User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 97
  2. Negative: 24 out of 97

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    I love this show. I'm pretty sure it is my new favorite cartoon. I don't understand all the negative comments because it is so original. I see this show being a huge hit. Just think of the other great shows that were funny that were canked due to ratings from the beginning. Seinfeld almost was cancelled. Arrested Development only had three seasons. I am going to try to get people to give this show a chance. It beats new episodes of Family Guy. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    What can you say about Ugly Americans but how awesome it is. There are so many scenes from Ugly Americans that are so funny, unusual and just plain out eccentric to explain. There are also to many scenes that are my favorite to write them all down. Episodes like Demon Baby, Treegasm, and Kill Mark Kill are just a few to name many of my favorites. I actually think there isn't an episode that I felt let down about. You know how some of the shows you watch kind of have what I call a "filler episode", that's the episode that wasn't great but seemed like it was just kinda put there to carry the series, well that's so not the case when it comes to Ugly Americans. If you haven't seen it, check it out....you wont be disappointed. Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2010
    9
    Many of the negative reviewers focus on the gross-out factor or unbelievability or the show. What really amazes me with the show is the amount of social commentary. This show is a good black comedy, and the key to good black comedy is having a base in truth. The absurdity of this show is reminiscent of the plays of Christopher Durang or the stories of Franz Kafka. The show is low-brow humor based on high-brow commentary. I want to see more programing on modern television that is like this. I'm looking forward to the next season. Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    This show is pure evil hilarious art. its genius lies in its off colored, detatched humor, where gross disgustingly dark,and weird things are a normal ,and a acceptable part of the universe. you need to be a bit on the dark side to like this show and its great to see what i think is a cult classic for a very quirky audience ,there are 100s of different characters with there own art stlye ,and disgustingly hilariuos atributes that really are symbolism for what people in the real are on the inside,and then there are also painfully normal characters as well ,wich makes for some crazy situations.my favorite character is lenard the wizard .the dynamic of being a wizard who does crazy **** is awesome, when you can play with time and space but your also a alcholic some **** up **** is going to happen.if you like wizards who sniff paint and get into half naked knife fights,or a upside down nutsack with a buthole in the middle, that hosts entetainment news then this show is for you.its different,its unique,its mildly evil,its scares people and puts them off,what a great **** show. Expand
  5. MrD
    Mar 10, 2011
    10
    As other critics have stated this show is very much like futurama in that it may be a generation specific audience. The vulgar humor and dysfunctional characters ranging from an antisocial koala bear, magicians and monsters to accountants and a disturbingly funny security guard make this one of the funniest shows I have seen in a long time.
  6. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Great show, I can really see were they were going with this show, the show is funny, fully developed characters and original. It's nice to see something new on Comedy Central rather than South Park since Drawn Together was cancelled. Love it great shown can't wait till next season.
  7. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite shows. It is smart, the characters got personality and the episodes are always different and funny. I really don't get some of the critics here on this site. I don't understand how someone can say that Ugly Americans is not funny (seriously? I nearly died on the Manbirds episode), or that the cast is "completely unlikeable". I'm wondering if we've watched the same show.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    75
    Ugly Americans can be gross and bizarre, but everything makes sense in the world that it has created.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    83
    The premise is a neat riff on immigration and fitting in, but the jokes are a bit conventional for a show that looks so pleasantly odd.
  3. But if Ugly Americans comes with a message, it is at least equally determined to just be funny, and at that task, it frequently succeeds.