• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 16, 2014
  • Season #: 1
Under the Gunn Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tim Gunn hosts the fashion competition with "Project Runway" alumni Mondo Guerra, Anya Ayoung-Chee and Nick Verreos, who mentor a team of designers who will be judged by designer Rachel Roy, celebrity stylist Jen Rade, and Marie Claire Senior Fashion Editor Zanna Roberts Rassi.
  • Genre(s): Reality
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Reviewed by: Phil Dyess-Nugent
    Jan 15, 2014
    58
    The new Under The Gunn--a Project Runway imitation with Gunn in the head judge’s chair--merely has the feel of lifeboats being lowered.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 31, 2014
    38
    The coach-team setup give the show a slight Voice vibe, but the whole thing feels flat. [10 Feb 2014, p.50]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 9 out of 12
  1. Jan 17, 2014
    8
    I joined Metacritic just so I could say that I really enjoyed this show. I look forward to next week's episode more than I have been looking forward to Project Runway. Much less stupid arguing, more about the creative process and mentoring. And lots of Tim Gunn. Collapse
  2. Feb 14, 2014
    6
    I love Tim Gunn, and sometimes I love Under the Gunn, too. The mentoring concept is a good one. But it doesn't work when Tim Gunn sees something he doesn't approve of. Instead of mentoring the mentors to get things working better, he gets impatient and shifts from mentoring the mentors, to being judgmental and making decisions for them - the very things he counsels his mentors not to do with their designer teams. If Mr. Gunn can fine-tune his managing style, the show will get better. Otherwise, it will frustrate viewers, because the interactions and designer growth that they watch the show for are not going to be there.. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2014
    5
    Tim Gunn is the ONLY reason I tuned into this show. I was hopeful that maybe we would have more FASHION allowing the designers more than a few hours to create a look so we can really see what they can accomplish. I love the "mentor" concept but lets face it - Tim Gunn is the ULTIMATE MENTOR and no one can hold a candle to him. I do LOVE that each weeks winner is given $5k - a very nice unique feature that Project Runway does not offer (but should!). I also wish Mondo would quit wearing shorts and sandals as this does not look very "fashionable" - more like relaxed Target or Marshall's. Hopefully they will have some "team building" exercises and maybe allow "2-days" to finish a challenge. I will keep tuning in week to week because I can't get enough of Tim Gunn and his awesome ability to help people move forward in the right direction. Hopefully he will inspire his three "mentor hopefuls" to be more like a coaches and allow the designers to be the centers of attention. Oh - love LOVE the new puppy Oscar!!! Where is Swatch??? : ) "MAKE IT WORK TIM GUNN!" Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    1
    It is unfortunate that Tim Gunn was not given a more deserving show, and that these less than deserving "mentors" are a part of the downfall. I am a fashion student, and watch shows such as this for inspiration. All I see here is sub-par judges, such as the Elaine Boosler-esque wannabe, mentors who don't have any self confidence, and an all-over sense on nastiness. Expand
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    1
    Everything about the show feels prearranged. The whole idea of having Anya as a mentor is a joke but Nick Verreos seems very precious and full of himself every episode.

    and the biggest problem is Tim Gunn seems very insincere. Project Runway has its set of problems, but it has never been concerned with the looks of the cast as much as Under the Gunn is. A very weak show and certainly poorest production Tim Gunn has ever been a part of.
    Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    0
    I have been a fan since this franchise was located on another network. At the time of its first cancellation, I was one of a handful of viewers who took to writing anyone and everyone to get this back on the air. At this time, I am sadly disappointed in how Tim is handling his spin off and hope that Lifetime considers pulling the plug on the whole franchise. While I KNOW Lifetime is all about the "drama", this show was never billed as being about bullying (like Dance Mom's) and to see it happening so blatantly is disgusting. Heidi Klum needs to reevaluate Tim Gunn and his ability to be neutral in his role as mentor to these budding designers. His out and out verbal disgust for Natalia, in his Tim Talks, has been egregious. He calls himself a gentleman yet no true gentleman would use the words, tone or language he uses. No PR is NOT what it used to be and it needs to go. Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    0
    I have been a fan of Project Runway from the get go.....but I didn't like to see how Tim Gunn slyly shows his favorites. I want the old Project runway to come back. Under The Gunn is very boring. Tonight's episode just sealed the deal fro me setting the D.V.R for this anymore. Contestant designers show their character flaws because they don't realize yet how their behavior is presented. Tim tonight treated the designer that ended up going home "Natalia" with unprofessional disrespect. He should get his blood pressure checked and add a happy pill to the go with it. He could hardly even get his fake adieu well wishes out of his mouth correctly = which means they were not sincere. I think Asha should have gone home. Just cancel the show or do some major revamping without Tim Gunn. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews