Veep : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 22, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. 60
    It's all rather weightless: just your usual sitcom-style misunderstandings and bruised egos and "complications ensue," with no sense that anything larger is at stake.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 20, 2012
    40
    Veep sparks to life only occasionally.
  3. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Apr 27, 2012
    40
    She's not funny, the aide is told--a line that elicited in this viewer a stream of unstoppable thoughts about what was not funny about this show, which is a lot, all of which ended up pointing, inexorably, to its writers. What saves the show is Ms. Louis-Dreyfus's Selina.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 19, 2012
    42
    Some amusing lines, but otherwise a disappointing misfire.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 19, 2012
    40
    It's too easy, too much like a series of safe sketches that play to all the stereotypes everyone in politics claims describe the other side.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 20, 2012
    50
    The result is overly broad and narrow at the same time.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Apr 20, 2012
    50
    What few laughs there are represent a triumph of acting skill over authorial sloth in a show that is more silly than funny--and more dull than silly.
  8. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 19, 2012
    40
    Veep simply isn't particularly fresh or funny, and most of its jokes are telegraphed from a long way away.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 48
  2. Negative: 7 out of 48
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    3
    There is so much social media/internet/technology saturation in television these days that it's making me nauseous. I tried to watch Veep'sThere is so much social media/internet/technology saturation in television these days that it's making me nauseous. I tried to watch Veep's premiere last night to completion, but couldn't help feeling like I was being force fed the ramblings of the internet in television series form. Julia Louis Dreyfuss also irritates me and for the most part isn't likeable in anything she does, Veep included. I couldn't help but get a corporate feel from this show which is about the least charming explanation I can think of. Full Review »
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    5
    I tried to like this show but I couldn't. The first 5 were unbearable. Unfunny and unintelligent, I laughed maybe 3 times in total. The nextI tried to like this show but I couldn't. The first 5 were unbearable. Unfunny and unintelligent, I laughed maybe 3 times in total. The next five episodes were better, I laughed a lot more and the stories were interesting. Julia Louis Dreyfuss is good, but she is really just playing a variation of Old Christine. The rest of the cast are also good. In fact the acting from everyone involved is good, the major problem for me with this show was the writing. I don't want to sound like a prude, but all the excessive cursing ruined it for me. I normally have absolutely no problem with profanities, but this time it just didn't work. It just didn't fit with the rest of the dialogue, it felt like overkill. I just didn't understand why everyone was insulting each, I get that it's like a dog eat dog world but how is insulting your colleagues going to help you. In all its a alright show with some funny moments, but nothing special. It's not "In the Loop" kind of funny (haven't seen "In the Thick of It"). 5.5/10 Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2016
    5
    Its a lot more difficult to make someone laugh than to cry so comedies should be given a little more leeway than dramas as a rule. But notIts a lot more difficult to make someone laugh than to cry so comedies should be given a little more leeway than dramas as a rule. But not carte blanche either. In Veep there is very little laugh out loud moments but plenty of smiles. Basically Seinfeld crossed with the West Wing, Politicians staff manipulating media is a cliched trope and over exaggerated. Its not like that in reality and its a bit boring to watch it for the umpteenth time on a TV show. Actors are very good in this show but the writing just ain't. Average Full Review »