• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2014
  • Season #: 1
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 100
  2. Negative: 13 out of 100

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 11, 2014
    10
    I really hope there is a season two of this show. I've never written a review before but I didn't wanna leave this one to bored housewives and feminine stick figure guys to trash. This show simply is not for you. Tyrant is the middle eastern Sopranos equivalent. It has the potential to be much more. It shows that sometimes you may not get to choose between right and wrong. Sometimes you must choose a lesser evil. Even choosing to do nothing may be the cruelest decision to make. What do I know? Firefly was cancelled on me and even family guy at one point. Bravo tyrant, bravo Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    I was hooked from the first show.......I can't say enough about this new series!!!!
    It is catapulting, sad, happy, exciting and culturally exhilarating! The actors and actresses are all so vivid and clear of their parts and actions, it is truly spellbinding. The best show I have seen in many years!!

    Please, please tell me there will be more to look forward to!! I anxiously await the
    next set of series.

    Instant fan
    Colleen
    Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2014
    9
    Great show and the presidents wife is the hottest aribac woman I have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  4. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    Many viewers may take the show as an interesting political satire of U.S.'s foreign policies in the Middle East. The first few episodes may have received criticism for appearing shallow: Bassam Al-Fayeed the prodigal son of the country's ruler, returns home from his self-exile in the U.S., waving the freedom flag, and things more or less move in his favor. The perceived shallowness there may have been intended, to mirror Bassam's own biased perception of his home country. As the first season closes, the show starts to reveal the flaws in Bassam's naivete and self-righteousness; and that things are much more complex than he had originally anticipated. Definitely recommend sticking around for at least the whole first season. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    Do not get your panties in a bunch people. Being to critical of this show is stupid. For a first season this show has exceeded expectations. The careful shooting of this show is flawless. The visual appeal is top notch and the scenes are intimate and specific. I am thoroughly impressed with the characters. The plot could be better but give it time this show is truly a gold mine. You have never seen a show like this!! Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    Wow, did not expect this to be a must watch for me. Watching Barry/Bassam trying to stay on the honorable path, while there is such evil underneath is fascinating.
  7. Aug 20, 2014
    9
    Initially, I wasn’t at all sure whether or not I liked this show. It takes place in a Middle Eastern country run by a dictator. It had a little reference to Syria’s history with the younger son, a physician, returning to run the country upon the older sibling’s death. I stuck with it and I have been rewarded. I don’t have a real feel for what living in a country like this might be. I doubt that many of us in our comfortable protected environments do. My impression of the show is that it is well written and generally well acted. The story line is intriguing and, maybe best of all, there is not one police detective in sight. I certainly find myself at odds with and confused by many of the professional critics comments as well as the negative critics by the public reviewers. If you put any stock at all into this type of individual review, I would urge you to track this show down and stick with it. You will be rewarded. Expand
  8. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    My wife and I love this show. Great story, plot , characters & acting. I'm confused by what negative reviews it has received to be quite honest. I look forward to my Tuesday evenings so they must be doing something right ;-)
  9. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    This is excellent thrilling and educated.

    The characters are interesting individually as well as having great chemistry together. The acting is also very believable.

    The interior shots especially of the palace and Katrina’s flat are stunning. The décor and the fabrics that have been used are eye catching.The scenery and Colors used induce an intense and exciting feeling that draws
    you in. The viewer gains a believable insight in to a very passionate and vibrant country. along with the back ground music all this is extremely realistic and transports the viewer in to the characters word.

    Even the ruins are sights of beautiful architecture in their plaster pastels and vibrant turquoise and gold’s. We are shown a country in conflict with its damaged beauty and corruption.

    It takes a lot to convince me and Tyrant has won me over with its great acting. interesting characters griping intense story and heaps of mental arousal bought on by the beautiful accents and the characters distinct mannerism's.
    Expand
  10. Aug 11, 2014
    3
    It could be so interesting given the production value. However, I feel it would be more relevant if there were more focus on the political struggle on the Middle Eastern inhabitants and less on Barry/Bassam simply awful family. The wife is so annoying with her repetitive ‘are you ok’ on constant loop and their god awful children portrayed as the most selfish inane useless parodies of the worst teenage stereotype. I feel it’s cheap, tacky and tasteless and its visuals are way too clean and polished considering the abject violence. It is verging on the patronising, spoon feeding every scene with a flashback to remind the viewer of their viewpoint. Personally I find it a tad vulgar. Expand
  11. Aug 10, 2014
    8
    You may find it hard to believe but 95% of this show is really happening in the Middle East as I am writing this. I highly recommend watching this show and then read more about the middle east countries and their politics.

    With all that brutality though I wish they have also shown more things about the culture of this imaginary world.

    8 is for acting
  12. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this show. The show would have better ratings if it was on the USA Network. I can't get enough of it & I hope it has a lot more seasons coming.
  13. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    I can't get enough of this show. Each week I'm tuning in to see what happens next. It's a sign of good writing when a show can develop characters while moving the plot forward at a breakneck pace. It's always refreshing when the story doesn't feel stalled for the purpose of stretching out critical plots between season finales. I'm not sure why I'm reading things about Rayner's performance being bad. He was still very much a mystery until the end of the first episode. Since then, he's been a brilliant, charismatic force. Collapse
  14. Aug 4, 2014
    3
    Glad i held off on reviewing right away. Had I based my review upon the pilot, I would have foolishly fallen in the 8-9 range, but 5 episodes in, the two leads, the brothers, have proven to be incredibly awful actors. The American doctor is just awful, maybe it's the dreadful writing and not him, but his character, probably the most interesting at the show's start, has hit rock bottom. The stereotypes that were employed to depict the Tyrant brother were obvious from the start, but the character has grown tired and laughable. And really, the wife of the American doctor, who also happens to be a doctor, is plain ridiculous. They've built up the ruling dictator, the father, to be the equivalent of Sadaam Hussein and she thinks it would be just swell to visit and even better to take the kids along and stay for an indefinite amount of time! Did she not watch CNN or google the Evil Dictator father prior to going there? What mother would want to place her children in such danger? What a joke....completely insulting to it's viewing audience. Maybe they can right some wrongs and make Tyrant interesting, but it seems an impossible task from this vantage point. For thos looking for an interesting Middle Eastern drama Sundance's "An Honorable Women" looks to be the real deal, something the creators of Tyrant seem incapable of accomplishing. Expand
  15. Jul 30, 2014
    5
    I thought this show was going to be really good, but I've been disappointed. Each episode has been too similar to one another. Jamaal is clearly the best character with his brother, but the show could be so much better. I've given up on the show.
  16. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    Do you need to suspend your disbelief for this show to work? Yes, absolutely. But, suspending your disbelief is so easy to do here because the setting is opulent; the character's are salient and they work well as an ensemble; and well, the show is pure escapism. The show grabs you like a salacious novel--just go along for the ride for the rides sake and you will not be disappointed!
  17. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    100 score, this move got my families attention, the actress are very selective for their roles, I say this because I know about acting bad directing, so all I can say my family and I we can't wait for the next show,
  18. Jul 23, 2014
    3
    I'm always wary of dramas set in fictional countries ruled by rough talking men dressed in gaudy uniforms, and this one quickly lived down to my low expectations. The lead actor has all the personality of a piece of lox, and those who are arrayed against him are cartoonish in their personae. Then there's the US diplomat, John Tucker, who presumably represents the American position in this festering bogus nation, and yet we are really given no idea as to what that position is. And does the guy have an office? Where's the American Embassy, and does anyone else work there? Expand
  19. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    This show was filmed in Tel Aviv. The show is interesting and kept me glued to my seat. I binge watch this show because I am never home on time. This is a change in pace with reference to all of the sitcoms I watch. I am giving it a 10! I believe this show captures the duplicity of the arab leaders who claim to be religions heads of state but commit atrocities against their own people. The lead actor has captured the very essence of his struggle with the continued violence and the loss of freedom and a brother who is symbolic of suffering, torture and torment! Expand
  20. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    I love this show. I hope it doesn't get cancelled. Does anyone know who composes the music? I think the characters are believable and the story line is very intriguing
  21. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    Interesting. Tough. Hard core. Realistic. A topic/plot that most writers and shows would be afraid to touch, but FX has always been an edgy channel and that's a relief. I think it's time that we explored customs and societies that we may not agree with, but do exist. However, why must homosexuality also appear in this show? There's enough to write about regarding a fictitious country that oppresses its people in this manner (which of course parallels reality in many parts of the world) without adding yet another component that dilutes the rest of the plot. Hope it makes it to a second season and that the writers use current events as a basis for future scripts. Expand
  22. Jul 17, 2014
    7
    Although the plot is fairly preposterous, just the right blend of gritty, convincing character drama makes the show compelling enough to intrigue. The show is wisely set in a fictional country, but the writers do not wash their hands of the consequences of how the setting and characters are portrayed. Despite politically polarized viewers' inevitable assertions of insensitivity, characters of all walks of life--Muslim, American, wealthy, poor, gay, straight, terrorist, or tyrant--are variously heroic and flawed. Politics, not Islam, is the motivator behind the violence of the characters, and the religion itself is portrayed like any other--at times beautiful and spiritual, at times a tool in service of ignoble motivations. In fact, the most cynical character may be an American ambassador. If it offends, it offends. But at its heart, Tyrant is a story about characters caught up in a classic struggle between freedom and oppression--not East vs West. Expand
  23. Jul 15, 2014
    1
    Beware of Tyrant! The most horrible thing about this show is how offensive it is to Middle Easterns and women. It's just too inappropriate to be entertaining or taken seriously. The plot is lifeless and so is the dialogue and characters. Tryant doesn't deserve a second season or a chance to be viewed by millions of Americans.
  24. Jul 15, 2014
    2
    Silly. That's the best way I can summarize this. The (very artistic) trailers seemed promising and got me interested, but the first episode - especially the second half of it – left me really disappointed. The feel from the trailers was nowhere to be found and without giving spoilers, I felt the story/characters did not make any sense and didn't feel believable at all.
  25. Jul 11, 2014
    0
    I'm a huge fan of FX shows, but Tyrant is terrible. Only got as far as the first episode, but couldn't possibly watch any more. Characters are cliched stereotypes, narrative is uninformed and lacks any subtlety. If you're going to delve into the complex world of Middle East politics, or simply explore the workings autocratic regimes, put some thought into it.
  26. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    Some label this boring, however, I watched the 1st episode and had to hook others. There is some slow to open, but I think that is part of the intrigue being developed in Barry. He is closed, and I look forward to watching what he opens up as the show progresses and how they move the story line.

    I have not been disappointed on a deeper thought level in this show.
  27. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    This tv show is underrated without any reason.
    I am very pleased since I watched the first two episodes.
    I expect a little more political machinations, mixed with Middle Eastern tyranny.
    It will be interesting to see how it will develop relationships between brothers Al Fayeed.
    The acting is quite good, although I expected a little more from Adam Rayner in the role Bassam. That is a
    very good impression left Ashraf Barhom as Jamal.
    American families Bassam Al Fayeed led by Jennifer Finnigan as Molly and their two teenage children are very faint in their roles.My compliments go and Moran Atias as Leila Al Fayeed and Justin Kirk as John Tucker: The U.S. diplomat to Abbudin, as well as places where the TV show was recorded.
    Expand
  28. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    Sadly, the left will never accept brutal honesty. The PC police would rather sweep the harsh reality of the world under some idological utopian smoke screen. Hell "professional critics" are just as bad. This show is incredible. It gives a clear vision of what governments like Syria, Iran, truly are like. Brutal, oppressive, and vicious heads of state living lavishly, while their citizens live in squalor under an oppressive regime that takes and takes. Granted, Hollywood has to filter and condense the story to fit in 1hr a week, but they have done a fantastic job. Visually the show is breathtaking. They've done and amazing job at contrasting the brutality with incredible beauty. I am addicted. This is the first show on FX that I have wanted to become immersed in since Sons of Anarchy. Expand
  29. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    I thoroughly agree with Lisa24. The trailers looked so good for this program and when I read the reviews I delayed watching the pilot. When I decided to give it a go, I was so pleasantly surprised. There certainly were some cliches, but I think we have been so accustomed to the anti hero in the past decade that critics won't accept anything but that archetype. The Onion AV Club criticized Tyrant because the "evil" brother didn't make evil look fun! I am excited to see where this goes! Expand
  30. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    How could the Dr.'s family be so ignorant about the middle east? Do they not watch the news or read a paper, or for heaven's sake get their news on line. I won't be watching!
  31. Jun 28, 2014
    9
    My review is only from watching the premiere episode: Very adult, I like the start of this series. I like the premise, that the estranged "prince" trying to lead an American life is forced by circumstance back into his native family, and consequently forced to face a life, a destiny he ran from 20 yrs ago. Very intriguing, but I'm sure this will get quite political, with alliances and hostile factions setting up and that's when I tune out -- seen it all before in countless other politi-shows, but until (and if) they hit that point I'll continue to watch. Expand
  32. Jun 27, 2014
    0
    Huge disappointment. FX has such great shows: American Horror Story, The Americans, and Fargo I love. this show is just a clunky assortment of silly stereotypes. the brutal dictator, the oppressed people, the freedom fighting journalist, the bullying and spoiled first son, and lets not forget, most important, the 2nd son who has lived in America, and embraced American ideals who returns to set things right by just being himself. Yuck. Boring and trivial and insulting. As an aside, why (???) do all these Middle East citizens speak English when alone and not Arabic? Not even when the dictator is addressing his people. Silly and unrealistic. Boring, predictable, and tired show that deserves an early cancellation. Expand
  33. Jun 26, 2014
    3
    An attractive production peopled with poorly written, unpleasant and illogical characters--really just caricatures. There is not a single person portrayed that I want to spend time getting to know better.
  34. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm glad I did not listen to the negative reviews. Many of them seem to have a preconceived notion of what Tyrant should be like based on how they themselves would have written for a fictional show about the Middle East. Please, be my guest - write it. I'll be happy to check it out. But don't punish Tyrant. Yes it is violent, but unfortunately so is GofT, Fargo, 24, Homeland and most of the other top program s. Do not single out this one show and complain about its violence. Yes there is rape. Rape is horrific and should never be treated lightly in programming. But the rape scenes in GofT and Tyrant seem to get more outrage than real rape cases. Please put some of that outrage into getting justice for real life victims and their families (Steubenville). Stereotypes also are everywhere in movies and tv. Look at Sons of Anarchy. Anyone think that a real biker group would get away with the things SAMCRO does? What about the stereotyping and violence in True Detective? Look at the way Southerners are portrayed (FNL) or Italians (the Sopranos) or the countless shows that stereotype black America. It is television! Tyrant is a entertaining show. Because it is a show about the Middle East we need to walk on eggshells? It has to be politically correct? Personally I find it nice to have a break from all the law/medical drams and "reality" shows. I cannot wait to see how this series unfolds. Expand
  35. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    I have waited for the premier of this show since it was announced back in April. With that being said, i was not disappointed from what i have seen. For the melodrama lovers that don't cringe at graphic content, this show can become an instant hit in your household. However if that doesn't apply to you then you might find it hard to get into and begin questioning what the makers of the show where thinking. Expand
  36. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    Sure it's somewhat hokey and there are moments that don't ring remotely true. But those things would be only noticed by those expecting serious drama. This isn't serious drama, this is top-notch melodrama.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Jun 30, 2014
    67
    It’s brutal, violent and graphic. And it’s a story we’ve seen before.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew Romano
    Jun 25, 2014
    40
    The case [ordon and Raff] make on Tyrant isn't particularly convincing, or even all that entertaining. The details are too generic. The conflicts are too simplistic. Abbudin is too unreal.
  3. Reviewed by: Terri Schwartz
    Jun 24, 2014
    50
    The new FX drama from "Homeland" and "24" executive producer Howard Gordon balances family with politics in a show that constantly questions what the right choice is when torn between the two, but oftentimes finds itself bogged down in soap opera-style drama that distracts from the greater, more ambitious story that it's trying to tell.