Under the Dome : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jun 24, 2013
    40
    Vaughan, writing and directing these lines, is hauling the Stephen King brand into risky territory. The risk is boredom—the half-puzzled, half-irritated sort of boredom elicited by later seasons of Lost.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 24, 2013
    60
    Under the Dome does have an air of King’s more sinister tendencies, but not enough of them in the first hour to suggest the sort of horror that’s worth sticking around for.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 24, 2013
    60
    By those criteria [action drama, airs of vague mystery and psychological setups that upset the characters’ equilibrium], Under the Dome hits its marks. It’s not profound and it may take a while to reach terrifying, but as a campfire story, a fresh batch of characters in a time-tested tale, sure, why not?
  4. Reviewed by: Ross Langager
    Jun 24, 2013
    60
    Although it’s worth reserving judgment on the disposition and spirit of Under the Dome until we’ve seen at least a handful of episodes, it’s fair to say that the pilot embraces the material’s pulpier elements, with none of Lost’s nerdy digression or philosophical trolling.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 24, 2013
    60
    Every pilot is burdened with establishing character, jump-starting the narrative and hooking the audience, but Under the Dome unnecessarily force-feeds us its first hour to its own detriment.... Which isn't to say Under the Dome won't wind up being fun to watch. All of the performances seem promising.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 24, 2013
    50
    While the initial arrival of the dome is intriguing, the characters are not.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 402 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 129
  2. Negative: 65 out of 129
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    I had really high hopes for this show, it was just awful. I'm going to give it a 0/10, I just didn't like one thing about it. This is awful.I had really high hopes for this show, it was just awful. I'm going to give it a 0/10, I just didn't like one thing about it. This is awful. Its just terrible. Full Review »
  2. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    I have tried to come up with a reasonable review but the only thing I can think of is disappointment. Read the book, the acting is muchI have tried to come up with a reasonable review but the only thing I can think of is disappointment. Read the book, the acting is much better and the scenery is superior too. Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    4
    Not impressed by far. The characters seems rather one sided and clichéd. We already know who will be bad (Junior, 'Big Jim' Rennie etc...) andNot impressed by far. The characters seems rather one sided and clichéd. We already know who will be bad (Junior, 'Big Jim' Rennie etc...) and who will play the good ones Linda, Joe McAlister etc.) in my opinion. I think there will be many romance added to the show. People behaved irrationally so far (throw a party next to a giant energy field?!?!?). The story might progress, but I think I have already seen the bad vs. good people, and who joins which side story already. Seem to me it will be a soap-opera wrapped in a science-fiction "dome". Not happy with this, but it might become good later. Full Review »