V : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 3, 2009
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 165
  2. Negative: 34 out of 165

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Tony
    Dec 4, 2009
    2
    I just could not get into this show. First, the premiere seemed so forced and rushed...like they had to squeeze in the entire plot all in this episode. And the main alien lady's constant "perfection" demeanor just gets very annoying after a while. Overall, it seems all of the acting is bad. After the second episode...I just couldn't take anymore, I wanted to because this seems I just could not get into this show. First, the premiere seemed so forced and rushed...like they had to squeeze in the entire plot all in this episode. And the main alien lady's constant "perfection" demeanor just gets very annoying after a while. Overall, it seems all of the acting is bad. After the second episode...I just couldn't take anymore, I wanted to because this seems like a cool show...but it just isn't. Expand
  2. SidR
    Nov 11, 2009
    3
    Here we go again. Nothing original at all. The parables aren't even done in a clever and subtle manner. Boring, token stock characters. What's that you say? Let's make the aliens masquerading as humans more menacing and mysterious by making them monotonous and lacking emotion? Wow, haven't seen that done yet! And last, but not least: yet another awful actor portraying Here we go again. Nothing original at all. The parables aren't even done in a clever and subtle manner. Boring, token stock characters. What's that you say? Let's make the aliens masquerading as humans more menacing and mysterious by making them monotonous and lacking emotion? Wow, haven't seen that done yet! And last, but not least: yet another awful actor portraying yet another angst-ridden teen whose dad is not in his life. Just another example of TV and movies these days "rebooting" something from the past and slapping modern special FX on it, rather than genuinely attempting to come up with something creative. Skip it. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2011
    2
    this show features a lot of claustrophobic cgi-caged greenroom-filmed scenes. doesn't even try to get a match to the 1984 mini series original props. the artwork is quite decent, which may be necessary not to get in the viewer's face too much. actors faces are actually hd compatible. writing and plot line are unpleasantly bad. filming has a more conservative approach.
  4. Jun 30, 2012
    0
    Just saw this show for the first time, but if I'd seen it when it premiered, I could have predicted it's cancellation. Two words - Premature Sitcomulation. Blew it's load on in the pilot. If the show would have had better writers, they could have stretched the pilot itself into the whole first season, or at least into more than one show. No mystery left after pilot, I was done and not evenJust saw this show for the first time, but if I'd seen it when it premiered, I could have predicted it's cancellation. Two words - Premature Sitcomulation. Blew it's load on in the pilot. If the show would have had better writers, they could have stretched the pilot itself into the whole first season, or at least into more than one show. No mystery left after pilot, I was done and not even satisfied enough for a smoke. Expand
  5. NerijusD
    Nov 7, 2009
    1
    Incredibly bad. One of the worst pilots I've seen in my life. The acting is especially disgusting!
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    0
    Well, we know how it ended and we know this...whoever was behind letting the 'brain trust' of Rosenbaum, Peters, Hall, Simoneau and Pearlman should be completely out of a job. Because everything from the moment the series started to how it was ended showed how stupid and ridiculous the idea of Sci-Fi(of Syfy as it's creators prefer) is going in the world. This series gave the original aWell, we know how it ended and we know this...whoever was behind letting the 'brain trust' of Rosenbaum, Peters, Hall, Simoneau and Pearlman should be completely out of a job. Because everything from the moment the series started to how it was ended showed how stupid and ridiculous the idea of Sci-Fi(of Syfy as it's creators prefer) is going in the world. This series gave the original a bad name(and that one was a god AWFUL mess of bad writing) the only saving grace I can see is Morena Baccarin as Anna, she can show a convincing bad guy, which-again-is missing in the world of 'SyFy' these days. Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2013
    0
    Reptilians concealing themselves as humans...Okay hold there for a moment......This is the point where you need to stop thinking about watching this show. These cheap movies are not science fiction! Seriously it might have been acceptable in the 1980's (It was cheesy even back then), but nowadays I can not take it. Reptilians? Seriously? The dumbest of all conspiracy theories. LizardReptilians concealing themselves as humans...Okay hold there for a moment......This is the point where you need to stop thinking about watching this show. These cheap movies are not science fiction! Seriously it might have been acceptable in the 1980's (It was cheesy even back then), but nowadays I can not take it. Reptilians? Seriously? The dumbest of all conspiracy theories. Lizard people build a spaceship that can travel to earth, and when they arrive they "dress up" as humans, and they start their manipulations to achieve some dump and overdone takeover scenario. The acting is bad. CGI is cheap (which would not be a problem if the story would be interesting....IF....). Ohhh please you there at syfy channel, ABC and so on... do not consider yourselves makers of SCIENCE FICTION!!! Expand
  8. Eric
    Nov 6, 2009
    3
    Pilot moved WAY too fast. Everything was too predictable. I was really looking forward to this and was very disappointed. Will probably give it a few more episodes to see if the producers can salvage the badly written plot & dialogues.
  9. PhilippR
    Nov 23, 2009
    3
    predictable and booring
  10. EC
    Nov 3, 2009
    1
    Are you kidding me? This was a snooze-fest! The acting was poor, the writing was boring, and the plot is way-too-predictable. This was the dumbest thing I have seen on TV.
  11. SA
    Nov 4, 2009
    0
    Terrible show. Flimsy storyline, badly acted, such a flimsy representation of the brilliant original. Very disappointing.
  12. KarlL
    Nov 7, 2009
    2
    Blows it's load in the first few minutes. No suspense. Boring boring boring.
  13. JamesM
    Nov 8, 2009
    3
    Extremely watered-down remake of a classic series. Rushed the first mini-series' plot points into 40 minutes. No one is very into their roles. Total wash.
  14. CG
    Nov 29, 2009
    3
    Lazy writing: - Too much exposition. - Characters are unbelievably stupid. - Dialog is not believable Don't like the direction they are taking: - Not enough mystery, doesn't really make you think or wonder.... it is what it is - paper thin.
  15. Mar 25, 2011
    3
    I'm really dis-appointed by this show. I love Morena Baccarin and she is wonderful as the arch baddie but the rest of the show is a real let down. Science Fiction has to be well written and internally consistent if it's to engage and hold an audience but V just comes across as (yet another) TV series written by non-sci fi writers who don't have a grasp of the genre.
  16. RobertB.
    Nov 4, 2009
    2
    This was really bad. They had taken none of the good parts from the old series. This is just standard "in-the-box" crap.
  17. WendellM.
    Nov 4, 2009
    3
    I'll give any show 15 minutes to wow me. I gave this one 30 and pfft nothing. There was little emotion and no drama in the acting. Slick looks can't carry this one.
  18. BobN
    Nov 4, 2009
    2
    I never saw the original, so if it is simply a remake I am wrong. If it is a re-imagination, then I imagine a bunch of producers, writers, etc., sitting in a room and talking about how much they love Obama. I imagine them talking about how nuts these "Tea-Baggers" are, what with their crazy distrust of a benevolent leader. I then imagine them saying, hey, we have a ratings potential here, I never saw the original, so if it is simply a remake I am wrong. If it is a re-imagination, then I imagine a bunch of producers, writers, etc., sitting in a room and talking about how much they love Obama. I imagine them talking about how nuts these "Tea-Baggers" are, what with their crazy distrust of a benevolent leader. I then imagine them saying, hey, we have a ratings potential here, it seems the "tea-baggers" are becoming a larger faction than we thought...what if...we reinterpret a show to cater to their ill-educated desire to take down Obama? Wouldn't that be special. But hey, we cannot make the political points subtle, no, they are far too stupid to pick up on anything intelligent, complex. I then imagine them laughing, thinking how brilliant they are, not thinking they are simply mocking how out of touch they have become. Not realising that if they wanted to get huge ratings, all they had to do was tap into the HUGE anti-government movement taking place right now, both from the left and the right. This is all my mental machinations, probably wrong, but hey, I found V a laughing stock. I also found it disrespectful. One more drop in the bucket...only problem is...the bucket may soon overflow. Expand
  19. Eliasc
    Dec 9, 2009
    3
    I was never a fan of the original series and I have only watched the pilot episode of this one. As in the original series, I could not suspend my disbelief that a reptilian species would use a human-like outer shell to deceive human beings. Stating that, I must write that the original series was a bit more believable in this deception than in this re-incarnation. As I watched the I was never a fan of the original series and I have only watched the pilot episode of this one. As in the original series, I could not suspend my disbelief that a reptilian species would use a human-like outer shell to deceive human beings. Stating that, I must write that the original series was a bit more believable in this deception than in this re-incarnation. As I watched the 'relationship' between Ryan Nichols (the secret reptile) and Valerie Stevens (the human) unfold, I couldn't help asking myself: Just how do they 'do it'? You know, 'do it'! My suspension of disbelief was insurmountable. Now maybe if they had Anna do a mouse swallowing scene. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 80
    No gold mine of symbolism is worth a damn when the show itself doesn’t have good old storytelling mojo behind it. And, based on the premiere, V has enough narrative drive and character definition to pull viewers into the creepy suspense of its dystopian world.
  2. 75
    Judging by the first episode, V seems like a solid adaptation.
  3. As an adventure series bristling with ideas, it's V+. Or as we grade 'em on Earth: B+