V : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 3, 2009
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 164
  2. Negative: 34 out of 164

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Tony
    Dec 4, 2009
    2
    I just could not get into this show. First, the premiere seemed so forced and rushed...like they had to squeeze in the entire plot all in this episode. And the main alien lady's constant "perfection" demeanor just gets very annoying after a while. Overall, it seems all of the acting is bad. After the second episode...I just couldn't take anymore, I wanted to because this seems I just could not get into this show. First, the premiere seemed so forced and rushed...like they had to squeeze in the entire plot all in this episode. And the main alien lady's constant "perfection" demeanor just gets very annoying after a while. Overall, it seems all of the acting is bad. After the second episode...I just couldn't take anymore, I wanted to because this seems like a cool show...but it just isn't. Expand
  2. SidR
    Nov 11, 2009
    3
    Here we go again. Nothing original at all. The parables aren't even done in a clever and subtle manner. Boring, token stock characters. What's that you say? Let's make the aliens masquerading as humans more menacing and mysterious by making them monotonous and lacking emotion? Wow, haven't seen that done yet! And last, but not least: yet another awful actor portraying Here we go again. Nothing original at all. The parables aren't even done in a clever and subtle manner. Boring, token stock characters. What's that you say? Let's make the aliens masquerading as humans more menacing and mysterious by making them monotonous and lacking emotion? Wow, haven't seen that done yet! And last, but not least: yet another awful actor portraying yet another angst-ridden teen whose dad is not in his life. Just another example of TV and movies these days "rebooting" something from the past and slapping modern special FX on it, rather than genuinely attempting to come up with something creative. Skip it. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2011
    2
    this show features a lot of claustrophobic cgi-caged greenroom-filmed scenes. doesn't even try to get a match to the 1984 mini series original props. the artwork is quite decent, which may be necessary not to get in the viewer's face too much. actors faces are actually hd compatible. writing and plot line are unpleasantly bad. filming has a more conservative approach.
  4. Jun 30, 2012
    0
    Just saw this show for the first time, but if I'd seen it when it premiered, I could have predicted it's cancellation. Two words - Premature Sitcomulation. Blew it's load on in the pilot. If the show would have had better writers, they could have stretched the pilot itself into the whole first season, or at least into more than one show. No mystery left after pilot, I was done and not evenJust saw this show for the first time, but if I'd seen it when it premiered, I could have predicted it's cancellation. Two words - Premature Sitcomulation. Blew it's load on in the pilot. If the show would have had better writers, they could have stretched the pilot itself into the whole first season, or at least into more than one show. No mystery left after pilot, I was done and not even satisfied enough for a smoke. Expand
  5. NerijusD
    Nov 7, 2009
    1
    Incredibly bad. One of the worst pilots I've seen in my life. The acting is especially disgusting!
  6. Aug 12, 2010
    6
    I never saw the original of V, being born in 1983 when it was released, but I found V Season 1 to be quite compelling viewing. It had cringe worthy 'so bad, it's good' moments, but on the whole I found myself looking forward to sitting down to watch it every week. Many questions were left unanswered, such as:
    - Where do the visitors come from?
    - What do they want? Surely with the advanced
    I never saw the original of V, being born in 1983 when it was released, but I found V Season 1 to be quite compelling viewing. It had cringe worthy 'so bad, it's good' moments, but on the whole I found myself looking forward to sitting down to watch it every week. Many questions were left unanswered, such as:
    - Where do the visitors come from?
    - What do they want? Surely with the advanced technology they have, they could want nothing from us.
    - Why do they call each other Visitors?

    If the writers were planning a second season all along then perhaps these questions will be answered later on.
    Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2010
    5
    It is a shame that flashforward was canceled instead of this show. The characters are extremely fake, acting mediocre and the story is mindless. It had a lot of potential to be good but its only gotten worse. Don't waste your time on this one.
  8. Feb 23, 2011
    5
    It really cannot move more slowly than this and still stay on TV. I am really disappointed as I had been looking forward to a great sci-fi show. Good acting which is wasted on a so-so script.
  9. Mar 9, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can see the political reference, i still don't care. Shows are supposed to let us escape from reality. Even though V managed to accomplish to a small degree that, i still find it's dialogue uninteresting, it's twists unsurprising and unmoving and find that some scenes are even irrelevant. The only few scenes in the entire show that i can remember is Anna's msg when they first arrived and her screaming at the death of her children as well as her trying to stem her tears when she ordered to kill the survivors.
    i am more interested in the alien than the humans
    Expand
  10. Nov 2, 2011
    0
    Well, we know how it ended and we know this...whoever was behind letting the 'brain trust' of Rosenbaum, Peters, Hall, Simoneau and Pearlman should be completely out of a job. Because everything from the moment the series started to how it was ended showed how stupid and ridiculous the idea of Sci-Fi(of Syfy as it's creators prefer) is going in the world. This series gave the original aWell, we know how it ended and we know this...whoever was behind letting the 'brain trust' of Rosenbaum, Peters, Hall, Simoneau and Pearlman should be completely out of a job. Because everything from the moment the series started to how it was ended showed how stupid and ridiculous the idea of Sci-Fi(of Syfy as it's creators prefer) is going in the world. This series gave the original a bad name(and that one was a god AWFUL mess of bad writing) the only saving grace I can see is Morena Baccarin as Anna, she can show a convincing bad guy, which-again-is missing in the world of 'SyFy' these days. Expand
  11. Feb 18, 2013
    0
    Reptilians concealing themselves as humans...Okay hold there for a moment......This is the point where you need to stop thinking about watching this show. These cheap movies are not science fiction! Seriously it might have been acceptable in the 1980's (It was cheesy even back then), but nowadays I can not take it. Reptilians? Seriously? The dumbest of all conspiracy theories. LizardReptilians concealing themselves as humans...Okay hold there for a moment......This is the point where you need to stop thinking about watching this show. These cheap movies are not science fiction! Seriously it might have been acceptable in the 1980's (It was cheesy even back then), but nowadays I can not take it. Reptilians? Seriously? The dumbest of all conspiracy theories. Lizard people build a spaceship that can travel to earth, and when they arrive they "dress up" as humans, and they start their manipulations to achieve some dump and overdone takeover scenario. The acting is bad. CGI is cheap (which would not be a problem if the story would be interesting....IF....). Ohhh please you there at syfy channel, ABC and so on... do not consider yourselves makers of SCIENCE FICTION!!! Expand
  12. Sari
    Nov 4, 2009
    7
    Although it is not bad by any means, I can only call it faintly promising at best. I loved the original miniseries and the final battle (the weekly series I choose to ignore) and even though I know this is or at least is supposed to be an independent homage to it, it's not different or similar enough to be either way. Also, it wasn't as tightly written as it should have been and Although it is not bad by any means, I can only call it faintly promising at best. I loved the original miniseries and the final battle (the weekly series I choose to ignore) and even though I know this is or at least is supposed to be an independent homage to it, it's not different or similar enough to be either way. Also, it wasn't as tightly written as it should have been and didn't pack the same punch as the original first episode. Expand
  13. JeffK.
    Nov 4, 2009
    6
    The series certainly has potential. It has a strong cast and high production quality, but after watching the pilot I think the script writing is kind of weak. Maybe they just tried to cram too much in too quickly, because I would have preferred that they develop things more more thoroughly, which would have taken longer. I'll give it a few more weeks, but if it doesn't get any The series certainly has potential. It has a strong cast and high production quality, but after watching the pilot I think the script writing is kind of weak. Maybe they just tried to cram too much in too quickly, because I would have preferred that they develop things more more thoroughly, which would have taken longer. I'll give it a few more weeks, but if it doesn't get any better I probably won't continue watching it. Expand
  14. stevep
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    Just seen the pilot ....it was great.
  15. PeterC
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    Great pilot!
  16. JayN.
    Nov 3, 2009
    4
    A Disneyfied version of an 80's classic. Although the original had its corny moments, it had compelling character development. The new version is a watered-down, Cliff Notes, 4400 meets Lost meets New BSG pick a generic 2000's TV drama, and fill in the blank... The 1st 80's Mini series had more interesting characters, better special effects, and prob. had a bigger budget A Disneyfied version of an 80's classic. Although the original had its corny moments, it had compelling character development. The new version is a watered-down, Cliff Notes, 4400 meets Lost meets New BSG pick a generic 2000's TV drama, and fill in the blank... The 1st 80's Mini series had more interesting characters, better special effects, and prob. had a bigger budget (in 80's dollars). I could care less about anyone on the new show. Expand
  17. Eric
    Nov 6, 2009
    3
    Pilot moved WAY too fast. Everything was too predictable. I was really looking forward to this and was very disappointed. Will probably give it a few more episodes to see if the producers can salvage the badly written plot & dialogues.
  18. RyanM.
    Nov 7, 2009
    5
    Was really anticipating the remake since I grew up with and loved the original. And though the original had a cheesy 80's quality to it, the development of the characters, story, and suspense was much better than this remake. Revealed too much in the 1st episode, leaving little surprise or suspense. Horrible acting and a confusing plot that tries to explain more of the back story. So Was really anticipating the remake since I grew up with and loved the original. And though the original had a cheesy 80's quality to it, the development of the characters, story, and suspense was much better than this remake. Revealed too much in the 1st episode, leaving little surprise or suspense. Horrible acting and a confusing plot that tries to explain more of the back story. So far very disappointing. Expand
  19. SomeBody
    Nov 8, 2009
    5
    Good production values, reasonable acting, scattershot focus, zero thinking on the part of the viewer, forced pacing. Still better than many shows, but not good enough.
  20. NinaJ.
    Nov 9, 2009
    5
    While the plot of V seems to have all the necessary ingredients to make for a good sci fi drama, the delivery in the pilot was far too rushed. This first episode should have been four, because then maybe it could give adequate development to all of the directions that the pilot took. My hope is that after this initial out-pouring, the show will calm down and become a good sci fi drama. My While the plot of V seems to have all the necessary ingredients to make for a good sci fi drama, the delivery in the pilot was far too rushed. This first episode should have been four, because then maybe it could give adequate development to all of the directions that the pilot took. My hope is that after this initial out-pouring, the show will calm down and become a good sci fi drama. My fear is that it will stay on the action-suspense kick that the series has started with. Until I see where the show heads, I have to give a fence-sitting 5. Expand
  21. JamesC
    Dec 11, 2009
    5
    As remakes go, this is mediocre at best. Look at Battlestar Glactica, now that had some teeth and much much better writing. This is an example of what a network with a history of bad choices comes up with when the wrong people sit in charge of the decision making process. How on earth ABC could have cancelled Defying Gravity which at least had a sophisticated edge to it while investing in As remakes go, this is mediocre at best. Look at Battlestar Glactica, now that had some teeth and much much better writing. This is an example of what a network with a history of bad choices comes up with when the wrong people sit in charge of the decision making process. How on earth ABC could have cancelled Defying Gravity which at least had a sophisticated edge to it while investing in this, is yet another example of how some exec's should have never risen to their positions. Ridiculous, I know teenagers who could come up with better shows and better ways to market them. Don't worry, when the ratings don't make the heavens part, you'll be left with one season and a handful of whining fans. Next, Expand
  22. Paul
    Nov 12, 2009
    7
    Decent start. Doesn't suffer from the problem the first show had. That is, the first was like a lot of sci-fi - a good idea sunk by a low budget. This one, obviously, has the production values. The original also suffered from another sci-fi killer: a lack of vision for what direction there were going. Hopefully, these writers have some vision and don't do the standard X-Files Decent start. Doesn't suffer from the problem the first show had. That is, the first was like a lot of sci-fi - a good idea sunk by a low budget. This one, obviously, has the production values. The original also suffered from another sci-fi killer: a lack of vision for what direction there were going. Hopefully, these writers have some vision and don't do the standard X-Files cheat of questions without answers simply because the writers were too lazy to come up with some answers. I.E... "The Lost Syndrome". However, they better get off to a good start, since the third problem that kills even good sci-fi is that, if you spend the money to make it look good, it becomes so expensive that the networks will drop it if it doesn't get decent ratings early. Expand
  23. JohnE
    Nov 13, 2009
    7
    Was a big fan of the original series, not sure if that was cause I was 11 at the time however. Re-watching it was nostalgic to say the least. I think the pilot started out well but episode 2 wasn't great. Couple of things annoy me however. One of the aliens is "in love" with a human. Not very realistic, I don't find myself lusting after iguanas, so I see the reverse as highly Was a big fan of the original series, not sure if that was cause I was 11 at the time however. Re-watching it was nostalgic to say the least. I think the pilot started out well but episode 2 wasn't great. Couple of things annoy me however. One of the aliens is "in love" with a human. Not very realistic, I don't find myself lusting after iguanas, so I see the reverse as highly implausible. In the original series the "star child" 1/2 human 1/2 alien was the result of an experiment. The other point is the reference to the V's for visitors. V is supposed to be for Victory. Graffiti of V in the original was to vandalize the aliens propaganda posters. Now it's for spreading the message of the V's . Minor point I know but it irritates me. Anyway I'll give it a chance, it needs to pick up though. Expand
  24. ArianoA
    Nov 19, 2009
    4
    This show is not that entertaining. It just doesn't flow. Too much dead air between lines. It needs a better script.
  25. PhilippR
    Nov 23, 2009
    3
    predictable and booring
  26. EC
    Nov 3, 2009
    1
    Are you kidding me? This was a snooze-fest! The acting was poor, the writing was boring, and the plot is way-too-predictable. This was the dumbest thing I have seen on TV.
  27. EliR.
    Nov 3, 2009
    5
    It does involve aliens and space capsules, so there's that. But it's obvious and plodding.
  28. SA
    Nov 4, 2009
    0
    Terrible show. Flimsy storyline, badly acted, such a flimsy representation of the brilliant original. Very disappointing.
  29. JamesS
    Nov 6, 2009
    7
    The first episode shows promise for the series, although, as usual, the only characters I can really get into are the villains. I hope that V 2009 has a few surprises for those who have watched the 1983 V more than once. How about a couple of other alien races that don't look like us?
  30. DanielB
    Nov 6, 2009
    6
    Interesting -- nice that they differentiate themselves from the original in the first episode. But really lame use of coincidence, and the characters are one-dimensional racial stereotypes. Will likely watch it, but it seems to want to be something that it isn't capable of without a decent script.
  31. ChrisC
    Nov 6, 2009
    6
    Not a bad show, but a little predictable and obvious, and filled with hacky twists.
  32. KarlL
    Nov 7, 2009
    2
    Blows it's load in the first few minutes. No suspense. Boring boring boring.
  33. JamesM
    Nov 8, 2009
    3
    Extremely watered-down remake of a classic series. Rushed the first mini-series' plot points into 40 minutes. No one is very into their roles. Total wash.
  34. davey
    Nov 13, 2009
    5
    Nice first 10 minutes or so, then downhill all the way. SF and fantasy have more need to make sense than other genres, and this is V's biggest failing. Do invaders that have gigantic spaceships and invincible weapons really have to form grubby little cells in order to sabotage economies and cause political chaos? Why? Unlike Body Snatchers for example, there is no reason for the main Nice first 10 minutes or so, then downhill all the way. SF and fantasy have more need to make sense than other genres, and this is V's biggest failing. Do invaders that have gigantic spaceships and invincible weapons really have to form grubby little cells in order to sabotage economies and cause political chaos? Why? Unlike Body Snatchers for example, there is no reason for the main conflict to exist. Aside from that the characters and their relationships turn to the corniest of disaster movie cliches for the plot -- the misled kid, the conflicted FBI agents, the marital stresses, none of which have much to do with the central event. So far I couldn't care less what happens to any of these cardboard characters. I'll watch it a few more times in hopes things will pick up, but so far it's a big disappointment. This might have been groundbreaking in the 80s, but since then we've seen much better tv scifi. Too bad. Expand
  35. CG
    Nov 29, 2009
    3
    Lazy writing: - Too much exposition. - Characters are unbelievably stupid. - Dialog is not believable Don't like the direction they are taking: - Not enough mystery, doesn't really make you think or wonder.... it is what it is - paper thin.
  36. Oct 18, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sigh, another Sci-Fi series that was cancelled prematurely just as it was starting to get good. The first season and first half of the second season where interesting but the plot was kind of predictable, at least if you had watched the original V series in the 80s, if not maybe it might have had a bit more shock value. I think it needed a great lead-in miniseries like in 1984's V: The Final Battle to get people more hooked from the start. This show touched on current day politics such as the dangers of blind devotion to a political leader: Anna, the Leader of the V's hair is modeled after Obama's hair and the first episode of the re-images series aired on the one-year anniversary of Obama's election, Anna wants to give "Universal Healthcare" to the world, etc.. It also touches on contemporary conspiracy theories about Flu Vaccinations when the V's attempt to kill off humanity by putting poison into the flu vaccines Anna also wants to censor the news about the Vs. I believe the show just puts these things in to make you think however, I didn't get the impression that it was a direct criticism of Obama or any particular politician in particular, but rather a general warning about putting too much trust into any politician or news cast you watch. I would give the first 1 1/2 seasons 7 because, like I said the plot was kind of predictable which would make me give it a 6, but I liked the subtle commentary the show has on current politics so it gets an extra point. The second half of the second season was however, less predictable and more daring. I suspect if ABC did not cancel it that season 3 would have been the best one yet. I am rating this with the knowledge that ABC cancelled the show mid-season 10/13 episodes and did not allow its producers to create an episode to resolve what seemed to be a season cliff-hanger at the end. What a bunch of jerks the television network was to do that, at least when Caprica, Star Trek Enterprise, etc., were cancelled they were allowed to have a farewell episode to tie up loose ends. So we'll never know how the humans got out of that mess, unless we just assume Anna won and humanity was doomed... But I'm giving it an 8 because the second half of the second season was at least that, possibly even a 9. And not its time to go re-watch the original series again so I can rate that one too... Expand
  37. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    When I saw the first episode on TV I thought it was a movie. It's a great series (of the best and seen). Too bad they canceled the third season.
  38. Jul 11, 2014
    6
    nothing Special, ist a solid sci fi Show. with the blond from lost the series got a strong lead character
  39. ChristianC.
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    I was very skeptical being a "devoted" fan of the original. Pace was way to fast but left me hanging on the edge of my seat wanting more. ABC has a winner and V is back!
  40. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Amazing show. Compared to recent crap that has come out. I want this back! The computer animation is spot on (compared to new shows like Falling Skies), the acting is way beter overall. Characters like Morena Baccarin, and Morris Chestnut make it all worth the watch (no body is terrible like on a Sci Fi show, The Event, or Falling Skies). Another great part about this series is that theAmazing show. Compared to recent crap that has come out. I want this back! The computer animation is spot on (compared to new shows like Falling Skies), the acting is way beter overall. Characters like Morena Baccarin, and Morris Chestnut make it all worth the watch (no body is terrible like on a Sci Fi show, The Event, or Falling Skies). Another great part about this series is that the directing is very up to date with filming and executing suspense scenes. It get's very suspenseful when characters break in to the ship.

    The best part about the V script is it is one of the most logical sci-fi scripts ever. It makes the most sense. If an Alien race wanted to destroy us, the best way would to trick us by healing and suck us in. Not wage war.

    It's sad that this failed, and it failed for one reason. It was a remake. And an older audience obviously attacked this, like they would any series for not being perfectly like the original. This is one of the best shows in the last 5 years. It blows away any Sci Fi show and is better than a lot of crappy sci-fi movies.
    Expand
  41. Oct 14, 2010
    8
    I came across this show only a few weeks ago, looking for something to keep me company on planes and trains and have run through the first season since then. I remembered the original series, but none of the plot lines, just the general premise. In all honesty, I might not have bothered had it not been for Elisabeth Mitchell in the cast, by far my most favorite Lost actress. I figured thisI came across this show only a few weeks ago, looking for something to keep me company on planes and trains and have run through the first season since then. I remembered the original series, but none of the plot lines, just the general premise. In all honesty, I might not have bothered had it not been for Elisabeth Mitchell in the cast, by far my most favorite Lost actress. I figured this couldn't be bad.

    And you know what, it isn't. Not at all in fact, although it's not likely to convince anyone that's not at least a bit into sci-fi already. An intrinsic and permanent impediment to the genre, seemingly. Yes, the pilot advanced quickly and along somewhat predictable tracks, but no that wasn't a bad thing. The makers would not have pulled off a 3 episode span covering only the arrival of the visitors. It needed to move along because we all knew where the story needed be, before it could begin. I agree that not all performances may have been up to par, but enough of them were. The characters developed well and the lesser performances turned out the be for characters that ended up being killed off. Always a good sign if a show dares to do that. Anyone that's made it to the season finale will admit that the performances by then were fine. I think some of the cast needed to come to terms with virtual sets, shot against blue or green-screen. That obstacle should be out of the way for S2.

    But the show does need to watch out for sloppiness in the renditions of the CG sets when overlaying the live action on to them. We don't watch CRT TVs anymore, and CGI oddities are visible in all their definition. Lighting in the environment doesn't always match the character's lighting conditions when walking through hallways or corridors. Shadows are forgotten, differences in saturation levels, over-cropped live footage makes arms and legs go very narrow against their backdrop, etc.. . This doesn't kill the show but it does kill off the illusion, and that's a shame. I hope the rendering department has sharpened their tools for season two and that they have also come up with somewhat more complexity in the virtual sets, because the lack of set detail (e.g. on board the ships) makes it extra hard on the actors if their face is the only thing carrying the shot.

    So would I recommend it? Yes
    Do I look forward to the next season? Sure, bring it on!
    Expand
  42. Mar 25, 2011
    3
    I'm really dis-appointed by this show. I love Morena Baccarin and she is wonderful as the arch baddie but the rest of the show is a real let down. Science Fiction has to be well written and internally consistent if it's to engage and hold an audience but V just comes across as (yet another) TV series written by non-sci fi writers who don't have a grasp of the genre.
  43. DonutShirley
    Nov 6, 2009
    7
    It was alright. things seem to be moving too fast, making the story too difficult to follow sometimes. it seems that they're trying to get through the intro and to the good stuff, but leaves viewers confused in it's wake.
  44. NoelL
    Nov 8, 2009
    7
    We sure miss Diana's character but let's give it some time.
  45. JockS
    Nov 8, 2009
    8
    Brill...can't wait to see their real faces!
  46. RobertB.
    Nov 4, 2009
    2
    This was really bad. They had taken none of the good parts from the old series. This is just standard "in-the-box" crap.
  47. WendellM.
    Nov 4, 2009
    3
    I'll give any show 15 minutes to wow me. I gave this one 30 and pfft nothing. There was little emotion and no drama in the acting. Slick looks can't carry this one.
  48. BobN
    Nov 4, 2009
    2
    I never saw the original, so if it is simply a remake I am wrong. If it is a re-imagination, then I imagine a bunch of producers, writers, etc., sitting in a room and talking about how much they love Obama. I imagine them talking about how nuts these "Tea-Baggers" are, what with their crazy distrust of a benevolent leader. I then imagine them saying, hey, we have a ratings potential here, I never saw the original, so if it is simply a remake I am wrong. If it is a re-imagination, then I imagine a bunch of producers, writers, etc., sitting in a room and talking about how much they love Obama. I imagine them talking about how nuts these "Tea-Baggers" are, what with their crazy distrust of a benevolent leader. I then imagine them saying, hey, we have a ratings potential here, it seems the "tea-baggers" are becoming a larger faction than we thought...what if...we reinterpret a show to cater to their ill-educated desire to take down Obama? Wouldn't that be special. But hey, we cannot make the political points subtle, no, they are far too stupid to pick up on anything intelligent, complex. I then imagine them laughing, thinking how brilliant they are, not thinking they are simply mocking how out of touch they have become. Not realising that if they wanted to get huge ratings, all they had to do was tap into the HUGE anti-government movement taking place right now, both from the left and the right. This is all my mental machinations, probably wrong, but hey, I found V a laughing stock. I also found it disrespectful. One more drop in the bucket...only problem is...the bucket may soon overflow. Expand
  49. IanD
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    I think people forget how campy the original was. This new premier was a great hour of tv.
  50. SebashtinV
    Nov 8, 2009
    8
    As far as a pilot episode is concerned V started out great. The pace could have been taken down a notch or 2, but this is 2009, not 1983, and in order to catch anyone's attention in this day and age a fast pace is what is expected and necessary. For the die hard fans of the original version like myself there are many things that I miss including the orange outfits and one of the best As far as a pilot episode is concerned V started out great. The pace could have been taken down a notch or 2, but this is 2009, not 1983, and in order to catch anyone's attention in this day and age a fast pace is what is expected and necessary. For the die hard fans of the original version like myself there are many things that I miss including the orange outfits and one of the best television villains of all time, Diana, but things change. For the critics giving it a "0" just ignore them. They are obviously trapped in the early 80's along with their mullets and televisions with the rabbit ears on top. V deserves a chance!!! Watch it! Expand
  51. RobH
    Nov 29, 2009
    8
    After a pilot which was a bit rushed this has settled down into an entertaining story with a strong arc and characters that are growing with each week. Much stronger than most sci-fi on at the moment, hoping this is my replacement for Battlestar with some good reflections on modern life.
  52. JohnK.
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    Compelling storytelling, strong social commentary and a biting criticism of the current state of affairs - great stuff!!
  53. fredrikt
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I was a big big fan of the original series and only just heard of this. I will definitely be watching again next week!
  54. JoeS
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    If they tie in or bring some of the old characters in like Diana would be a nice flavor which gets my ten, she is an awesome actress.
  55. TravisS
    Nov 7, 2009
    9
    As a huge fan of the original, I enjoyed the pilot episode very much. It does seem like they have revealed most of the mysteries early on in the series, but if we can expect some new revelations, I'm sure that I will enjoy the rest of the show as much as I enjoyed the first episode. Overall, the first episode of V was exciting, revealing, and disturbing. This is the perfect story As a huge fan of the original, I enjoyed the pilot episode very much. It does seem like they have revealed most of the mysteries early on in the series, but if we can expect some new revelations, I'm sure that I will enjoy the rest of the show as much as I enjoyed the first episode. Overall, the first episode of V was exciting, revealing, and disturbing. This is the perfect story told at the perfect time. Collapse
  56. JsonF
    Nov 7, 2009
    8
    It is just beyond obvious why some people's hostility towards this show is so great. They are afraid of how it exposes them and their "devoted" leader of US into just a mass delusion of cultish movement. The show had an excellent start. I see some short comings in introducing some parts of plot coherently though. Actings are above average.
  57. SteF.
    Nov 8, 2009
    8
    I wouldn't say it was better or worse than the original series. Both have there moments of cheeziness. But I am a fan and i'll keep watching. The reviewers that say this sucks compared to the old series can go back and live in the 80's morons...goodbye.
  58. John
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    The first episode was way too rushed, but it was captivating. I don't agree with people saying the acting was bad. It wasn't. And James R. I can't believe you sad the effects were sub par...the show has the best TV effects Ive seen in a long time. I'll keep watching because it looks good, but it did give away too much in the first episode.
  59. Eliasc
    Dec 9, 2009
    3
    I was never a fan of the original series and I have only watched the pilot episode of this one. As in the original series, I could not suspend my disbelief that a reptilian species would use a human-like outer shell to deceive human beings. Stating that, I must write that the original series was a bit more believable in this deception than in this re-incarnation. As I watched the I was never a fan of the original series and I have only watched the pilot episode of this one. As in the original series, I could not suspend my disbelief that a reptilian species would use a human-like outer shell to deceive human beings. Stating that, I must write that the original series was a bit more believable in this deception than in this re-incarnation. As I watched the 'relationship' between Ryan Nichols (the secret reptile) and Valerie Stevens (the human) unfold, I couldn't help asking myself: Just how do they 'do it'? You know, 'do it'! My suspension of disbelief was insurmountable. Now maybe if they had Anna do a mouse swallowing scene. Expand
  60. LenaA
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    The show looks promising. Very good effects, good acting and action. I like that the episode didn't drag but it kept my interest the whole time
  61. M.Riley
    Nov 10, 2009
    9
    Interesting sci-fi remake that immediately establishes its own identity without betraying the original series. I can't wait to see more!
  62. JadeInTheATL
    Nov 3, 2009
    8
    After watching one of the episodes from the original 80's series on syfy last week I'm thinking "Did I really watch something this cheesy back in the day?" I think the update manages to leave most of the cheese behind and incorporate some contemporary resonance. From the subversion of the press, willing or unwilling, to the idea of a failing world in need of a savior, After watching one of the episodes from the original 80's series on syfy last week I'm thinking "Did I really watch something this cheesy back in the day?" I think the update manages to leave most of the cheese behind and incorporate some contemporary resonance. From the subversion of the press, willing or unwilling, to the idea of a failing world in need of a savior, there's some stuff to explore and discover about ourselves while we get up from the mat to kick alien butt like Rocky. That is, should ABC manage to stick to their guns. I look forward to seeing more, though the disintegration of Flashforward demonstrates that strong beginnings mean little on Television. I give it only an 8 because the in-your-face, let me spell it out for you writing so prevalent in Network fare was glaring even in the first installment. Little subtlety here. Reference Torchwood: Children of Earth for a similar story that manages not to insult your intelligence by belaboring every point. So, though it could be better written, it delivers more than I expected. And besides, it's good to see a couple of Firefly alum so prominently displayed. Expand
  63. CMan
    Nov 7, 2009
    9
    Greatest TV show to be on in a while.
  64. SteveF
    Nov 8, 2009
    8
    I'll keep watching the series. I love the chick from 'Lost' and I've been a fan of the 80's series and watched it a few times.
  65. GeneR.
    Nov 8, 2009
    8
    Pilot had a strong start, but kind of fell apart in the last 10 minutes. Main characters accepted what should have been shocking information a little too eagerly and I feel that too much was given away in the first episode. Would have been better as a two or three part pilot, but engaging enough to keep an eye on to see if it gets better.
  66. DanH
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    Obviously not for the lesser intelligent. So, to everyone who doesn't get i..; when watching this show, replace their references of V with the word Government, and you've got a straight arrow of what's going on in the world today. Genius show. Also for the dummies, research the term "Project Bluebeam" and prepare to be blown away.
  67. ScottChapman
    Nov 25, 2009
    5
    It suffers from awful acting and directing. For example, a character proclaims "They didn't just get here! They've been here for years!", putting emphasis on "get" when he should have put it on "just". And who decided that Morena Baccarin's hair had to be so short? Fans of Serenity will remember how much more gorgeous she was with that long hair. Still, this show has enough It suffers from awful acting and directing. For example, a character proclaims "They didn't just get here! They've been here for years!", putting emphasis on "get" when he should have put it on "just". And who decided that Morena Baccarin's hair had to be so short? Fans of Serenity will remember how much more gorgeous she was with that long hair. Still, this show has enough to keep you interested. It's hard to resist anything about an alien invasion, and it's fun to spot the allegories of the past two presidential administrations. Expand
  68. Karen
    Nov 4, 2009
    4
    Sucktastic.
  69. toman
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    The show started very well. The acting, camera work and effects are good. The storyline is also good so far. The creaters managed to introduce the major elements of the story in the first episode. It was a to the point episode. This is important because many shows with twice the time slot do not achieve the same result.
  70. JamesR.
    Nov 5, 2009
    5
    I will probably watch part 2 only because Tuesday night prime time TV kinda sucks. So far, not so stellar acting. Everyone looks like they just walked out of the Gap clothing store. Sub par special effects.
  71. TerryW
    Nov 8, 2009
    5
    The new incarnation of V lives up to the semi poor 80
  72. CS
    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    Didn't knock my socks off. The "secret agenda" storyline is boring and highly unoriginal. It just rehashes the old, tired alien conspiracy crackpot crap which has been around for ages. The characters are vapid and obnoxious, and the plot holes are gaping and frustrating. It gets a 5 only because I will give it a few episodes to see if post-pilot episodes improve. It happens now and then.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 80
    No gold mine of symbolism is worth a damn when the show itself doesn’t have good old storytelling mojo behind it. And, based on the premiere, V has enough narrative drive and character definition to pull viewers into the creepy suspense of its dystopian world.
  2. 75
    Judging by the first episode, V seems like a solid adaptation.
  3. As an adventure series bristling with ideas, it's V+. Or as we grade 'em on Earth: B+