Utopia (2014) : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 7, 2014
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 8, 2014
    50
    When the campers are just sitting around talking, about sex or God--or about each other behind their various radio-miked backs--they provide the gentle stimulation of coffee-shop eavesdropping.... When they argue, which they do, mostly over food and money or someone's self-professed expertise not being respected, it becomes tiring, like listening to the neighbors fight.
  2. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 10, 2014
    40
    Even as Utopia promises to never, ever live up to its name, its funhouse-mirror reflections of the fault lines--religion, class, politics--in our own larger, obviously imperfect society make for fascinating TV, if only occasionally.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 11, 2014
    30
    Fox executives could have saved substantial production costs and achieved basically the same boring result by filming 14 randy monkeys in a cage containing only 10 bananas.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 8, 2014
    30
    While raw and weird have certainly yielded dividends in the past, please let’s not kid ourselves: If Utopia has any legs at all, it will as a cable-style freakshow, not some grand “experiment” in democracy.
User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Sep 13, 2014
    1
    I watched the entire first episode and it was dreadful. I was expecting a group of people trying to work together to form a better society.I watched the entire first episode and it was dreadful. I was expecting a group of people trying to work together to form a better society. What the show turned out to be was a group of social misfits all who seem to have anger issues. It seems that whoever cast this thought conflict would equal ratings. Dreadful. Full Review »
  2. Sep 14, 2014
    1
    Wow. Just when you thought network TV couldn't sink any lower, Fox proves you wrong. The preacher man isn't a bad fellow, but there are noWow. Just when you thought network TV couldn't sink any lower, Fox proves you wrong. The preacher man isn't a bad fellow, but there are no really likable characters on this show. THESE are the people they came up with after an exhaustive search? Clearly, they went for obvious reality-TV stereotypes and now they are stuck with a group that reminds you more of horror film patsies waiting to be slaughtered than contestants in an intelligent scheme. What a waste. Made for people who move their lips when they read the funnies. Full Review »
  3. Sep 8, 2014
    0
    Utopia on Fox is just a bad project, I had to turn the channel. If Fox wants a great show, pick up Longmire from those dumbasses at A&E. ItUtopia on Fox is just a bad project, I had to turn the channel. If Fox wants a great show, pick up Longmire from those dumbasses at A&E. It makes Big Brother look good. lol.

    I'm hoping you see the critic's reviews and kill the show!
    Full Review »