• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 22, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 4, 2014
    100
    [Silicon Valley is] paired with the third season of the savagely hilarious Veep, this combo promises to be HBO's most robust and certainly most entertaining comedy hour in years.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 4, 2014
    100
    [A] fast, funny political satire. [14 Apr 2014, p.49]
  3. Reviewed by: Brandon Nowalk
    Apr 2, 2014
    91
    Veep has become the clearest heir to 30 Rock and Arrested Development, and specific bits throughout the season recall both series.
  4. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Mar 31, 2014
    90
    Tossing Meyer into the election fray was a great idea, particularly since it gets away from the well-worn path she strutted last season. Now, out of her comfort zone, she’s bobbing and weaving with the best of them.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Jones
    Apr 2, 2014
    88
    In addition to embarking on a substantive season-long story arc, these new episodes also tread fresh emotional territory.
  6. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Apr 9, 2014
    83
    Line for outrageous line, Veep is still a wickedly funny gut-buster. Yet while I could relate to Selina the perpetually marginalized chump, flailing to advance, Selina the stumping, power-grabbing candidate risks confusion.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Molloy
    Apr 8, 2014
    80
    The show works because all of its actors seem so human, so likeable, despite the words coming from their mouths.
  8. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 4, 2014
    80
    The show's as cynical as ever, but it doesn't feel nearly as empty. Selina's more of an actual character--and has become an accomplished slinger of four-letter verbiage in her own right--and even if the team's screw-ups remain inevitable, the ways in which they screw up feel far less predictable.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Apr 4, 2014
    80
    Louis-Dreyfus can still sell an uncomfortable political smile like no one else. I will say that the tone this season seems somewhat unnecessarily darker at times than in the first two.
  10. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 1, 2014
    70
    Veep remains pretty well defined by its protagonist’s inherent plight: noteworthy, yes, but still a significant step away from true greatness.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    A brilliant show led by Comedic God Julia Louis-Dreyfus, each season proves to be better than the previous one. The writing is great, the cast is perfect. If this show doesn't win Best Comedy Series at The Emmys, I am going to be mad. Full Review »
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    3
    Im honestly quite shocked at how well rated Season 3 is. Season 1 i found amazingly funny. Season 2 was very good. Season 3 is nowhere near as funny. I barely laugh through a 30 minute episode.

    For the first few episodes. Making Jonah such a large part is a huge mistake. Hes very unfunny as anything more than a pop in character.

    The addition of a load of new characters around the country just does not work. They are badly scripted in a really awkward way. They do not act anywhere near realistically. The humor is just created by awkward forced situations.

    The great comedy of this show came from the VEEP and her team, in the VP office. The situations and mistakes they created and the few great characters who would appear.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    The show is the Winter Olympics that's geared to a certain group compared to all the Summer Olympic programming out there that try to appeal to the masses. I'll watch a few episodes and just feel like I wasn't invited to the party, got in because I had a friend who needed a plus one, and the show will just talk about you behind your back when you leave. It's incredibly smart, it's just hard to find many of the characters likable. Unlike a show like Silicon Valley, where you're introduced to a world within a world and you may know very little about the content structure they find ways to let you in, gives the characters common flaws that you can relate too and makes them genuine, Veeps characters seem like they want little to do with you.

    In the end not every show has to be catered to everyone. I almost watch this show as a homework assignment, just understand the content and if I ever run into that conversation at a party I'll have an idea on the subject matter, but will probably keep my opinion of it to myself. The fans don't need my take, the show has a bright future and there is little that it should change, its good to have programming that isn't dumbed-down. You don't get the show tough luck, you can either stick around and eventually you'll get it or you can just go back to watching sports center or another talent show that produces one hit wonders..
    Full Review »