Under the Dome : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Under the Dome Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 434 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A small town in Maine is cut off from the rest of the world in the miniseries based on Stephen King's book of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 24, 2013
    88
    We could all use a good summer TV diversion around now, and if tonight's entertaining, intriguing premiere turns out to be a fair guide, Dome could be just what we've needed.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Based on the pilot episode--with its taut script, strong performances and special effects that are impressive without being overwhelming--there’s hope that Under The Dome might measure up to its unsettling print progenitor.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Not only is it creepy, suspenseful and full of splendid special effects, veteran actors and fresh young faces, but it's laced with big thoughts about environmentalism and the future of the planet.
  4. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    The pilot establishes an eerie claustrophobic dread, and well-budgeted special effects add intensity. [1 Jul 2013, p.35]
  5. 70
    You don't immediately sense how all of the characters are connected or how they might eventually become connected--most of the pilot is scene-setting and mood-building--but what's onscreen is compelling.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 24, 2013
    70
    It remains to be seen whether either will merit watching for a full season but the pilot does exactly what it should: It intrigues and makes the case for viewers to come back next week for more.
  7. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jun 11, 2013
    38
    Series creator Brian K. Vaughan's adaptation is yet another tepid melodrama, in the tradition of the recent Bates Motel, in which every creative decision appears to have been made in a trendy bid to appeal to the viewer's crotch.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 132
  2. Negative: 68 out of 132
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Under the Dome was the series that I waited the most and hoping to be good, after being disappointed with Bates Motel, Under the Dome pleasedUnder the Dome was the series that I waited the most and hoping to be good, after being disappointed with Bates Motel, Under the Dome pleased me, it was well written, well directed, well acted and the dialogue is good, everything is good so far, I think it is going to be a blast. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    A very good one, the history have a few good twists, unfortunately I think it will be out of ideas quickly but it manages to keep the interestA very good one, the history have a few good twists, unfortunately I think it will be out of ideas quickly but it manages to keep the interest almost all episodes in the first season. Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    6
    I'm a big fan of Stephen King's work, I've been since I was a teenager and I really enjoyed his book so I was quite happy to see that theI'm a big fan of Stephen King's work, I've been since I was a teenager and I really enjoyed his book so I was quite happy to see that the story would become a TV show. I was hoping to find a replacement for an other TV show I really enjoyed (Stargate Universe) but that got canceled a few months ago, I was kind of hoping Under the Dome would take its place in my heart. The first few episodes were good and most of the characters were there (with a few differences if I compare with the book) but the last few ones were a bit disappointing in my opinion. It's a bit slow and it looks like they are taking parts of the original story to create each episode. I know some stuff in the book might be to graphic or too violent to be put on TV but it's very different from the original story. The book was sooooo good, I'd love to see more fidelity. I'll keep on watching just to see what will happen next but I'll keep comparing with the book. If you were planning on reading the book, wait until the season is over, you'll enjoy it a little bit more I think! Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2013
    3
    The series could have been so successful, but I never though it will turn out this bad! Under the Dome's only positive points are the factThe series could have been so successful, but I never though it will turn out this bad! Under the Dome's only positive points are the fact that its premise is interesting and intriguing and that there are some interesting plot points that have appeared in what I have seen in the series. But sadly, the series is filled with utterly annoying and unlikable characters that are extremely annoying and lack in any sort of logic. In television shows, audiences are supposed to care about the characters, but no care is given here. The dialogue is both corny and horrible and the CG is pretty damn terrible as well. As much as I wanted to continue watching the series, I kept getting constantly frustrated and annoying by the characters and there decisions and dialogue, the subplots and other things. A high concept drama gone wrong. Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    2
    I wanted to like this show... But like so many before it in this genre (Jericho, Revolution, Defiance, et al) it was a complete fail.I wanted to like this show... But like so many before it in this genre (Jericho, Revolution, Defiance, et al) it was a complete fail. Characters making irrational choices, forced uninspired and uninteresting crisis moments, trope after trope, one dimensional characters, HORRIBLE acting (even by historically good actors), poor CGI, and awful dialogue. The premise is the only potentially exciting aspect of the show. How do these writers, directors, and producers get their jobs? Have they ever watched Game of Thrones or Walking Dead to see how it SHOULD be done? They would have done better giving a first year film class the project. Waste of time. So sad-- it's my favorite genre. Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2013
    1
    I finally turned it off. Stupid people doing stupid things for no apparent reason. It's like half the town is brain dead and just doingI finally turned it off. Stupid people doing stupid things for no apparent reason. It's like half the town is brain dead and just doing whatever without a plan. The rest rape, steal and murder with impunity. If this is a true metaphor for how mankind is dealing with limited resources then we are all in big trouble. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    0
    Under the dome has progressively got worse. I read the book and enjoyed the first few episodes but now it is just predictable and boring. IUnder the dome has progressively got worse. I read the book and enjoyed the first few episodes but now it is just predictable and boring. I personally facepalm a minimum of 5 times each episode. Ignoring the fact that 60% of the things that happen don't even make any sense. "Sandstorm occurs and if somehow the winds hit every wall the dome gets clogged, and setting up a tiny fan to shoot water 5 meters saves the city in 1 min flat." that is just plane stupid. I had high hopes for this season 1 but i cant bring my self to watch the next episode. Expand

See all 132 User Reviews

Trailers