Two and a Half Men : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2003
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
Two and a Half Men Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 306 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Charlie is a wealthy bachelor with a house at the beach, a Jaguar in the front, and an easy way with women. His casual Malibu lifestyle is interrupted when his tightly wound brother Alan, who's facing a divorce, and his son Jake, come to live with him. Together, these two and a half menCharlie is a wealthy bachelor with a house at the beach, a Jaguar in the front, and an easy way with women. His casual Malibu lifestyle is interrupted when his tightly wound brother Alan, who's facing a divorce, and his son Jake, come to live with him. Together, these two and a half men confront the challenges of growing up; finally. Complicating matters are the brothers' self-obsessed, controlling mother, Evelyn, Alan's estranged wife, Judith and Charlie's crazy neighbor Rose, who wants to be a part of his life and is willing to do anything to be around.
    Known in Germany as Mein cooler Onkel Charlie (My Cool Uncle Charlie).
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. Kansas City Star
    Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Apr 2, 2013
    100
    This show has great casting, comedy that crackles and characters who show signs of actually possessing some depth to them. These are rare qualities for any TV show, which is why I ranked it my second-favorite new series of the fall. [22 Sept 2003, p.E8]
  2. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    The right sitcom at the right time. Well-cast, well written and actually funny (imagine that!), this one's a keeper. [22 Sept 2003, p.D-8]
  3. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Chuck Barney
    Apr 2, 2013
    83
    The rather trite concept is freshened up by some colorful writing that actually happens to be funny, and by engaging "Odd Couple"-like performances from Sheen and Cryer, who play well off each other. The series is also a prime-time rarity - a sweet domestic comedy that isn't overly sappy. [22 Sept 2003, p.D01]
  4. The Hollywood Reporter
    Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Apr 2, 2013
    70
    A word about the supporting cast: excellent. Holland Taylor is an expert at playing strong-willed, domineering women and shines as Evelyn, Charlie and Alan's mother. There are similarly strong contributions from Hinkle as Judith and from Melanie Lynskey as Rose, a nonthreatening stalker with a fixation on Charlie. [22 Sept 2003]
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    63
    If you prize originality, this new series will underwhelm you. ... What's surprising is the goodly number of laughs it does offer.
  6. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 2, 2013
    60
    It's just a thoroughly conventional multi-camera sitcom rooted in familiar Felix-Oscar shtick and that tried-and-true comic standby, a cute kid. It's old school...And happy to be that way. [22 Sept 2003, p.B7]
  7. Reviewed by: Virginia Heffernan
    Apr 2, 2013
    20
    If you're feeling charitable, too, you might wrench a laugh out of the final line of the pilot, one in which a woman in a grocery store mistakes Charlie and Alan for boyfriends. But it's testament to the show's thoroughgoing dreariness that an old gay-misunderstanding joke is the best line in it. Or maybe the moment is happy because the show's over.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 18 out of 41
  1. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    Without doubt, Two and a Half Men is the funniest show on television, with stunning performances from Charlie Sheen and Jon Cryer. The showWithout doubt, Two and a Half Men is the funniest show on television, with stunning performances from Charlie Sheen and Jon Cryer. The show only gets better and better... Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    I must admit it: the serie is just plain nasty fun. There's no doubt of why is one of the most watched series in all the time. JustI must admit it: the serie is just plain nasty fun. There's no doubt of why is one of the most watched series in all the time. Just enterteining. I like more the season with Ashton Kutcher, I like it more than Charlie Sheen. Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    Two and a half men is great, i honestly sleep to it. yeah its soppy and typical but its just one of them things you need to watch. afterTwo and a half men is great, i honestly sleep to it. yeah its soppy and typical but its just one of them things you need to watch. after season 1 you get to know the characters and it actually because good. im a huge fan of this and i know it definatley isnt for everyone but give it a try. FYI Ashton Kutcher sucks at this role and charlie sheen should never of gone, its never the same. watch the first nine seasons. i have them all downloaded so i can give you them (legally) Expand
  4. May 15, 2014
    4
    Charlie Sheen, basically playing a fictional version of himself, is a rich playboy living alone in his Malibu beach house when his uptight andCharlie Sheen, basically playing a fictional version of himself, is a rich playboy living alone in his Malibu beach house when his uptight and soon to be divorced brother Alan (John Cryer), as well as his ten year old son (Angus T. Jones), come to stay with him.

    The shows central premise revolves around Alan's ongoing jealousy of his older brother as Charlie seems to be with a different beautiful woman every night while he continues to struggle with little or no success in anything he does. From this concept Two and a Half Men manages to initially produce some fairly funny episodes and Alan's son Jake, despite a lack of acting skills on the part of Jones, certainly has some funny lines. However by the time you have watched half a dozen episodes the formula already begins to become a little stale. Each episode varies very little as Charlie’s women come and go and Alan continues to stay in his brothers shadow. By the end of the season I found myself groaning more often than I found myself laughing.

    Despite its huge popularity, both in the US and the UK, there have been far more intelligent (and funny) comedy series in recent years. Shows like Community, Arrested Development, The Office (UK version) and Peep Show are far more worthy of peoples time and I would recommend any number of them over such a one-note sitcom.
    Collapse
  5. Jul 9, 2013
    3
    This television series would have been promising initially. Why wouldn't it? Charlie Sheen, an icon of satirical comedy, is going to star as aThis television series would have been promising initially. Why wouldn't it? Charlie Sheen, an icon of satirical comedy, is going to star as a bachelor with considerable amounts of cosh who lives with his brother. How could that go wrong? This is how it could go wrong. The writing of this series is rather not-very-good, and the acting of most, if not all, of the regular, guest and supporting cast is much the same. This is another of those laugh-track programs, where some of the jokes are SO bad that no sensible person would actually be laughing at them. In this series, that is most of the jokes. This series has deteriorated in quality in recent years, though the first series has remained the best. That's not to say, of course, that it is any good. Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2011
    1
    A very omegalomaniac tv show, centred in the life of charlie, only him. with no plot and good stories. they tried to copy the old tv shows,A very omegalomaniac tv show, centred in the life of charlie, only him. with no plot and good stories. they tried to copy the old tv shows, but, as we can see they couldn't Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2014
    0
    charlie sheen is overated and a maisogynous . i liked charlie in scary movie 3 . but this is stupid show i liked charlie in anger managmentcharlie sheen is overated and a maisogynous . i liked charlie in scary movie 3 . but this is stupid show i liked charlie in anger managment but one of the disapointing shows i seen . Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Trailers