• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 5, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Mar 29, 2013
    91
    The lack of polish makes Vice all the more riveting. [5 Apr 2013, p.63]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 5, 2013
    70
    What Vice offers is not deep or thorough, but it is not without value. The news comes in pieces now; to get the full picture, you have to assemble it yourself.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 5, 2013
    60
    Vice tries to go where other news, documentary and magazine shows do not. That’s okay, though it does at times overstate its pioneering prowess.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 5, 2013
    88
    There are a whole lot of “Holy s--t!” moments, but it’s very real and astoundingly raw--without once giving you the idea these are show-off correspondents with a makeup artist and clean clothes.
  5. 80
    It's graphic--disturbingly and, some would say, unnecessarily, so.... But it's also intelligent and enlightening.
  6. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 5, 2013
    70
    Despite showing some very gruesome imagery--a real decapitated head, for example--and having a swaggy, “we’re so hip we send our reporters into dangerous places looking like they just rolled out of bed” self-aggrandizement, Vice is fundamentally earnest.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 5, 2013
    75
    In a world that has exploded with instantaneously accessible information, television news is hard-pressed to figure out how to keep up. It takes a show like Vice to make other news magazine shows seem like they belong in a TV antiques shop.
  8. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 29, 2013
    80
    This isn’t look-at-me journalism with a fitted Gap t-shirt. It’s more of a holy-hell-can-you-believe-this approach that fights perfectly on a cable channel trying to do something different.
  9. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 5, 2013
    30
    It's the sloppy approach to context and the tabloid-y aspects of Vice that are ultimately harder to take than the self-aggrandizing bro-ness of it all.
  10. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Apr 4, 2013
    30
    The problem with Vice isn’t its insistent aggrandizement but its excessive softheadedness. It’s journalism at the intersection of shallow and gullible, where they meet, high-five and compare tattoos.
  11. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 29, 2013
    80
    Hosted by Vice founder Shane Smith--hardly a natural on camera--the magazine nevertheless resonates precisely because it zeroes in on unsettling tales of violence and cruelty abroad, at a moment when TV news frequently seems preoccupied with trifles at home.
  12. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 4, 2013
    60
    Vice seems to be in search of some sweet spot between “60 Minutes” and “Jackass,” and there’s enough here to suggest that such a spot may exist. The concept could work, especially if Smith and his correspondents were more inclined to point the cameras away from themselves.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    I love the uncensored aspect of Vice. The topics they cover cannot be truly understood censored. This is information we need to see. Just wish it was an hour long program not 30 minutes. Full Review »
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This show could be a game changer in every way. I really hope it gets the buzz it deserves. Vice, you guys are my heroes and thank you for fighting the good fight! Keep it up Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    0
    My high hopes for this series have quickly turned into disgust and embarrassment for America. The short skits portrayed in this series are nothing more than exploitation's of other cultures and their apparent issues at hand. There is some truth to the matters at hand, but as an American that has lived in several of these places and experienced firsthand what is actually happening, I can safely say that this team of media investigators has embellished the truth on more than one occasion, as so many American so called "journalists" these days do. The majority of viewers have never and never will experience for themselves, which is why I must give this show a "0". It's a truly shameful portrayal of the usual cliches being touted in the news as "real" news, which it blatantly is not. Edgy it tries to be, edgy (once again) it fails at. Showing a few dead bodies laying around a street doesn't give you any "street" cred in my book. Just more exploitation of others in hopes of achieving some shock value ratings points.

    Interestingly, none of the skits (thus far) focus on America. We've got just as many, if not more, far worse problems, atrocities, corruption and misjustice happening daily in our own backyards. I'm inclined to believe the show could be much more informative, useful and believable (if not simply provable) if this were the case. I think it's pretty obvious why this show puts the focus on everyone else but our own society.

    Sorry HBO but I would much rather watch the more factual 'Rome, 'How to make it in America or the 'Sopranos than this fabrication. Oh wait, you cancelled all of those! DOH
    Full Review »