• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 19, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Unsupervised Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An animated comedy about best friends Gary and Joel (Justin Long & David Hornsby) who go through life without any parental input.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 19, 2012
    67
    The toughest part of most new series is coming up with characters that the viewer will want to watch for weeks, if not years, on end, and they've already licked that part of it. We'll see if the rest follows.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 13, 2012
    63
    Not all of Unsupervised's jokes stick their landing, and the content is on the crude side. But I'm willing to check up on Gary and Joel every so often to see how they're acting out while growing up.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 19, 2012
    58
    Unsupervised might induce at least a small handful of smiles per episode. But only if its mood strikes you.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 17, 2012
    40
    Unsupervised doesn't explore emotional story threads. It's mainly a Beavis and Butt-head echo.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Jan 19, 2012
    40
    Unsupervised appears content to amble along, reiterating what we've seen before.
  6. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jan 18, 2012
    40
    A gross-out cartoon. Fans of "Archer" likely won't sit still for the more juvenile antics of Unsupervised.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jan 18, 2012
    25
    You partially feel guilty about criticizing a show that boasts so much talent, is so well-meaning, and yet misses the mark entirely, but I defer to the gurus on this one: Uh–huh-huh-huh-huh, this sucks.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This show is a great example of one of the many problems with the world today... nobody has any patience. It doesn't go for the jugular withThis show is a great example of one of the many problems with the world today... nobody has any patience. It doesn't go for the jugular with cheap yucks and silly one-liners. Instead, it builds its characters slowly, and the payoff, if you stick with it, is great.

    If fact, I would argue that shows like the Simpsons and early Futurama would have never lasted today. They would have taken too long to build an audience. But once you get into the characters, the sky's the limit. And these are some great characters, especially the two main kids and their three main peers at school.

    Kudos to FX and the Sunny guys for having the balls to try something like this. I hope it works.
    Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    I thought this show was great and had a very funny start. You find yourself relating with Joel and Gary, as they're not bad kids but findI thought this show was great and had a very funny start. You find yourself relating with Joel and Gary, as they're not bad kids but find themselves in bad situations trying to be cool and figuring out life. The supporting characters were very funny as well, especially Russ and Darius. It will be interested to see where this series goes. And this show is nothing like Beavis and Butthead. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    Unsupervised is a great show! It's funny and interesting!! I don't understand why people dislike this show. When I first saw the promo, I wasUnsupervised is a great show! It's funny and interesting!! I don't understand why people dislike this show. When I first saw the promo, I was stoked to see the pilot episode! I think they should keep making new episodes!! I miss this show! I wonder when they'll start. When they do, I'll be ready to record it! Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Great great great great great great great great great great great great great great GRRREEEAAATTTT!!!!!!! Really it's pretty good i like theGreat great great great great great great great great great great great great great GRRREEEAAATTTT!!!!!!! Really it's pretty good i like the show so keep it on FX. Its pretty funny . I have seen funnier stuff butt this is still good. Always sunny is the best show ever!!!! Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2012
    6
    It would have more potential as a series if it weren't so predictable. But, unfortunately you can just see things coming from this show, andIt would have more potential as a series if it weren't so predictable. But, unfortunately you can just see things coming from this show, and it only got like two chuckles from me first episode. Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2012
    3
    Really I had high expectations for this show, it's seems like a I'll conceived toilet and childish humored show that is a bad attempt to beReally I had high expectations for this show, it's seems like a I'll conceived toilet and childish humored show that is a bad attempt to be dare I say south park, the characters are completely mindless and dimwitted toons thats soul purpose is to get laid not only that but I saw the show to lack humor or entertainment it's just a messy and dirty show which I thought would be violent and more suggestive because of the TV-MA-LSV rating but not at all entertaining like Archer, this show is a poor excuse of adult animation and the
    humor and subject matter seems like something coming out of a mindless kids show. It's seems to me like a bad rip off of Beavis and Butthead on crack and not in a good way
    Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2012
    0
    Another piece of crap from Fox in their continued campaign in the dumbing down of America. Nothing of substance to even write about, not aAnother piece of crap from Fox in their continued campaign in the dumbing down of America. Nothing of substance to even write about, not a shred of humor. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews