Vegas : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2012
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Where the show stumbles a little is in the case itself.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Vegas has a lot of things going for it: star power, period ambience, and a compelling Vegas central conflict. But despite all that, the show doesn't feel like it's hit the jackpot.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    The debut isn't disastrous by any means, it just doesn't crackle.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    People who like their procedurals with punch--there's plenty of punching, not to mention kicking, in the pilot--might like CBS' period cop show just the way it is. But if I'm going to stay with Vegas, I'm going to need to be wooed a little.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Yet if the premise sets up a promising square-off of titans, the premiere retreats to a rather predictable, time-killing murder mystery, which serves to establish Lamb's new role, but also smacks more of CBS' stodgier procedurals than a character-driven drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 24, 2012
    60
    It's all just window dressing on a standard crime drama, however, and while the pilot sets up running story lines involving the gangster and the officials he controls, they feel squeezed and a little perfunctory.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 25, 2012
    50
    Vegas is not embarrassing. But it is just a gussied-up procedural, which would be fine, if it weren't so blatantly aiming to be something more.
  8. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 25, 2012
    40
    Chiklis is terrific. Too often, though, Vegas plays like a comic book, without much depth to its characters.
  9. Reviewed by: Lesley Smith
    Sep 25, 2012
    40
    Some of this talent is visible in the premiere episode's poetic counterbalancing of empty landscapes and claustrophobic casino back-offices, and actors' convincing performances.... When it comes to plotting and scripting, though, Vegas is far less sure-footed.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    5
    Still on the fence. If this show is just another crime drama, then I will not be watching it. But if they turn it into a Boardwalk empire typeStill on the fence. If this show is just another crime drama, then I will not be watching it. But if they turn it into a Boardwalk empire type deal, then it will soar. Time will tell. Full Review »
  2. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    I watched as far as the first five minutes of episode 2, where Ralph commandeers a broom to stop a random jewel thief on the street. That wasI watched as far as the first five minutes of episode 2, where Ralph commandeers a broom to stop a random jewel thief on the street. That was some real high caliber writing there. Good job there cowboy! YEEEEEEEEEEEP!!!!! Full Review »
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed the pilot and I hope the rest of the episodes are as fast paced and action packed as the pilot and good actors as well prettyI enjoyed the pilot and I hope the rest of the episodes are as fast paced and action packed as the pilot and good actors as well pretty entertaining.One of the best crime dramas on tv for now besides The Mob Doctor. Full Review »