• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 3, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2
V Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 1980s series about aliens who appear human and peaceful is remade as a split miniseries, with the second part airing sometime early next year.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 88
    The pilot for this drama is good. I have a few quibbles with it--some of the character drama is a bit clunky--but overall, I found the first hour of the show to be solidly entertaining and suitably suspenseful.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    83
    As an adventure series bristling with ideas, it's V+. Or as we grade 'em on Earth: B+
  3. As the plot of V progresses, no doubt we will see the subtle strangulation of democracy by fascism--already the press has been corrupted--and that is a story that cannot be told often enough. Especially when it comes, like the V's, in such a fine, fun and attractive package.
  4. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    75
    Judging by the first episode, V seems like a solid adaptation.
  5. 63
    Terrific special effects (except for the giant supermodel in the sky), good action, good acting, and, if they let them, the Visitors could probably put on a helluva good runway show, too!
  6. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    50
    Indeed, if the show is to have the symbolic import that we expect from a science-fiction story, this is the only possible way to read V as a coherent text. The only problem with this analysis lies in its generous presupposition that the text is, in fact, coherent.
  7. Given the rather sophisticated allegorical treatments that TV audiences have been treated to in recent years courtesy of “Battlestar Galactica,” “The 4400” and the like, I find V’s first episode falling short, other than a fairly obvious allusion to Hitler Youth in the aliens’ outreach to teens.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 71
  2. Negative: 19 out of 71
  1. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Amazing show. Compared to recent crap that has come out. I want this back! The computer animation is spot on (compared to new shows like Falling Skies), the acting is way beter overall. Characters like Morena Baccarin, and Morris Chestnut make it all worth the watch (no body is terrible like on a Sci Fi show, The Event, or Falling Skies). Another great part about this series is that the directing is very up to date with filming and executing suspense scenes. It get's very suspenseful when characters break in to the ship.

    The best part about the V script is it is one of the most logical sci-fi scripts ever. It makes the most sense. If an Alien race wanted to destroy us, the best way would to trick us by healing and suck us in. Not wage war.

    It's sad that this failed, and it failed for one reason. It was a remake. And an older audience obviously attacked this, like they would any series for not being perfectly like the original. This is one of the best shows in the last 5 years. It blows away any Sci Fi show and is better than a lot of crappy sci-fi movies.
    Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    When I saw the first episode on TV I thought it was a movie. It's a great series (of the best and seen). Too bad they canceled the third season.
  3. Oct 14, 2010
    8
    I came across this show only a few weeks ago, looking for something to keep me company on planes and trains and have run through the first season since then. I remembered the original series, but none of the plot lines, just the general premise. In all honesty, I might not have bothered had it not been for Elisabeth Mitchell in the cast, by far my most favorite Lost actress. I figured this couldn't be bad.

    And you know what, it isn't. Not at all in fact, although it's not likely to convince anyone that's not at least a bit into sci-fi already. An intrinsic and permanent impediment to the genre, seemingly. Yes, the pilot advanced quickly and along somewhat predictable tracks, but no that wasn't a bad thing. The makers would not have pulled off a 3 episode span covering only the arrival of the visitors. It needed to move along because we all knew where the story needed be, before it could begin. I agree that not all performances may have been up to par, but enough of them were. The characters developed well and the lesser performances turned out the be for characters that ended up being killed off. Always a good sign if a show dares to do that. Anyone that's made it to the season finale will admit that the performances by then were fine. I think some of the cast needed to come to terms with virtual sets, shot against blue or green-screen. That obstacle should be out of the way for S2.

    But the show does need to watch out for sloppiness in the renditions of the CG sets when overlaying the live action on to them. We don't watch CRT TVs anymore, and CGI oddities are visible in all their definition. Lighting in the environment doesn't always match the character's lighting conditions when walking through hallways or corridors. Shadows are forgotten, differences in saturation levels, over-cropped live footage makes arms and legs go very narrow against their backdrop, etc.. . This doesn't kill the show but it does kill off the illusion, and that's a shame. I hope the rendering department has sharpened their tools for season two and that they have also come up with somewhat more complexity in the virtual sets, because the lack of set detail (e.g. on board the ships) makes it extra hard on the actors if their face is the only thing carrying the shot.

    So would I recommend it? Yes
    Do I look forward to the next season? Sure, bring it on!
    Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2010
    5
    It is a shame that flashforward was canceled instead of this show. The characters are extremely fake, acting mediocre and the story is mindless. It had a lot of potential to be good but its only gotten worse. Don't waste your time on this one. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    5
    It really cannot move more slowly than this and still stay on TV. I am really disappointed as I had been looking forward to a great sci-fi show. Good acting which is wasted on a so-so script. Collapse
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    3
    I'm really dis-appointed by this show. I love Morena Baccarin and she is wonderful as the arch baddie but the rest of the show is a real let down. Science Fiction has to be well written and internally consistent if it's to engage and hold an audience but V just comes across as (yet another) TV series written by non-sci fi writers who don't have a grasp of the genre. Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2013
    0
    Reptilians concealing themselves as humans...Okay hold there for a moment......This is the point where you need to stop thinking about watching this show. These cheap movies are not science fiction! Seriously it might have been acceptable in the 1980's (It was cheesy even back then), but nowadays I can not take it. Reptilians? Seriously? The dumbest of all conspiracy theories. Lizard people build a spaceship that can travel to earth, and when they arrive they "dress up" as humans, and they start their manipulations to achieve some dump and overdone takeover scenario. The acting is bad. CGI is cheap (which would not be a problem if the story would be interesting....IF....). Ohhh please you there at syfy channel, ABC and so on... do not consider yourselves makers of SCIENCE FICTION!!! Expand

See all 71 User Reviews