V : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 3, 2009
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 166
  2. Negative: 34 out of 166

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 12, 2010
    6
    I never saw the original of V, being born in 1983 when it was released, but I found V Season 1 to be quite compelling viewing. It had cringe worthy 'so bad, it's good' moments, but on the whole I found myself looking forward to sitting down to watch it every week. Many questions were left unanswered, such as:
    - Where do the visitors come from?
    - What do they want? Surely with the advanced
    I never saw the original of V, being born in 1983 when it was released, but I found V Season 1 to be quite compelling viewing. It had cringe worthy 'so bad, it's good' moments, but on the whole I found myself looking forward to sitting down to watch it every week. Many questions were left unanswered, such as:
    - Where do the visitors come from?
    - What do they want? Surely with the advanced technology they have, they could want nothing from us.
    - Why do they call each other Visitors?

    If the writers were planning a second season all along then perhaps these questions will be answered later on.
    Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2010
    5
    It is a shame that flashforward was canceled instead of this show. The characters are extremely fake, acting mediocre and the story is mindless. It had a lot of potential to be good but its only gotten worse. Don't waste your time on this one.
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    5
    It really cannot move more slowly than this and still stay on TV. I am really disappointed as I had been looking forward to a great sci-fi show. Good acting which is wasted on a so-so script.
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can see the political reference, i still don't care. Shows are supposed to let us escape from reality. Even though V managed to accomplish to a small degree that, i still find it's dialogue uninteresting, it's twists unsurprising and unmoving and find that some scenes are even irrelevant. The only few scenes in the entire show that i can remember is Anna's msg when they first arrived and her screaming at the death of her children as well as her trying to stem her tears when she ordered to kill the survivors.
    i am more interested in the alien than the humans
    Expand
  5. JeffK.
    Nov 4, 2009
    6
    The series certainly has potential. It has a strong cast and high production quality, but after watching the pilot I think the script writing is kind of weak. Maybe they just tried to cram too much in too quickly, because I would have preferred that they develop things more more thoroughly, which would have taken longer. I'll give it a few more weeks, but if it doesn't get any The series certainly has potential. It has a strong cast and high production quality, but after watching the pilot I think the script writing is kind of weak. Maybe they just tried to cram too much in too quickly, because I would have preferred that they develop things more more thoroughly, which would have taken longer. I'll give it a few more weeks, but if it doesn't get any better I probably won't continue watching it. Expand
  6. JayN.
    Nov 3, 2009
    4
    A Disneyfied version of an 80's classic. Although the original had its corny moments, it had compelling character development. The new version is a watered-down, Cliff Notes, 4400 meets Lost meets New BSG pick a generic 2000's TV drama, and fill in the blank... The 1st 80's Mini series had more interesting characters, better special effects, and prob. had a bigger budget A Disneyfied version of an 80's classic. Although the original had its corny moments, it had compelling character development. The new version is a watered-down, Cliff Notes, 4400 meets Lost meets New BSG pick a generic 2000's TV drama, and fill in the blank... The 1st 80's Mini series had more interesting characters, better special effects, and prob. had a bigger budget (in 80's dollars). I could care less about anyone on the new show. Expand
  7. RyanM.
    Nov 7, 2009
    5
    Was really anticipating the remake since I grew up with and loved the original. And though the original had a cheesy 80's quality to it, the development of the characters, story, and suspense was much better than this remake. Revealed too much in the 1st episode, leaving little surprise or suspense. Horrible acting and a confusing plot that tries to explain more of the back story. So Was really anticipating the remake since I grew up with and loved the original. And though the original had a cheesy 80's quality to it, the development of the characters, story, and suspense was much better than this remake. Revealed too much in the 1st episode, leaving little surprise or suspense. Horrible acting and a confusing plot that tries to explain more of the back story. So far very disappointing. Expand
  8. SomeBody
    Nov 8, 2009
    5
    Good production values, reasonable acting, scattershot focus, zero thinking on the part of the viewer, forced pacing. Still better than many shows, but not good enough.
  9. NinaJ.
    Nov 9, 2009
    5
    While the plot of V seems to have all the necessary ingredients to make for a good sci fi drama, the delivery in the pilot was far too rushed. This first episode should have been four, because then maybe it could give adequate development to all of the directions that the pilot took. My hope is that after this initial out-pouring, the show will calm down and become a good sci fi drama. My While the plot of V seems to have all the necessary ingredients to make for a good sci fi drama, the delivery in the pilot was far too rushed. This first episode should have been four, because then maybe it could give adequate development to all of the directions that the pilot took. My hope is that after this initial out-pouring, the show will calm down and become a good sci fi drama. My fear is that it will stay on the action-suspense kick that the series has started with. Until I see where the show heads, I have to give a fence-sitting 5. Expand
  10. JamesC
    Dec 11, 2009
    5
    As remakes go, this is mediocre at best. Look at Battlestar Glactica, now that had some teeth and much much better writing. This is an example of what a network with a history of bad choices comes up with when the wrong people sit in charge of the decision making process. How on earth ABC could have cancelled Defying Gravity which at least had a sophisticated edge to it while investing in As remakes go, this is mediocre at best. Look at Battlestar Glactica, now that had some teeth and much much better writing. This is an example of what a network with a history of bad choices comes up with when the wrong people sit in charge of the decision making process. How on earth ABC could have cancelled Defying Gravity which at least had a sophisticated edge to it while investing in this, is yet another example of how some exec's should have never risen to their positions. Ridiculous, I know teenagers who could come up with better shows and better ways to market them. Don't worry, when the ratings don't make the heavens part, you'll be left with one season and a handful of whining fans. Next, Expand
  11. ArianoA
    Nov 19, 2009
    4
    This show is not that entertaining. It just doesn't flow. Too much dead air between lines. It needs a better script.
  12. EliR.
    Nov 3, 2009
    5
    It does involve aliens and space capsules, so there's that. But it's obvious and plodding.
  13. DanielB
    Nov 6, 2009
    6
    Interesting -- nice that they differentiate themselves from the original in the first episode. But really lame use of coincidence, and the characters are one-dimensional racial stereotypes. Will likely watch it, but it seems to want to be something that it isn't capable of without a decent script.
  14. ChrisC
    Nov 6, 2009
    6
    Not a bad show, but a little predictable and obvious, and filled with hacky twists.
  15. davey
    Nov 13, 2009
    5
    Nice first 10 minutes or so, then downhill all the way. SF and fantasy have more need to make sense than other genres, and this is V's biggest failing. Do invaders that have gigantic spaceships and invincible weapons really have to form grubby little cells in order to sabotage economies and cause political chaos? Why? Unlike Body Snatchers for example, there is no reason for the main Nice first 10 minutes or so, then downhill all the way. SF and fantasy have more need to make sense than other genres, and this is V's biggest failing. Do invaders that have gigantic spaceships and invincible weapons really have to form grubby little cells in order to sabotage economies and cause political chaos? Why? Unlike Body Snatchers for example, there is no reason for the main conflict to exist. Aside from that the characters and their relationships turn to the corniest of disaster movie cliches for the plot -- the misled kid, the conflicted FBI agents, the marital stresses, none of which have much to do with the central event. So far I couldn't care less what happens to any of these cardboard characters. I'll watch it a few more times in hopes things will pick up, but so far it's a big disappointment. This might have been groundbreaking in the 80s, but since then we've seen much better tv scifi. Too bad. Expand
  16. Jul 11, 2014
    6
    nothing Special, ist a solid sci fi Show. with the blond from lost the series got a strong lead character
  17. ScottChapman
    Nov 25, 2009
    5
    It suffers from awful acting and directing. For example, a character proclaims "They didn't just get here! They've been here for years!", putting emphasis on "get" when he should have put it on "just". And who decided that Morena Baccarin's hair had to be so short? Fans of Serenity will remember how much more gorgeous she was with that long hair. Still, this show has enough It suffers from awful acting and directing. For example, a character proclaims "They didn't just get here! They've been here for years!", putting emphasis on "get" when he should have put it on "just". And who decided that Morena Baccarin's hair had to be so short? Fans of Serenity will remember how much more gorgeous she was with that long hair. Still, this show has enough to keep you interested. It's hard to resist anything about an alien invasion, and it's fun to spot the allegories of the past two presidential administrations. Expand
  18. Karen
    Nov 4, 2009
    4
    Sucktastic.
  19. JamesR.
    Nov 5, 2009
    5
    I will probably watch part 2 only because Tuesday night prime time TV kinda sucks. So far, not so stellar acting. Everyone looks like they just walked out of the Gap clothing store. Sub par special effects.
  20. TerryW
    Nov 8, 2009
    5
    The new incarnation of V lives up to the semi poor 80
  21. CS
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    Didn't knock my socks off. The "secret agenda" storyline is boring and highly unoriginal. It just rehashes the old, tired alien conspiracy crackpot crap which has been around for ages. The characters are vapid and obnoxious, and the plot holes are gaping and frustrating. It gets a 5 only because I will give it a few episodes to see if post-pilot episodes improve. It happens now and then.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 80
    No gold mine of symbolism is worth a damn when the show itself doesn’t have good old storytelling mojo behind it. And, based on the premiere, V has enough narrative drive and character definition to pull viewers into the creepy suspense of its dystopian world.
  2. 75
    Judging by the first episode, V seems like a solid adaptation.
  3. As an adventure series bristling with ideas, it's V+. Or as we grade 'em on Earth: B+