Twin Peaks : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Critic Reviews

  1. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Marvin Kitman
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    It's stunning for a TV mystery. It's actually mysterious. The mood, the characters, the surreal quality of how the story is told, are something different. It has a slow hypnotic movement, a style like a boxer in slo-mo. It hit me with tremendous energy and made me abandon despair at the state of TV mysteries. [5 Apr 1990]
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Zoglin
    Jul 2, 2013
    100
    Twin Peaks ... is like nothing you've seen in prime time -- or on God's earth. It may be the most hauntingly original work ever done for American TV.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 7, 2013
    100
    How pleasurable it is to really care about a TV series, to the point of (national) obsession.
  4. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Robert Goldberg
    Feb 21, 2013
    100
    What Mr. Lynch does so well is to imbue something as ordinary as small-town America with an inchoate threat, an ax waiting to fall. In short, Twin Peaks is creepy... After two episodes, Twin Peaks is riveting. And it's so cool, it's chilly.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Siegel
    Feb 21, 2013
    100
    It's a riveting indication of what Lynch can do without words. Simple shots of traffic lights and waterfalls are enough to send chills up the spine.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Feb 21, 2013
    100
    A captivating blend of the existential and the pulpy, the surreal and the neo-real, the grim and the farcical, Twin Peaks is new age music for the eyes, a show that careens off the wall and out into left field and yet supplies some of the basic satisfactions we humans have demanded of our storytellers since we first wriggled out of primordial goop.
  7. St. Louis Post-Dispatch
    Reviewed by: Eric Mink
    Feb 21, 2013
    100
    Riveting, distinctive television that is totally entertaining, in the broadest sense of the word. [8 Apr 1990, p.6G]
  8. Orlando Sentinel
    Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Feb 21, 2013
    100
    Twin Peaks is like the horrific, teasing fever nightmare that takes you to the head of the darkened staircase and throws you off, leaving you frozen in midflight at an exquisite peak of terror and wordless exhilaration. [8 Apr 1990, p.G1]
  9. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Feb 21, 2013
    100
    What a strange but stunning achievement Twin Peaks is... For television, Twin Peaks may be the summit of off-the- wall originality. [8 Apr 1990, p.H4]
  10. USA Today
    Feb 21, 2013
    100
    TV has so much middle ground already there's no way not to cheer ABC's nerve in giving us something so ground-breaking, so distinctive, so you- can't-take-your-eyes-off-it or get-your-mind-off-it gripping...They've set a tone with Sunday's two-hour pilot - which succeeds best as a masterpiece of mood - that's gleefully perverse, visually glorious, splendidly acted, with a pulsating music score that heightens an already unbearable tension. [6 Apr 1990, p.1D]
  11. Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Feb 21, 2013
    100
    Twin Peaks teeters on the very edge of exquisite absurdity. Its genius is that it plays both on the level of subtly ludicrous melodrama and on the level of a baffling whodunit, as most lines of dialogue appear to contain a hidden meaning, most faces a dark secret.
  12. 90
    It takes about 20 minutes for Lynch's TV debut, an eight-episode series, to wrap you in its clutches. After that, it's as easy to watch as a good Murder, She Wrote, but 100 times more interesting. By the end, you'll feel you know a lot less than you did at the beginning.
  13. Philadelphia Daily News
    Reviewed by: Ron Miller
    Feb 21, 2013
    90
    This show is so deliciously perverse that washing up afterward just seems the natural thing to do. [6 Apr 1990, p.75]
  14. Reviewed by: John J. O'Connor
    Feb 21, 2013
    90
    This is event television given a memorably wicked spin. Nothing like it has ever been seen on network prime time.
  15. San Diego Union-Tribune
    Reviewed by: Joe Stein
    Feb 21, 2013
    80
    There's a brooding, stylish feel to Twin Peaks and hints that many horrible secrets will be unearthed during the hunt for Laura Palmer's killer, but there's also the thought that Lynch is going to have some fun with both the soap opera and mystery genres. [6 April 1990, p.C-20]
  16. Reviewed by: Rick Cogan
    Feb 21, 2013
    80
    Television, for all of its frequent blood, guts and skin, is tame territory. It is so cozily familiar in its characters and characterizations, its car crashes and carnal capers, that when something as wild, weird and wicked as Twin Peaks comes along, it rattles the network landscape like a tornado in full fury.
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 323 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. j30
    Jan 24, 2012
    10
    One of the best pilots/seasons I've seen in a long time, just a great TV show. It's too bad ABC ruined the second half of the second season.One of the best pilots/seasons I've seen in a long time, just a great TV show. It's too bad ABC ruined the second half of the second season. The show nearly rebounds near the end of the second season, but it just doesn't live up to the first season and a half. What could have been the best TV show ever, instead settles as one of those "what could have been" types of shows. Full Review »
  2. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    The most perfect television show ever produced. To even attempt putting it into words would be a disservice to David Lynch et al. If youThe most perfect television show ever produced. To even attempt putting it into words would be a disservice to David Lynch et al. If you have not seen Twin Peaks, do what you can to borrow/rent/buy it. Full Review »
  3. May 8, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I've decided to watch it after constantly hearing Twin Peaks this and that for a long time.
    I am not a fan of television series. The only ones that I appreciate that are not comedy are Sopranos first 2-3 seasons, Game of Thrones first 2 seasons (haven't seen more), Firefly and House MD. That is all.

    After all the praise I've been hearing I was expecting to be entertained the reason why I watch TV. The first one or two episodes did well enough job of creating a setting of small town with a violent death. Nothing out of the ordinary. Then as TV always does we get sidetracked into lives of ten or so characters around town and follow some boring love stories and not so exciting criminal business schemes. Not great but watchable.
    However when FBI agent viewers only link to the actual main plot of the series starts solving crimes through dreams I've lost all interest as it was no longer possible to enjoy the thrill of trying to solve murder as viewer as clearly the devil did it or anything else trivial that the writers came up with. I've made myself finish watching all of season one but by the second episode of season two when they wove alien plot into dream world of FBI agent. I've had enough.

    Dont get me wrong I do not mind twisted stories with aliens and spiritual world. I just could not enjoy it in the setting of Twin Peaks. For example some of xfiles were entertaining.
    Full Review »