• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2003
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10 , 11 , 12
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Apr 2, 2013
    100
    This show has great casting, comedy that crackles and characters who show signs of actually possessing some depth to them. These are rare qualities for any TV show, which is why I ranked it my second-favorite new series of the fall. [22 Sept 2003, p.E8]
  2. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Apr 2, 2013
    100
    A show that is sweet without being sappy, sexy without being sophomoric and witty without being nasty...This delight rests on the inspired casting of Charlie Sheen and Jon Cryer as brothers tossed together during a family crisis. Their pairing could be the best sitcom partnership since Jack Klugman teamed with Tony Randall on The Odd Couple. [21 Sept 2003, p.4]
  3. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    The best traditional sitcom to arrive on the tube since "Everybody Loves Raymond." Perfectly cast, sharply written. [22 Sept 2003, p.E06]
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    The right sitcom at the right time. Well-cast, well written and actually funny (imagine that!), this one's a keeper. [22 Sept 2003, p.D-8]
  5. Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    Whether Cryer is all of that in real life, I don't know. But I do know that both he and Sheen seem to have found the perfect sitcom roles in "Men." The show is a hoot. [22 Sept 2003, p.C08]
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Apr 2, 2013
    88
    What Men offers is the pleasure of watching people who know what they're doing do it well. Jones' mixture of bratty spunk and vulnerability keeps Jake from seeming too precocious or too cute. Sheen is so amusingly sardonic and cheerfully self-aware, he makes Charlie's immaturity endearing rather than annoying. And there just aren't many actors who are better at funny-fussbudget than Cryer -- or who have more polished comic skills.
  7. The rather trite concept is freshened up by some colorful writing that actually happens to be funny, and by engaging "Odd Couple"-like performances from Sheen and Cryer, who play well off each other. The series is also a prime-time rarity - a sweet domestic comedy that isn't overly sappy. [22 Sept 2003, p.D01]
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 38
  2. Negative: 18 out of 38
  1. May 21, 2013
    0
    THE MOST OVERRATED SHOW FOLLOWED BY THE SAME NETWORKS ANOTHER HIGHLY POPULAR SHOW HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER..... I FEEL LIKE KILLING MYSELF AFTER WATCHING THESE TWO SHOWS. THEY ARE HIGHLY ANNOYING & ABSOLUTELY BORING.... Full Review »
  2. Jan 1, 2011
    0
    The worst show on TV. Really really really lame and moronic. Not funny in any way unless you are one of these people that laugh when they hear a laugh track. In that case, watch on moron. Otherwise, avoid this show at all costs. I do find this show is a good indicator of peoples taste in TV, music, movies, and comedy. If they like this show you can be 100% confident that their opinion of entertainment in general is utterly worthless. Full Review »
  3. Aug 14, 2010
    1
    Two and a Half Men, while funnier than some shows like Family Guy and South Park, is not near as funny as some other shows like How I Met Your Mother and even Scrubs. Each episode is full of the same old stuff, Charlie somehow getting laid, Jake doing some random stuff and Alan just standing there like an idiot. The laugh tracks occur literally every 2 seconds and just does not make the show believable at all. Full Review »