• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Under the Dome Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 333 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A small town in Maine is cut off from the rest of the world in the miniseries based on Stephen King's book of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 24, 2013
    88
    We could all use a good summer TV diversion around now, and if tonight's entertaining, intriguing premiere turns out to be a fair guide, Dome could be just what we've needed.
  2. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Smart, funny and utterly intriguing, it sucks us in better than any procedural with an four-letter acronym.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Not only is it creepy, suspenseful and full of splendid special effects, veteran actors and fresh young faces, but it's laced with big thoughts about environmentalism and the future of the planet.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    The pilot establishes an eerie claustrophobic dread, and well-budgeted special effects add intensity. [1 Jul 2013, p.35]
  5. 70
    You don't immediately sense how all of the characters are connected or how they might eventually become connected--most of the pilot is scene-setting and mood-building--but what's onscreen is compelling.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 24, 2013
    70
    It remains to be seen whether either will merit watching for a full season but the pilot does exactly what it should: It intrigues and makes the case for viewers to come back next week for more.
  7. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jun 11, 2013
    38
    Series creator Brian K. Vaughan's adaptation is yet another tepid melodrama, in the tradition of the recent Bates Motel, in which every creative decision appears to have been made in a trendy bid to appeal to the viewer's crotch.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 117
  2. Negative: 58 out of 117
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Under the Dome was the series that I waited the most and hoping to be good, after being disappointed with Bates Motel, Under the Dome pleased me, it was well written, well directed, well acted and the dialogue is good, everything is good so far, I think it is going to be a blast. Expand
  2. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Its a great tv series although if you don't like it because its not following the book on the website it even says it won't and the fact it will have a different ending so with that in mind I give it a 9 because of the over acting on the character junior Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    6
    I'm a big fan of Stephen King's work, I've been since I was a teenager and I really enjoyed his book so I was quite happy to see that the story would become a TV show. I was hoping to find a replacement for an other TV show I really enjoyed (Stargate Universe) but that got canceled a few months ago, I was kind of hoping Under the Dome would take its place in my heart. The first few episodes were good and most of the characters were there (with a few differences if I compare with the book) but the last few ones were a bit disappointing in my opinion. It's a bit slow and it looks like they are taking parts of the original story to create each episode. I know some stuff in the book might be to graphic or too violent to be put on TV but it's very different from the original story. The book was sooooo good, I'd love to see more fidelity. I'll keep on watching just to see what will happen next but I'll keep comparing with the book. If you were planning on reading the book, wait until the season is over, you'll enjoy it a little bit more I think! Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    It started out with a lot of potential. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to it. The first two or three episodes were very good, but it gradually went down hill. The acting, for the most part, was average, with a few very good performances and some bad ones in the mix. Same can be said for the writing. And now, instead of being a mini-series like it was supposed to, they've decided to milk it for a second season (and maybe more, who knows at this point?), leading to an awful season finale. I'm all for cliff hangers, but only if they're well done. This finale was just anti-climatic, and frankly, I'm not sure if I'll tune in next year. Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    2
    I think I have finally reached my limit of dystopian/apocalyptic survival premises in which Conrad's Heart of Darkness is played over and over again. The only thing that's missing here is cannibalism, but maybe if I stick around long enough (fat chance), someone will dine on another. Enough already. Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2013
    2
    I'm not interested in the pyhco boyfriend or whose hoarding gas or junk, is this a sci fi or what? The only way i can stand watching this show is recording it and fast forwarding to the interesting bits which are not many. Where is this story going anyway. Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2014
    0
    awful awful show. cliche characters, predictable plot, poor acting. Its a shame that truly creative shows like hello ladies on HBO end after one season and tripe like this nonsense lurches on.... Expand

See all 117 User Reviews