Veep : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 22, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Veep Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Armando Iannucci's comedy centers on new Vice President Selina Meyer (Julia Louis-Dreyfus) and her bumbling staff.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 20, 2012
    100
    Everything you fear might be true about how our government works--or doesn't--becomes hilarious fodder for Veep's biting satire.
  2. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Apr 20, 2012
    90
    Iannucci and his cast are as deft with a wonky policy joke as they are with good old-fashioned bathroom humor and Louis-Dreyfus shines, throwing herself, as she so often did on "Seinfeld" and "The New Adventures of Old Christine," physically into the role.
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 19, 2012
    88
    The comedy here, as with Elaine, comes from watching Louis-Dreyfus's sophisticated, furiously sharp timing applied to a character who has the intelligence of a finch. [30 Apr 2012, p.35]
  4. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 20, 2012
    80
    As a workplace comedy with a political bent Veep is both fun and funny, its nonpartisan position more a missed opportunity than fatal flaw.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 20, 2012
    75
    Veep has some funny lines and sight gags during the course of doing its dirty Washington business.
  6. 60
    It's all rather weightless: just your usual sitcom-style misunderstandings and bruised egos and "complications ensue," with no sense that anything larger is at stake.
  7. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Apr 23, 2012
    25
    Mistaking vulgarity for comic edge and very thinly stretched punnery for wit, Veep is less a trenchant satire about contemporary politics than it is a relentlessly mean-spirited spectacle about crummy people.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 49
  2. Negative: 8 out of 49
  1. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Veep is a fantastically satirical new show, and easily the best that HBO has debuted this year. It is incredibly smart, and is only forVeep is a fantastically satirical new show, and easily the best that HBO has debuted this year. It is incredibly smart, and is only for political veterans. Novices would not fit in with this fast paced show. Across the board strong performances (particularly by Julie Louis Dreyfus) put Veep among one of the best comedies on television. Expand
  2. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    Made me laught out loud in every episode at least three times. And thats hard for a comedy nowadays. The cast has superb acting skills andMade me laught out loud in every episode at least three times. And thats hard for a comedy nowadays. The cast has superb acting skills and JLD's acting is emmy-worthy. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Veep is funny as hell! It's been a long time that I laugh this often from watching one comedy. Louis-Dreyfuss' take on Selina Meyer isVeep is funny as hell! It's been a long time that I laugh this often from watching one comedy. Louis-Dreyfuss' take on Selina Meyer is probably one of the funniest female character I've ever seen on TV. Tony Hale is also doing good with other cast members also showing strong acting skills. Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    I have watched every episode of Season 1 so far and I really like the content and writing. I don't agree with some of the other reviews thatI have watched every episode of Season 1 so far and I really like the content and writing. I don't agree with some of the other reviews that they use the F word as a crutch. It's in there a lot, but why would you not use it for a show on HBO. My only problem is some of the interplay between Amy, Dan and Mike seems overly-cruel and forced. I think the writing is great and intentionally meanders or stops mid-thought, leading to fresh comedic moments that you don't normally see in something more scripted. Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2016
    8
    This show is really funny and keeps with the same political humor that creator Armando Ianucci uses with his other work like The Thick of ItThis show is really funny and keeps with the same political humor that creator Armando Ianucci uses with his other work like The Thick of It and In the Loop. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    6
    Less biting than it should be, this will be a series to watch from time to time based on the talent of its ensemble cast. I can't see itLess biting than it should be, this will be a series to watch from time to time based on the talent of its ensemble cast. I can't see it growing to anything more than that, but who knows? Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2016
    0
    I believed the earlier reviews. Imagine my disappointment. This show is poorly written and the acting does not save the script. Do NotI believed the earlier reviews. Imagine my disappointment. This show is poorly written and the acting does not save the script. Do Not Watch. They want me to use up at least 150 characters, but nothing further really needs to be said. Bad show. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2015 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2015 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: September 20, 2015
    View a complete list of this year's Emmy winners, get reviews of the broadcast from TV critics, and find out how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.