Wahlburgers : Season 1

  • Network: A&E
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 22, 2014
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 31, 2014
    50
    This is advertising with a side of bruthah (and muthah)-ly love. [10 Feb 2014, p.50]
  2. Reviewed by: Molly Eichel
    Jan 22, 2014
    50
    The playfulness associated with these familial moments is where Wahlburgers hits its sweet spot.... The show is derailed by subplots that have no momentum or little drama.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Jan 21, 2014
    50
    Wahlburgers can use a dash of humor to spice up an otherwise-lackluster, “seen it all before” series.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 21, 2014
    42
    There's no drama, no trumped-up conflict, no insights, no revelations and absolutely no discreet view of a once-notorious Dorchester clan that ran wild in the streets but now drives them, coolly surveying their kingdom for another restaurant location.
  5. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Jan 22, 2014
    40
    Unfortunately, there's nothing about the series' style or format that makes it stand out among other family docudramas. And while sometimes the interactions feel natural, often they are noticeably stilted; there's a keen sense of the proceedings being carefully crafted.
User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    0
    I watched 2 episodes of Wahlburgers - very disappointed because I love Donnie & Mark as actors. I feel embarrassed for them as far as thisI watched 2 episodes of Wahlburgers - very disappointed because I love Donnie & Mark as actors. I feel embarrassed for them as far as this show's concerned - it's obviously entirely scripted & the other characters fall totally flat. Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good GoodGood Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Full Review »
  3. Feb 5, 2014
    0
    I had the misfortune of seeing this garbage when I was sick and could not locate/was too tired to try and find my TV remote. It's just aI had the misfortune of seeing this garbage when I was sick and could not locate/was too tired to try and find my TV remote. It's just a pretentious, terrible mess where the Wahlburg's each sprout an additional arm out of their rectum so they may better pat each other on the back and more efficiently resupply each other with more !@#$ with which to spew from their mouths. Unfunny, unremarkable, and a testament to all that is wrong with reality television. Next time i don't care if I vomit while looking to change the channel...it would be worth it.

    I've had a better time wiping my @$$ after an explosive testament of intestinal fortitude than watching this crap. I'm sure all of you have too.
    Full Review »