Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 109
  2. Negative: 24 out of 109

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 9, 2014
    5
    The fact that they are zombies and other horror monsters doesn't make a bland boring and unoriginal character any less of those things.

    Good idea, poor execution.
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    3
    Totalmente absurdo y aburrido es una idea original en algunas cosas pero lo demás son chistes malos, y ganas de sacarlo de la Tv cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc
  3. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite shows. It is smart, the characters got personality and the episodes are always different and funny. I really don't get some of the critics here on this site. I don't understand how someone can say that Ugly Americans is not funny (seriously? I nearly died on the Manbirds episode), or that the cast is "completely unlikeable". I'm wondering if we've watched the same show.
  4. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Great show, I can really see were they were going with this show, the show is funny, fully developed characters and original. It's nice to see something new on Comedy Central rather than South Park since Drawn Together was cancelled. Love it great shown can't wait till next season.
  5. Feb 29, 2012
    5
    I think it's a decent show other than the fact that its kinda dry and it's pointless off color jokes are worn out, not to mention the animation, though the animation is different it's still looks kinda of half assed and looks stylistically similar to Adult Swim's "superjail!". Other than that a pretty much ok show no way near as good as "Drawn Together" or "South Park".
  6. MrD
    Mar 10, 2011
    10
    As other critics have stated this show is very much like futurama in that it may be a generation specific audience. The vulgar humor and dysfunctional characters ranging from an antisocial koala bear, magicians and monsters to accountants and a disturbingly funny security guard make this one of the funniest shows I have seen in a long time.
  7. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    This show is pure evil hilarious art. its genius lies in its off colored, detatched humor, where gross disgustingly dark,and weird things are a normal ,and a acceptable part of the universe. you need to be a bit on the dark side to like this show and its great to see what i think is a cult classic for a very quirky audience ,there are 100s of different characters with there own art stlyeThis show is pure evil hilarious art. its genius lies in its off colored, detatched humor, where gross disgustingly dark,and weird things are a normal ,and a acceptable part of the universe. you need to be a bit on the dark side to like this show and its great to see what i think is a cult classic for a very quirky audience ,there are 100s of different characters with there own art stlye ,and disgustingly hilariuos atributes that really are symbolism for what people in the real are on the inside,and then there are also painfully normal characters as well ,wich makes for some crazy situations.my favorite character is lenard the wizard .the dynamic of being a wizard who does crazy **** is awesome, when you can play with time and space but your also a alcholic some **** up **** is going to happen.if you like wizards who sniff paint and get into half naked knife fights,or a upside down nutsack with a buthole in the middle, that hosts entetainment news then this show is for you.its different,its unique,its mildly evil,its scares people and puts them off,what a great **** show. Expand
  8. Dec 31, 2010
    9
    Many of the negative reviewers focus on the gross-out factor or unbelievability or the show. What really amazes me with the show is the amount of social commentary. This show is a good black comedy, and the key to good black comedy is having a base in truth. The absurdity of this show is reminiscent of the plays of Christopher Durang or the stories of Franz Kafka. The show is low-browMany of the negative reviewers focus on the gross-out factor or unbelievability or the show. What really amazes me with the show is the amount of social commentary. This show is a good black comedy, and the key to good black comedy is having a base in truth. The absurdity of this show is reminiscent of the plays of Christopher Durang or the stories of Franz Kafka. The show is low-brow humor based on high-brow commentary. I want to see more programing on modern television that is like this. I'm looking forward to the next season. Expand
  9. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    What can you say about Ugly Americans but how awesome it is. There are so many scenes from Ugly Americans that are so funny, unusual and just plain out eccentric to explain. There are also to many scenes that are my favorite to write them all down. Episodes like Demon Baby, Treegasm, and Kill Mark Kill are just a few to name many of my favorites. I actually think there isn't an episodeWhat can you say about Ugly Americans but how awesome it is. There are so many scenes from Ugly Americans that are so funny, unusual and just plain out eccentric to explain. There are also to many scenes that are my favorite to write them all down. Episodes like Demon Baby, Treegasm, and Kill Mark Kill are just a few to name many of my favorites. I actually think there isn't an episode that I felt let down about. You know how some of the shows you watch kind of have what I call a "filler episode", that's the episode that wasn't great but seemed like it was just kinda put there to carry the series, well that's so not the case when it comes to Ugly Americans. If you haven't seen it, check it out....you wont be disappointed. Expand
  10. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    I love this show. I'm pretty sure it is my new favorite cartoon. I don't understand all the negative comments because it is so original. I see this show being a huge hit. Just think of the other great shows that were funny that were canked due to ratings from the beginning. Seinfeld almost was cancelled. Arrested Development only had three seasons. I am going to try to get people to giveI love this show. I'm pretty sure it is my new favorite cartoon. I don't understand all the negative comments because it is so original. I see this show being a huge hit. Just think of the other great shows that were funny that were canked due to ratings from the beginning. Seinfeld almost was cancelled. Arrested Development only had three seasons. I am going to try to get people to give this show a chance. It beats new episodes of Family Guy. Expand
  11. james
    Apr 11, 2010
    1
    This show is terrible, boring and cliched.
  12. DavidC
    Apr 11, 2010
    3
    Occasionally funny, but, like so much of Comedy Central's content, it relies heavily on the gross-out factor and is as soulless as it's many infernal characters. If the creators thought this would be an insightful parable about multiculturalism, they should think again.
  13. jeremys
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    Very funny. Critics who don't like it are elitists. this show make me laugh, and it's different.
  14. JimT.
    Apr 6, 2010
    3
    Not interesting enough to keep watching. The jokes all seem to be sight gags and obvious. They seem to be linked to the setting or visuals and not the plot of the show. Like when the birdman craps on the guys shoulder, and then responds to his distain with "Suck my balls". Why is that funny? Does it have anything to do with him crapping on the guys shoulder? I mean, the birdman could have Not interesting enough to keep watching. The jokes all seem to be sight gags and obvious. They seem to be linked to the setting or visuals and not the plot of the show. Like when the birdman craps on the guys shoulder, and then responds to his distain with "Suck my balls". Why is that funny? Does it have anything to do with him crapping on the guys shoulder? I mean, the birdman could have done ANYTHING demeaning to the guy, and when the guy gets angry, then say "suck my balls". I mean, he could have said, "Lucky you, I was aiming for your head!" or even "don't blame me, blame taco bell!" Those are crappy jokes too, but at least they reference what just happened. That is one example of how the show swings and misses. It misses a lot by the way. Expand
  15. MatthewS
    Apr 4, 2010
    2
    It seems like lately all new programming decisions by Comedy Central are being made by emotionally retarded film school interns. Ugly Americans is no exception. The concept is idiotic and worse, the writing is dull and not in the least bit funny. This program continues the trend of awful new programming in the same category of such previous disasters as "Secret Girlfriend." This show is a dud.
  16. BjornA
    Apr 3, 2010
    8
    This show is actually pretty funny
  17. ChristopherN
    Mar 31, 2010
    9
    A breath of fresh air, Ugly Americans uses humor that manages to be both witty and, at times, a little shocking.
  18. BobD
    Mar 30, 2010
    5
    I neither love nor hate this, hence my vote of 5. Yes, it occasionally -- but only occasionally -- has some interesting visuals but I don't find the characters particularly memorable, with the possible exception of the wizard. It all strikes me as a VERY watered-down version of the much better "Superjail!" on [adult swim] (made by the same folks), something which Comedy Central would I neither love nor hate this, hence my vote of 5. Yes, it occasionally -- but only occasionally -- has some interesting visuals but I don't find the characters particularly memorable, with the possible exception of the wizard. It all strikes me as a VERY watered-down version of the much better "Superjail!" on [adult swim] (made by the same folks), something which Comedy Central would likely be far too timid to air. Expand
  19. TylerC
    Mar 30, 2010
    2
    Maybe only one or two jokes that are worth a chuckle per episode. Really crude, poorly animated and a completely unlikeable main cast. The only decent characters are the zombie roomate and Merlin. Avoid this one like the plague.
  20. BenK.
    Mar 26, 2010
    1
    This show is a horrible replacement for Tosh.0. The premise made me want to watch, but it's simply not funny.
  21. IanM.
    Mar 26, 2010
    2
    I was really excited about this show. Really let down. The jokes are hacky. Sometimes I think that cartoons get the benefit of the doubt when it comes to absurdity. I think that when Family Guy gets into doing too many cut away scenes, they're really just doing the same thing those terrible "____Movie" films do, but nobody calls them on it because it's a cartoon. I think that I was really excited about this show. Really let down. The jokes are hacky. Sometimes I think that cartoons get the benefit of the doubt when it comes to absurdity. I think that when Family Guy gets into doing too many cut away scenes, they're really just doing the same thing those terrible "____Movie" films do, but nobody calls them on it because it's a cartoon. I think that the Men in Black movies did a better job satirizing the freaks that live in New York City, but it's a Will Smith movie, and it's a bastardization of a classic science fiction story, so you're not supposed to like it. This looks like "Super Jail" so you're going into it thinking that it's going to be as good as "Super Jail" but it's just a bunch of bad puns and cut aways. It's not a good show. Expand
  22. CaseyF.
    Mar 26, 2010
    9
    This show isn't for everyone, but it is reminiscent of Futurama in it's charming characters and humorous stories. Both episodes have made me laugh more than any other show currently on Comedy Central, and I definitely think Ugly Americans has the potential to be a hit.
  23. BrandonF.
    Mar 25, 2010
    2
    Great looking show but thats it. I know Stern one of the show writers worked on the Simpsons but jeez he'sgone way down hill. the writing is extremey cliche and unoriginal as are the characters. It'll air about 4 episodes and then it'll fade into obscurity.
  24. RichardJ
    Mar 25, 2010
    6
    Strange but quirky and i think it will get better. The idea of aliens living on earth is similar to Men In Black. Living in London/UK, I love fresh comedies and interesting ideas which are not the norm, so this show worked, an animation wasn't bad (very Mike Judge) I gave it an 6 due to it's inventiveness, the reasons it lacks certain things, i.e. punchlines, pace is slow, and Strange but quirky and i think it will get better. The idea of aliens living on earth is similar to Men In Black. Living in London/UK, I love fresh comedies and interesting ideas which are not the norm, so this show worked, an animation wasn't bad (very Mike Judge) I gave it an 6 due to it's inventiveness, the reasons it lacks certain things, i.e. punchlines, pace is slow, and it doesn't have a great story built up yet. I still prefer Archer which is the best new animation show, and the old classics from adult swim such as Harvey Birdman, Sealab 2021 and Aqua Teen, but nevertheless this is a show which is watchable. Expand
  25. JamesN
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    Its rare i see a oddball universe style show that I actually enjoy. A show with oddities and a straight man who isn't a complete outcast but seems to fit in as well in his own weird way. Best of luck to the creators and I hope it catches on globally.
  26. JesseH
    Mar 22, 2010
    9
    I don't understand the bad ratings this show gets from critics and viewers. Every now and then the jokes verge on corny, but the show has got enough charm and wit to keep me entertained fully for the full thirty minutes. Many people may not realize how reminiscent of Beavis and Butthead this show really is, and I deeply appreciate its classic representation of one normal man in a I don't understand the bad ratings this show gets from critics and viewers. Every now and then the jokes verge on corny, but the show has got enough charm and wit to keep me entertained fully for the full thirty minutes. Many people may not realize how reminiscent of Beavis and Butthead this show really is, and I deeply appreciate its classic representation of one normal man in a world of idiots and oddballs. The characters are expanded upon beautifully despite the short amounts of screen time each one gets. It's sort of astounding how, above all, the show manages to convince me as the viewer that this world that is created is not much different than our own. The only thing keeping it from a 10 is its infancy and ability to mature given time. Collapse
  27. BrianH
    Mar 22, 2010
    1
    This show has very few funny scenes. And of those few scenes, they're really lame, crude humor. Total waste of time. Stay away from this garbage. Watch Futurama, Family Guy, ANYTHING except this crap.
  28. peterD.
    Mar 20, 2010
    3
    The animation is cool but the execution is poor. Lousy jokes, cookie cutter characters and just bland writing.
  29. LordCrapsALot
    Mar 20, 2010
    4
    Well being a huge fan of Superjail, Ugly Americans came as a kind of disappointment since its made by the same studio. The jokes were bland and the story barely interesting,from what I expected Ugly Americans won't probably last. I'll give the show 2 maybe 3 seasons till its scraped.
  30. DDeCost
    Mar 18, 2010
    2
    I love the animation reminds me of old-school MTV animation from the early 1990's. But unfortunately the shows all flash no substance. The jokes are conventional and recycled the characters redundant and uninspired and thats a pity given how great the show looks. Don't know why the critics are swooning for it, the love is all in its animation style not the content.
  31. DickieL
    Mar 17, 2010
    9
    I thought it was quite good; why all the hate?
  32. PeterB
    Mar 17, 2010
    1
    This wasn't funny. It was was GROSS. As a matter of fact it was so gross I couldn't watch it. I saw the multi-breasted girl with no head I turned the channel. This series is just bizarre. I lasted 8 minutes and that was longer than I should have lasted. I wanted to turn it off at 5 minutes but I thought I'd give it a chance.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    75
    Ugly Americans can be gross and bizarre, but everything makes sense in the world that it has created.
  2. The premise is a neat riff on immigration and fitting in, but the jokes are a bit conventional for a show that looks so pleasantly odd.
  3. But if Ugly Americans comes with a message, it is at least equally determined to just be funny, and at that task, it frequently succeeds.