• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A small town in Maine is cut off from the rest of the world in the miniseries based on Stephen King's book of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 24, 2013
    88
    We could all use a good summer TV diversion around now, and if tonight's entertaining, intriguing premiere turns out to be a fair guide, Dome could be just what we've needed.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Based on the pilot episode--with its taut script, strong performances and special effects that are impressive without being overwhelming--there’s hope that Under The Dome might measure up to its unsettling print progenitor.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Not only is it creepy, suspenseful and full of splendid special effects, veteran actors and fresh young faces, but it's laced with big thoughts about environmentalism and the future of the planet.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    The pilot establishes an eerie claustrophobic dread, and well-budgeted special effects add intensity. [1 Jul 2013, p.35]
  5. 70
    You don't immediately sense how all of the characters are connected or how they might eventually become connected--most of the pilot is scene-setting and mood-building--but what's onscreen is compelling.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 24, 2013
    70
    It remains to be seen whether either will merit watching for a full season but the pilot does exactly what it should: It intrigues and makes the case for viewers to come back next week for more.
  7. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jun 11, 2013
    38
    Series creator Brian K. Vaughan's adaptation is yet another tepid melodrama, in the tradition of the recent Bates Motel, in which every creative decision appears to have been made in a trendy bid to appeal to the viewer's crotch.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 128
  2. Negative: 65 out of 128
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Under the Dome was the series that I waited the most and hoping to be good, after being disappointed with Bates Motel, Under the Dome pleasedUnder the Dome was the series that I waited the most and hoping to be good, after being disappointed with Bates Motel, Under the Dome pleased me, it was well written, well directed, well acted and the dialogue is good, everything is good so far, I think it is going to be a blast. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    A very good one, the history have a few good twists, unfortunately I think it will be out of ideas quickly but it manages to keep the interestA very good one, the history have a few good twists, unfortunately I think it will be out of ideas quickly but it manages to keep the interest almost all episodes in the first season. Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    6
    Under the Dome is NOT a very good show, but it's not the worst. It's a million miles from being as god as The Event or Flashforward were, andUnder the Dome is NOT a very good show, but it's not the worst. It's a million miles from being as god as The Event or Flashforward were, and yet somehow, it managed to get renewed when they didn't. Don't get that.
    Anyway, for a show about a mysterious and unexplainable dome that appears one day over a small town, its pretty un-epic. The plots are more about the lawlessness and panic that occur from being cut off from the rest of the world more than the potential alien dome and its mysterious happenings. You get some of that, but it feels secondary. The characters aren't that interesting and often the show feels pretty boring and very rural. It's basically a podunk town that just happens to be under a dome. And yet... I watch it. Why? It's really not that bad... It's just... not worth netflixing. Watch it if its on, but don't go seeking it out.
    Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    3
    This is one of those instances where a show gets worse episode by episode. It suffers from two common network TV flaws: 1) the premiseThis is one of those instances where a show gets worse episode by episode. It suffers from two common network TV flaws: 1) the premise demands resolution but the series is open-ended. So you get episode after episode with teasing plot threads that go nowhere. 2) the writing is mediocre. Standard melodrama stuff. Under the Dome would have made a much better miniseries. Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    2
    I wanted to like this show... But like so many before it in this genre (Jericho, Revolution, Defiance, et al) it was a complete fail.I wanted to like this show... But like so many before it in this genre (Jericho, Revolution, Defiance, et al) it was a complete fail. Characters making irrational choices, forced uninspired and uninteresting crisis moments, trope after trope, one dimensional characters, HORRIBLE acting (even by historically good actors), poor CGI, and awful dialogue. The premise is the only potentially exciting aspect of the show. How do these writers, directors, and producers get their jobs? Have they ever watched Game of Thrones or Walking Dead to see how it SHOULD be done? They would have done better giving a first year film class the project. Waste of time. So sad-- it's my favorite genre. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2013
    1
    The story lines is ok. but this is the only thing that not terrible in Under The Dome. The Chartres are very pathetic, the actors and actressThe story lines is ok. but this is the only thing that not terrible in Under The Dome. The Chartres are very pathetic, the actors and actress just don't good. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    0
    Under the dome has progressively got worse. I read the book and enjoyed the first few episodes but now it is just predictable and boring. IUnder the dome has progressively got worse. I read the book and enjoyed the first few episodes but now it is just predictable and boring. I personally facepalm a minimum of 5 times each episode. Ignoring the fact that 60% of the things that happen don't even make any sense. "Sandstorm occurs and if somehow the winds hit every wall the dome gets clogged, and setting up a tiny fan to shoot water 5 meters saves the city in 1 min flat." that is just plane stupid. I had high hopes for this season 1 but i cant bring my self to watch the next episode. Expand

See all 128 User Reviews

Trailers