Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Vikings Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 711 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ragnar Lothbrok (Travis Fimmel) defies local Viking chief Earl Haraldson's (Gabriel Byrne) orders and sets out to plunder lands to the West.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Vikings
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 1, 2013
    91
    Vikings enthrallingly captures the world of Norsemen and oarsmen, circa 793 in the Eastern Baltic but soon heading West to England.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Feb 28, 2013
    80
    While they are every bit as wild and woolly as the historical figures of Norse sagas, such is the power of Vikings that we come to know and even root for them, so enthralling are they and almost everything else here.
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 7, 2013
    75
    History's first scripted series is a headlong tumble into an irresistible and surprisingly neglected genre. [18 Mar 2013, p.41]
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 28, 2013
    70
    While it’s clear that Vikings isn’t going to be Game of Thrones, it’s a series that increases its entertainment value and interest level as it goes along.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Vikings is a mini-series about a band of professional pillagers with a disregard for human life and a relentless focus on gratifying material desires. So it is somewhat surprising that it is also a refreshing study in restraint.
  6. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Feb 28, 2013
    67
    What those two shows [The Tudors and The Game of Thrones] have, and Vikings dearly lacks, is real intrigue.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    Mostly, though, Vikings is disappointing because so much of the component parts are good but are ill served by flabby direction and a gassy script.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 101
  2. Negative: 12 out of 101
  1. May 2, 2015
    10
    One of the best shows. It tell the story of Ragnar. There are some slow episodes but generally I dont think there is a btter show on tv atOne of the best shows. It tell the story of Ragnar. There are some slow episodes but generally I dont think there is a btter show on tv at the moment. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2017
    10
    I've been sucked into the is series from season one. This season is literally killing it! I'm drawn to the family dynamics in a show and theseI've been sucked into the is series from season one. This season is literally killing it! I'm drawn to the family dynamics in a show and these relationships are so strong. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    An interesting mix of drama and history, that seems to well illustrate the differences between these ancient pagan warriors beliefs andAn interesting mix of drama and history, that seems to well illustrate the differences between these ancient pagan warriors beliefs and modern day morals. The plot is nothing radical, but its solid, well written and well acted add in some beautiful scenery and a little action and your onto a winner. Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2018
    9
    The opening of Vikings was great. I love history and seeing it come to life with this show is amazing. I like the beautiful landscapes thatThe opening of Vikings was great. I love history and seeing it come to life with this show is amazing. I like the beautiful landscapes that they film in and the interesting characters. It is such an awesome show and I look forward to watching the next seasons. Expand
  5. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    Very interesting new show from The History Channel. It feels very Game of Thrones-esque. While it is a bit early to make a complete judgmentVery interesting new show from The History Channel. It feels very Game of Thrones-esque. While it is a bit early to make a complete judgment on the show, I will say that it has captured my interest. The characters seem to be well developed and well acted. The setting is interesting and the cinematography awe-inspiring. Can't wait to see more! Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2013
    7
    By no means a "poor man's Spartacus," you will find sword waving, revenge, deception, and familiar plot lines in comfortable abundance. ThatBy no means a "poor man's Spartacus," you will find sword waving, revenge, deception, and familiar plot lines in comfortable abundance. That this is a History Channel production might also mean you'll find a bit more historical fact, but the temptations of Viking cliches often prove too alluring for the script to ignore. All in all, well crafted, surprisingly well acted, and at times breath-taking Irish landscapes helped by only a little CGI. While the plot can be a bit wonky at times, their is something endearing and admirable that will keep audiences coming back for more raping and pillaging. In that sense, sympathetic protagonists are slightly in want. Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2017
    0
    Inauthentic soap-opera trash - Vikings were democratic. I had so much hope from this, mostly from the starting theme song, but alas theInauthentic soap-opera trash - Vikings were democratic. I had so much hope from this, mostly from the starting theme song, but alas the starting theme is the only thing good about it. The History channel fails at everything. I also like that they only cast actual Scandinavians as the bad guys and Anglo-saxons for the characters meant to be liked. I was also amused by the French accents and stereotypes. Expand

See all 101 User Reviews

Trailers