DonDada
    Oct 16, 2006
    8
    While this show is nowhere near Family Guy or Simpsons in it's funniness, it is a good comedy in a time when good non-animated comedies are non-existent. John Lithgow is hillarious no matter what he does. A half hour show of him telling knock knock jokes would be entertaining. It's nice to see a show that doesnt take itself too seriously or try to be too poignant, and just While this show is nowhere near Family Guy or Simpsons in it's funniness, it is a good comedy in a time when good non-animated comedies are non-existent. John Lithgow is hillarious no matter what he does. A half hour show of him telling knock knock jokes would be entertaining. It's nice to see a show that doesnt take itself too seriously or try to be too poignant, and just offers up simple laughs. The people who dont enjoy this show can simply not watch and enjoy their "Will and Grace" and "Everybody Loves Raymond" reruns. Expand
  12. KevinL
    Oct 18, 2006
    8
    I think other sit-coms that Lithgow was in were funnier, but the show to me hasn't had a bad start so far.
  13. katel
    Oct 24, 2006
    8
    You'll are much to negative on this show. The night I watched it was a lot better than 30 Rock which seems rated to high to me. John Lithgow is great as expected and the rest seemed OK as well
  14. SunnyK
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    Considering most of the new shows are pretty bad and having been to a taping, this show has great potential.
  15. simons
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    John Lithgow at his best.
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 26
  2. Negative: 17 out of 26
  1. 38
    I will be rooting for this series to improve, but not watching it.
  2. 12
    Despite Lithgow and Tambor's capabilities, the series sags badly amid the moldy excesses of generic, over-the-top slapstick.
  3. A perfectly serviceable but utterly forgettable sitcom.