• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 14, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Up All Night Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Daytime talk show producer Reagan (Christina Applegate) and her husband Chris (Will Arnett) find that adjusting to being new parents is more difficult than they thought.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 14, 2011
    80
    The show can be, in odd passing moments, unexpectedly, almost nervily touching.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2011
    80
    The interplay between Arnett and Applegate has an instant crackle to it, especially when they argue about which one of them got the least sleep during Amy's latest tearful night. Just as one's interest in Up All Night's domestic cliches may flag, "SNL" alum and "Bridesmaids" co-star Maya Rudolph is here to lift the show up several notches as Reagan's boss.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 14, 2011
    75
    The changes enhance the comic balance between the reality-based humor of a young couple coping with their new baby and their evaporating youth, and the "SNL"-sketch-like satire of a powerful and powerfully self-involved talk show hostess.
  4. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 13, 2011
    70
    Applegate and Will Arnett, who plays her husband, Chris, are very good, which is no surprise. It's nice to see Arnett playing something other than an emotionally stunted man-child, and if the pilot for Up All Night didn't make me guffaw all that much, it passed by pleasantly and it was good to see that creator Emily Spivey was able to wring comedy from the new-parent situation without using the same dozen baby jokes we've all seen 200 times before.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Sep 13, 2011
    63
    The makeover has helped morph the series from unwatchable and unfunny into a witty sitcom about people who are desperate not to turn into TV sitcom parents.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 14, 2011
    58
    Right now, Up All Night is the TV equivalent of a glass of warm milk.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 12, 2011
    30
    Clearly, responsible parents will put the kids to bed early, unless they want to brave exposing their offspring to an uninspired if harmless piece of (bleep).

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 9 out of 25
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    Really, really, funny! Great cast and great writing! The plot is a little rough but it will get better. It's not as good as Parks and Recreation (the best show onTV) but I still make time to watch this one. Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    A pretty decent new show. Trying to break new ground can be tough when there really isn't a base to go on. Shows like Modern Family and Big Bang Theory made it through their first seasons relying on some kind of crutch. It's tough to get people hooked on a show using only solid writing and premise without any flash value. Christina Applegate will do a great job creating some depth as the lead and Will Arnett will always be funny, it will take a team of cracked out monkeys to make him not funny. One thing that could kill the show is Maya Rudolph's character, she is a bit over the top but I have a feeling that Lorne Michaels knows how far to take such a character. If Up All Night can maintain the level it had in the pilot it should offer some pretty good laughs and will make it's way onto my roster for this year. But what do I know, I stopped watching Game of Thrones after two episodes. Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2013
    8
    NBC's hit series "Up All Night," which has been nominated for several awards (including Satellite Awards and The People's Choice Awards), has unfortunately been on hold and rumored to be cancelled due to a conflict of interest with their producer and lead actress Christina Applegate. This show been one of the funniest TV series recently aired, which is why it is undeniably worthy of a review.
    The lead character Reagan, played by Christina Applegate in “Up All Night,” has imitated the image of an overwhelmed, incredibly attractive mother struggling with several humorous responsibilities from the lead actress Jules played by Courtney Cox's in ABC's "Cougar Town”. Reagan's authentic performance resonates comfortably to the viewers with a lovable, quirky behavior. Jules, however, over-acts into a flimsy character that is unconvincing and almost embarrassing to watch. Aside from the clear distinctive acting styles from these two leading characters, the scoring throughout the episodes of "Cougar Town," is annoyingly unnecessary while "Up All Night," applies a minimal musical frame of reference that synchronizes as needed while enhancing each character's dialogue and body language. Nevertheless, the reason behind the success of "Cougar Town," is due to its popular topic in today's pop-culture trends. Why are older women dating much younger men? Even though Jules mechanically reads her script with an exaggerated hyper-active tone, this series still delivers its ratings due to its theme that has been leaving people curious for many years. Either Courtney Cox is rushing to use the washroom in certain scenes, or she truly does not embrace her character genuinely.
    The only blatant colorless writing in “Up All Night,” is the repetitive indecisive actions of Reagan and her husband Chris (played by Will Arnett) before its opening theme or during the show. It was cute at first, but eventually magnifies into an irritating motif. Nevertheless, many faithful viewers of “Up All Night,” are still hoping that this hilarious sitcom returns to NBC.
    Collapse
  4. Sep 15, 2011
    6
    Not bad, but they gotta reduce screen time for the annoying Maya Rudolph character. This show is trying too hard; just focus on the couple. Will Arnett is excellent. Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2011
    4
    Maybe it's my mood but it's hard to like characters who are full fledged adults, well past their twenties who lie that fast, that often and for high school reasons. It's okay for secondary or tertiary characters to do that, but not the main characters. I know L.A. people can be that way so It probably feels real to the creatives, but it's not cute or endearing.
    Nobody is supposed to still be that awkward at that age. They really really like their neighbors because of their looks, and then they immediately call the cops on the party they were invited to? What are we supposed to be rooting for them to win at? The Shallow-lympics? I think they're supposed to be confused about parenting, not about everything in life. I give it 4/10 for the talent assembled, but I think it's already too late to turn things around.

    (Full disclosure; I don't find anything interesting about babies. Even if I had my own, I wouldn't want to hear about anybody else's. But that's me.)
    Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2012
    2
    They bumped Community for this P.O.S. family show. Don't we already have a tons of those shows on tv. Super unoriginal, I expected at least a little comedy from a Will Arnett show.... Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    0
    This is very unfunny. Maya Rudolf is so annoying. They need to get rid of her and focus on the cute relationship between the two central characters. Stop trying to make them into people I wouldn't want to know, like the people they are trying so hard to be. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.
  2. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.