Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Nov 9, 2011
    100
    It is so crisp and clean and the clarity is so great that you will definitely forget that what you are watching is real.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Nov 9, 2011
    100
    Even at six hours, this tends to be more impressionistic, and less bound to a strict historic timeline.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Nov 9, 2011
    91
    Vietnam In HD is vivid and compelling without being intrinsically political.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Nov 9, 2011
    80
    Half a century and half a dozen wars later, it may seem that there's nothing left to say about Vietnam. But Vietnam in HD proves that there is, and says it dazzlingly, horrifyingly well.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Nov 9, 2011
    70
    While it goes out of its way to cast these soldiers as the heroic equals, if not betters, of their "Greatest Generation" counterparts, the series does not have the same impact--mainly because these images, though at times awful and upsetting, are also much more familiar.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Nov 9, 2011
    70
    Over all, the most interesting scenes are not those that depict Americans but the less frequent, more unusual ones that show us Vietnamese villagers and Vietcong and North Vietnamese troops.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Nov 11, 2011
    67
    "WWII in HD" at times felt like a rough outline of what an actual history of the war would look like, but it had all that amazing, horrifying imagery to compensate. The Vietnam in HD footage is no less incredible and/or dismaying, but it's also much more familiar.
  8. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Nov 9, 2011
    50
    With the line between documentary and amusement-park ride now crossed, it's easy for a critic to start noticing Vietnam in HD's other narrative and technical shortcuts with filler and stock footage, splicing in wherever needed the images we have seen before, including those familiar payload-perspective views of bombs being dropped over the hills and villages.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The show's not over yet, and I've watched diligently. I'm a 1968 combat veteran...9th Infantry Division, 5th Battalion, 60th Infantry. IThe show's not over yet, and I've watched diligently. I'm a 1968 combat veteran...9th Infantry Division, 5th Battalion, 60th Infantry. I arrived in early February, while the Tet Offensive was still in full swing and served 7 months in combat. I was immediately troubled by the first show's description of the Gulf of Tonkin incident and the resultant Gulf of Tonkin Resolution of 1964. Although the narrator states that this incident was "reported", I believe that the pretense is clear. However, it has been clearly established that this was a fabrication and that the resolution was a false pretense to war....not unlike the WMD fantasy that "justified" our incursion into Iraq. I hope that this is acknowledged before the show concludes. Full Review »
  2. May 12, 2012
    10
    Back in the 90s I read some books by Stephen Ambrose about the D-Days and the days that followed, full of memories and quotations from theBack in the 90s I read some books by Stephen Ambrose about the D-Days and the days that followed, full of memories and quotations from the heroes of those days: the ordinary American soldiers. Vietnam in HD uses the same method, and to a good result. Combined with vivid music and stunning footage, it is a great piece of historical show with a tonn of useful information. Full Review »