United States of Tara : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 18, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3
United States of Tara Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Tara (Toni Collette) and her family try to cope with her dissociative identity disorder (formally called multiple personality).
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    It's smartly written; clinically interesting (Why is Tara this way?), and maybe even a metaphor for the challenges all women face.
  2. As entertainment, United States of Tara succeeds through humor, vivid characters and a stunning performance by Collette, who disappears into the roles of Tara's alters.
  3. 80
    The high-caliber storytelling is what separates United States of Tara from just another kooky romp of a dramedy, teetering precariously on a superficial premise.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    As the show progresses, the stronger moments indicate that Showtime has a more durable commodity here than just the sales pitch for "Sybil: The Series." That's in part because the producers have done an exceptional job of casting beyond the central roles.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    60
    Tara has the potential to be a great comedy about identity, but it needs to be less self-conscious about its strangeness.
  6. United States of Tara, which features Toni Collette as the title character and whose executive producers include Steven Spielberg, takes a riskier tack, giving the story a wide vein of comedy. In many ways, they pull it off.
  7. 25
    The series from Academy Award-winning "Juno" screenwriter Diablo Cody and Steven Spielberg smacks of smugness and self-congratulatory cleverness.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. ZachE
    Jan 19, 2009
    10
    One of the best shows I have seen in a long while!
  2. JuneBug
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    the writing is genius. The maybe (ofcourse) gay son could have been great but I doubt any gay or bisexual can relate. It was a miss at a the writing is genius. The maybe (ofcourse) gay son could have been great but I doubt any gay or bisexual can relate. It was a miss at a great possibility to deal with the mothers problems and the sons problems. But its still a show that will grow into a classic. Expand
  3. AlexioF
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    This show might take a few episodes to grow on you but is extremely well written and addictive. It has some of the best lines I've ever This show might take a few episodes to grow on you but is extremely well written and addictive. It has some of the best lines I've ever heard come out of the mouths of any TV character ever. Collapse
  4. EthanP.
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    Saying it's not a funny show is one thing. Maybe it won't make you laugh. But if you write that it *shouldn't* be funny Saying it's not a funny show is one thing. Maybe it won't make you laugh. But if you write that it *shouldn't* be funny because it's about a serious issue, you're making a case for a depressing, drama-only landscape of TV. For me, the first few minutes of the pilot show this won't be a realistic show except in subtext. Even then, it'll inevitably woven loosely and graze lightly on The Female Condition. More importantly, it'll be crass, wrong, well acted, well written, and escapist, And so it could just keep us from blowing our brains out in 2009. Barring an early shark-jumping event, it's going to be totally awesome. (And I was so ready to cancel Showtime.) Expand
  5. JennetP.
    Jan 20, 2009
    7
    Better order up some coffee and doughnuts; the jury's gonna be out for a while. In an era of stultifying imitation (how many CSI's Better order up some coffee and doughnuts; the jury's gonna be out for a while. In an era of stultifying imitation (how many CSI's are there, again?), it's hard not to celebrate a show with such an original premise. Plucking a serious psychiatric disorder from the usual movie-of-the-week format and exploring its comic dimensions, not to mention its social and political resonances, is a bold move that deserves cheers and support. I just wish I liked the results more. I'm going to have to disagree with the critics dazzled by Toni Colette's performance; I find it hammy and overwrought--and way too dependent on costume changes. All that twisty-body look-at-my-thong stuff she does as a supposed 15-year-old is more characteristic of a 40-year-old who has gone to a bar to get laid but has only gotten drunk and desperate. And the alters themselves are stereotypes, which doesn't help her performances. Colette should take a look at Sally Field's chilling transformations in "Sibyl," occasionally managed with just a shift in facial expression. If she could bring that kind of subtlety to the show, it would be greatly improved. In addition, having cheered the show's avoidance of melodrama, I'm hoping its tone will grow more complex still. I'd like to see more darkness and desperation amid the fun. So far, it's the children who best register the tension between levity and horror, as one moment the existence of the alters lets them get away with a scam, while the next moment it pulls the earth out from under them. Their dad, on the other hand, is pretty one-dimensional, so far. I keep waiting for John Corbett play someone other than Handsome Q. Laidback, but he's showing no sign of weariness with the role. Nonetheless, I'm interested enough to keep watching, and I hope I'll be back soon to change my rating to a "10." Expand
  6. cccc
    Jan 26, 2009
    7
    The show is entertaining, and unique, as to whether it is accurate / politically correct is another story. It may offend some, but personally The show is entertaining, and unique, as to whether it is accurate / politically correct is another story. It may offend some, but personally I am an not offended. Overall and find it humorous and interesting. Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    1
    United States of Tara tem uma grande premissa, e só. O problema que este drama não engraçado, nem triste o que o torna desinteressanteUnited States of Tara tem uma grande premissa, e só. O problema que este drama não engraçado, nem triste o que o torna desinteressante apesar de ter em seus créditos o todo poderoso Spilberg. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.