Veep : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 22, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Veep Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Armando Iannucci's comedy centers on new Vice President Selina Meyer (Julia Louis-Dreyfus) and her bumbling staff.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 20, 2012
    100
    Everything you fear might be true about how our government works--or doesn't--becomes hilarious fodder for Veep's biting satire.
  2. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Apr 20, 2012
    90
    Iannucci and his cast are as deft with a wonky policy joke as they are with good old-fashioned bathroom humor and Louis-Dreyfus shines, throwing herself, as she so often did on "Seinfeld" and "The New Adventures of Old Christine," physically into the role.
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 19, 2012
    88
    The comedy here, as with Elaine, comes from watching Louis-Dreyfus's sophisticated, furiously sharp timing applied to a character who has the intelligence of a finch. [30 Apr 2012, p.35]
  4. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 20, 2012
    80
    As a workplace comedy with a political bent Veep is both fun and funny, its nonpartisan position more a missed opportunity than fatal flaw.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 20, 2012
    75
    Veep has some funny lines and sight gags during the course of doing its dirty Washington business.
  6. 60
    It's all rather weightless: just your usual sitcom-style misunderstandings and bruised egos and "complications ensue," with no sense that anything larger is at stake.
  7. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Apr 23, 2012
    25
    Mistaking vulgarity for comic edge and very thinly stretched punnery for wit, Veep is less a trenchant satire about contemporary politics than it is a relentlessly mean-spirited spectacle about crummy people.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44
  1. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    This show is smart, hilarious and the writing is great. Julia Louis-Dreyfus is wonderful as Selina Meyers and so is the rest of the cast inThis show is smart, hilarious and the writing is great. Julia Louis-Dreyfus is wonderful as Selina Meyers and so is the rest of the cast in their roles. If you're looking for a show that can make you laugh a lot every episode, this is it! Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    I have only watched three episodes of this show, but I love it. I'm buying more. I think it's Julia LD at her best; witty dialogue, snappyI have only watched three episodes of this show, but I love it. I'm buying more. I think it's Julia LD at her best; witty dialogue, snappy repartee. I like most of the cast as well. It's not always the case that others can keep pace with the star. This show should be better promoted. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Veep is a fantastically satirical new show, and easily the best that HBO has debuted this year. It is incredibly smart, and is only forVeep is a fantastically satirical new show, and easily the best that HBO has debuted this year. It is incredibly smart, and is only for political veterans. Novices would not fit in with this fast paced show. Across the board strong performances (particularly by Julie Louis Dreyfus) put Veep among one of the best comedies on television. Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    Brilliance. This is a perfect example of a prime, quality political satire, and Julia Louis-Dreyfus is astounding as the title character. ItBrilliance. This is a perfect example of a prime, quality political satire, and Julia Louis-Dreyfus is astounding as the title character. It misses a perfect rating for me because of the horrendous pregnancy storyline that was quickly nixed, but if the series can avoid that kind of nonsense in the future, it's sure to become a classic. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    While the first season of Veep has a not quite sure of itself feel similar to the first season of the American version of The Office, JuliaWhile the first season of Veep has a not quite sure of itself feel similar to the first season of the American version of The Office, Julia Louis-Dreyfus is hilarious as Veep Selena Meyer. The narcissistic, unstable vice president is one of the best comedy performances all year, saying such comedy gold as "I'm the Vice President of the United States, you f***ers!" and "I've met a lot of people, real people, and I gotta tell you, they're all f***ing idiots". As a whole package, veep feels like there's something missing, but that only leaves room for improvement. Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2012
    8
    I really loved this pilot....! Julia is SO FREAKING FUNNY !! xD Nothing but an excellent script and the excellent cast!! This show is here forI really loved this pilot....! Julia is SO FREAKING FUNNY !! xD Nothing but an excellent script and the excellent cast!! This show is here for the long haul! Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2012
    0
    This show is entirely worthless, hard to believe this was renewed but I guess HBO must have nothing else even halfway decent to produce.This show is entirely worthless, hard to believe this was renewed but I guess HBO must have nothing else even halfway decent to produce. Astonishing anyone could enjoy this show as is pure crap. Collapse

See all 44 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2015 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2015 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: September 20, 2015
    View a complete list of this year's Emmy winners, get reviews of the broadcast from TV critics, and find out how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.