Undateable (2014) : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: May 29, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    May 28, 2014
    75
    At best, it reminds sitcom fans that quality work is still being done in multi-camera; at worst, it’s a decent distraction during the hiatus for Heelan’s other show, the final link to a comic dynasty that wasn’t meant to be.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    May 27, 2014
    75
    Undateable still doesn't quite capture the zany entirety of D'Elia's comic style, but it comes closer than anything he's done so far. The rest of the cast is solid; the writing works; the familiar situation is at least freshened by snappy direction and appealing characters.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    May 29, 2014
    70
    Undateable, a show that does not set out to reinvent the multi-camera hangout comedy but execute that format reasonably well, turned out to be a generally pleasant surprise.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    May 28, 2014
    67
    Undateable airs in times when summer series aren’t always the throwaways they used to be. This may not be a keeper but it may well grow on viewers rather than wear on them.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    May 27, 2014
    67
    Amusing, dumb, silly--exactly what you'd expect.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Jan 31, 2016
    10
    NONE of the critic reviews for this show have been since it went LIVE. This was a great show since season 1. It's an even BETTER show now. ANONE of the critic reviews for this show have been since it went LIVE. This was a great show since season 1. It's an even BETTER show now. A brilliant cast, with great actors and hilarious comedians...given free reign to improv - LIVE on national tv. No other "sitcom" on television does this.
    Plus- the writers and cast use social media in ways that have never been done before. You can tweet with them, see a periscope from the writers room DAILY, and even call a dedicated phone (the Danny phone) and often talk to a cast member - or get pictures via text. It offers an experience for the fans that is truly unique.
    While I'm sure it's easy for someone to watch ONE episode and verbally bash it to oblivion on the internet (negative reviews are so much more fun to write), if they would at least take the time to give it a chance - I'm almost sure they would fall in love with the show, just as the rest of us have. The UndateableLive cast/crew have certainly put in more heart, time and effort into creating this 30 min of entertainment than any other show I have ever watched. I truly hope NBC can see that and give it another season (and better time slot) for others to enjoy it as well.
    Full Review »
  2. May 31, 2014
    8
    Good potential, great cast! really curious to watch a whole season.
    refreshing comedy, im just wondering if they could feed the whole cast
    Good potential, great cast! really curious to watch a whole season.
    refreshing comedy, im just wondering if they could feed the whole cast with good humor lines
    Full Review »
  3. May 30, 2014
    0
    Undateable? More like UN-WATCHABLE. And I won't fault the actors on this one, the lines they were given were titanic...in their tragic-ness.Undateable? More like UN-WATCHABLE. And I won't fault the actors on this one, the lines they were given were titanic...in their tragic-ness. Were these writers trained under Stephanie Meyer because after only watching 7 minutes of it, I feel like I'm in the twilight-zone of bad television. Full Review »