• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Under the Dome Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 297 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A small town in Maine is cut off from the rest of the world in the miniseries based on Stephen King's book of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 24, 2013
    88
    We could all use a good summer TV diversion around now, and if tonight's entertaining, intriguing premiere turns out to be a fair guide, Dome could be just what we've needed.
  2. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Smart, funny and utterly intriguing, it sucks us in better than any procedural with an four-letter acronym.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Not only is it creepy, suspenseful and full of splendid special effects, veteran actors and fresh young faces, but it's laced with big thoughts about environmentalism and the future of the planet.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    The pilot establishes an eerie claustrophobic dread, and well-budgeted special effects add intensity. [1 Jul 2013, p.35]
  5. 70
    You don't immediately sense how all of the characters are connected or how they might eventually become connected--most of the pilot is scene-setting and mood-building--but what's onscreen is compelling.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 24, 2013
    70
    It remains to be seen whether either will merit watching for a full season but the pilot does exactly what it should: It intrigues and makes the case for viewers to come back next week for more.
  7. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jun 11, 2013
    38
    Series creator Brian K. Vaughan's adaptation is yet another tepid melodrama, in the tradition of the recent Bates Motel, in which every creative decision appears to have been made in a trendy bid to appeal to the viewer's crotch.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 103
  2. Negative: 48 out of 103
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Under the Dome was the series that I waited the most and hoping to be good, after being disappointed with Bates Motel, Under the Dome pleased me, it was well written, well directed, well acted and the dialogue is good, everything is good so far, I think it is going to be a blast. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    A very good one, the history have a few good twists, unfortunately I think it will be out of ideas quickly but it manages to keep the interest almost all episodes in the first season. Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    6
    I'm a big fan of Stephen King's work, I've been since I was a teenager and I really enjoyed his book so I was quite happy to see that the story would become a TV show. I was hoping to find a replacement for an other TV show I really enjoyed (Stargate Universe) but that got canceled a few months ago, I was kind of hoping Under the Dome would take its place in my heart. The first few episodes were good and most of the characters were there (with a few differences if I compare with the book) but the last few ones were a bit disappointing in my opinion. It's a bit slow and it looks like they are taking parts of the original story to create each episode. I know some stuff in the book might be to graphic or too violent to be put on TV but it's very different from the original story. The book was sooooo good, I'd love to see more fidelity. I'll keep on watching just to see what will happen next but I'll keep comparing with the book. If you were planning on reading the book, wait until the season is over, you'll enjoy it a little bit more I think! Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2014
    4
    We had this "mini-series" on our DVR for months and just finished it last night (about 9 months after it broadcast). That should tell you how much it held our interest after the first couple episodes. Generally it's another one of those shows that **** out a mystery to keep the audience coming back. That rarely works for me. And to turn King's book into a multi-season series after they saw the initial ratings was a mistake. Under the Dome is boring, plodding and rife with unlikable characters. I'll not be back for "season" 2. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    3
    After a reasonable start to a summer mini, based on a great book by King, now by episode 10, the show has been reduced to drivel, completely disjointed and going nowhere. New characters from out of the woodwork. Even though a sci-fi premise exists, no one is really seeking solution or talking (in print or on screens) with the outside world and demanding action, To think that this town allows Junior to run around with a badge and a gun is actually silly. Enough. Oh, by the way, they blew up a well so that the town could get some water, and last night "Big Jim" is drowning people in a lake the size of Erie, in a 25' power boat, huh. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2013
    2
    This show is not very good. If i didn't see Breaking Bad i wouldn't know how great of an actor Dean Norris is. Rachelle Lefevre is from Revolution and plays pretty much the same type of character she did in that show and its very generic so i have no idea how much she can bring to her work. All the other actors seemingly do their jobs as best they can with a really terrible script. The problem with "under the Dome" is not the ideas for the world they exist in or the relationships and character choices but how quickly the characters are forced to service the next plot point without really being affected by the last drama they just experienced. Its like the show is going through a checklist of moments they have to hit for drama's sake. So the result is a seemingly very stupid script that doesn't even hold as much logic as a night time soap like "Revenge". Its like a series of short video clips of characters dealing with a bunch of writer's ideas for drama inside this domed town.
    What they should have done (regardless of the book's plot points which i never read) is let the character's choices affect the characters and develop in the character's relationship to how they deal with a few simple choices. There are way way way too many crazy plot developments for each character and the story lines are abandoned by the writing by the end of two episodes. It's as if it all didn't matter because now we are on to the next thing. Its like its written by a twelve year old. This show makes me yell at the screen "really? you just did that and now your going to just move on as if it never happened?"
    Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2014
    0
    awful awful show. cliche characters, predictable plot, poor acting. Its a shame that truly creative shows like hello ladies on HBO end after one season and tripe like this nonsense lurches on.... Expand

See all 103 User Reviews