Veep : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 22, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 20, 2012
    100
    Everything you fear might be true about how our government works--or doesn't--becomes hilarious fodder for Veep's biting satire.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 19, 2012
    100
    A hilarious new sitcom about a female vice president of the United States, Selina Meyer, played with insanely good timing by Julia Louis-Dreyfus.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 23, 2012
    91
    Louis-Dreyfus won Emmys for both "Seinfeld" and "The New Adventures of Old Chrstine," and seems the best candidate to win another for her work here.
  4. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Apr 20, 2012
    90
    Iannucci and his cast are as deft with a wonky policy joke as they are with good old-fashioned bathroom humor and Louis-Dreyfus shines, throwing herself, as she so often did on "Seinfeld" and "The New Adventures of Old Christine," physically into the role.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 19, 2012
    90
    Thanks to Louis-Dreyfus, and the show's remarkable knack for dialogue and timing, Veep is instantly engaging and outrageously fun.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 13, 2012
    90
    Every actor nails their lines, which keeps Veep moving at a brisk pace. In fact, the episodes seem to end so quickly, you'll wish they lasted an hour.
  7. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 19, 2012
    88
    The comedy here, as with Elaine, comes from watching Louis-Dreyfus's sophisticated, furiously sharp timing applied to a character who has the intelligence of a finch. [30 Apr 2012, p.35]
  8. As it turns out, Veep might be even more hilarious if it didn't hit so uncomfortably close to the truth.
  9. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 20, 2012
    83
    The ensemble works incredibly well together--in marked contrast to Selina's dysfunction, competitive staff--and there's a briskness and intelligence to the whole shebang.
  10. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Apr 13, 2012
    83
    Louis-Dreyfus isn't quite believable as a vice president--even a sitcom VP whose lack of gravitas is the show's central joke. But she's still a joy to watch, especially when she shows off that famous gift for physical comedy.
  11. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Apr 23, 2012
    80
    Veep is a show, though, that finds great comedy in the space between that idealism and the reality they face every day.
  12. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    Apr 23, 2012
    80
    In its focus on such details, the show finds humor in the contradiction between the staff's renowned arena and the petty ways they get things done.
  13. Reviewed by: James Parker
    Apr 20, 2012
    80
    The supporting cast is very strong--Tony Hale (perhaps best known for "Arrested Development"), in particular, excels as Selina's goofy and limpetlike personal aide--the various internecine plotlines are building well; and no one is allowed to riff uncontrolled.
  14. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Apr 20, 2012
    80
    With Louis-Dreyfus inhabiting the central role, the writing shines.
  15. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 20, 2012
    80
    Even if you don't particularly feel for Selina--you don't root for her, particularly, or against her--there is continual pleasure in watching the actress make her go.
  16. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 20, 2012
    80
    As a workplace comedy with a political bent Veep is both fun and funny, its nonpartisan position more a missed opportunity than fatal flaw.
  17. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 20, 2012
    80
    Much more conventional than Girls in its savagely profane workplace humor, its bad behavior recalls Curb Your Enthusiasm while the setting is reminiscent of The Larry Sanders Show in its hysterical behind-the-curtain peek at dysfunction and incompetence in high places.
  18. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 20, 2012
    75
    The show chronicles the more humorous than glamorous challenges encountered by Meyer, whose full-time job us self-preservation.
  19. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 20, 2012
    75
    Veep has some funny lines and sight gags during the course of doing its dirty Washington business.
  20. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 19, 2012
    75
    [A] cynical, hilarious and profane political satire.
  21. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Apr 20, 2012
    70
    It's still an acerbically entertaining show that I'll keep watching for now because of the strong cast, because of its gift for the obscene bon mot (a Selina speech edited for political concerns by the White House is said to be "pencil-fucked"), and because I hope it will grow into something more distinctive.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 9 out of 49
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    3
    There is so much social media/internet/technology saturation in television these days that it's making me nauseous. I tried to watch Veep'sThere is so much social media/internet/technology saturation in television these days that it's making me nauseous. I tried to watch Veep's premiere last night to completion, but couldn't help feeling like I was being force fed the ramblings of the internet in television series form. Julia Louis Dreyfuss also irritates me and for the most part isn't likeable in anything she does, Veep included. I couldn't help but get a corporate feel from this show which is about the least charming explanation I can think of. Full Review »
  2. Aug 25, 2012
    0
    This show is entirely worthless, hard to believe this was renewed but I guess HBO must have nothing else even halfway decent to produce.This show is entirely worthless, hard to believe this was renewed but I guess HBO must have nothing else even halfway decent to produce. Astonishing anyone could enjoy this show as is pure crap. Full Review »
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    5
    I tried to like this show but I couldn't. The first 5 were unbearable. Unfunny and unintelligent, I laughed maybe 3 times in total. The nextI tried to like this show but I couldn't. The first 5 were unbearable. Unfunny and unintelligent, I laughed maybe 3 times in total. The next five episodes were better, I laughed a lot more and the stories were interesting. Julia Louis Dreyfuss is good, but she is really just playing a variation of Old Christine. The rest of the cast are also good. In fact the acting from everyone involved is good, the major problem for me with this show was the writing. I don't want to sound like a prude, but all the excessive cursing ruined it for me. I normally have absolutely no problem with profanities, but this time it just didn't work. It just didn't fit with the rest of the dialogue, it felt like overkill. I just didn't understand why everyone was insulting each, I get that it's like a dog eat dog world but how is insulting your colleagues going to help you. In all its a alright show with some funny moments, but nothing special. It's not "In the Loop" kind of funny (haven't seen "In the Thick of It"). 5.5/10 Full Review »