• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 22, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Veep Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Armando Iannucci's comedy centers on new Vice President Selina Meyer (Julia Louis-Dreyfus) and her bumbling staff.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 20, 2012
    100
    Everything you fear might be true about how our government works--or doesn't--becomes hilarious fodder for Veep's biting satire.
  2. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Apr 20, 2012
    90
    Iannucci and his cast are as deft with a wonky policy joke as they are with good old-fashioned bathroom humor and Louis-Dreyfus shines, throwing herself, as she so often did on "Seinfeld" and "The New Adventures of Old Christine," physically into the role.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 19, 2012
    88
    The comedy here, as with Elaine, comes from watching Louis-Dreyfus's sophisticated, furiously sharp timing applied to a character who has the intelligence of a finch. [30 Apr 2012, p.35]
  4. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 20, 2012
    80
    As a workplace comedy with a political bent Veep is both fun and funny, its nonpartisan position more a missed opportunity than fatal flaw.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 20, 2012
    75
    Veep has some funny lines and sight gags during the course of doing its dirty Washington business.
  6. 60
    It's all rather weightless: just your usual sitcom-style misunderstandings and bruised egos and "complications ensue," with no sense that anything larger is at stake.
  7. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Apr 23, 2012
    25
    Mistaking vulgarity for comic edge and very thinly stretched punnery for wit, Veep is less a trenchant satire about contemporary politics than it is a relentlessly mean-spirited spectacle about crummy people.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Comes out of the gates roaring and ready to go! Possibly the best new comedy on television since Big Bang Theory and Parks and Recreation.Comes out of the gates roaring and ready to go! Possibly the best new comedy on television since Big Bang Theory and Parks and Recreation. Superbly written and communicated expertly from the actors. This show is a must see. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Veep is funny as hell! It's been a long time that I laugh this often from watching one comedy. Louis-Dreyfuss' take on Selina Meyer isVeep is funny as hell! It's been a long time that I laugh this often from watching one comedy. Louis-Dreyfuss' take on Selina Meyer is probably one of the funniest female character I've ever seen on TV. Tony Hale is also doing good with other cast members also showing strong acting skills. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Veep is a fantastically satirical new show, and easily the best that HBO has debuted this year. It is incredibly smart, and is only forVeep is a fantastically satirical new show, and easily the best that HBO has debuted this year. It is incredibly smart, and is only for political veterans. Novices would not fit in with this fast paced show. Across the board strong performances (particularly by Julie Louis Dreyfus) put Veep among one of the best comedies on television. Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    Brilliance. This is a perfect example of a prime, quality political satire, and Julia Louis-Dreyfus is astounding as the title character. ItBrilliance. This is a perfect example of a prime, quality political satire, and Julia Louis-Dreyfus is astounding as the title character. It misses a perfect rating for me because of the horrendous pregnancy storyline that was quickly nixed, but if the series can avoid that kind of nonsense in the future, it's sure to become a classic. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    I have watched every episode of Season 1 so far and I really like the content and writing. I don't agree with some of the other reviews thatI have watched every episode of Season 1 so far and I really like the content and writing. I don't agree with some of the other reviews that they use the F word as a crutch. It's in there a lot, but why would you not use it for a show on HBO. My only problem is some of the interplay between Amy, Dan and Mike seems overly-cruel and forced. I think the writing is great and intentionally meanders or stops mid-thought, leading to fresh comedic moments that you don't normally see in something more scripted. Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2012
    7
    I really don't understand why people review things so passionately (users and critics alike) after one 30 minute episode. I caught most ofI really don't understand why people review things so passionately (users and critics alike) after one 30 minute episode. I caught most of this premiere and I enjoyed it, but I didn't LOVE it, and I don't get why some people would hate it so much so quickly. It's not like there are that many funny shows out there (I'll give you a little while to think about how true that is), so I was pleasently surprised from the little bit I did see. I'll likely be watching the next couple episodes to see where the show goes. So far, so good. Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2012
    0
    This show is entirely worthless, hard to believe this was renewed but I guess HBO must have nothing else even halfway decent to produce.This show is entirely worthless, hard to believe this was renewed but I guess HBO must have nothing else even halfway decent to produce. Astonishing anyone could enjoy this show as is pure crap. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.