Wartorn: 1861-2010

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 11, 2010
Wartorn: 1861-2010 Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: James Gandolfini's documentary looks at the history of the military's opinion and treatment of post-traumatic stress on its soldiers.
  • Genre(s): Documentary
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 9, 2010
    100
    Uniformly excellent - although some additional reporting devoted to the treatment of PTSD would have made this a more complete package.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 9, 2010
    90
    The filmmakers do not beat a political drum, they do not use an impassioned script or a soundtrack comprising brass and strings; they do not attempt to incite anger or outrage, sorrow or resolve in any way. Instead, they present the facts, simply and gracefully, and the result is devastating.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Dec 9, 2010
    83
    On Veterans Day, Wartorn is a somber reminder of the price that many pay when they serve their country and a wake-up call to the rest of us about the debt we owe them.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    This is not an angry documentary; it's just such a downer--and necessary medicine for those who've remained personally unaffected by events of the last decade.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    Doubtless there always will be some of the Gen. Patton mentality, that a soldier with no physical wounds must be "yellow" if he or she can't just shake it off. Wartorn argues, powerfully, that blaming the victim is not our finest hour.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    Wartorn sometimes starts to feel prim and preachy. But it also has its share of quietly devastating, haunting scenes, echoes of the nightmares that veterans are bringing home with them from Iraq and Afghanistan.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    James Gandolfini lends his celebrity to the project, which would have benefited from either greater focus or more time, but nevertheless delivers a sobering message regarding the psychological wounds war inflicts even on survivors.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    An open letter to James Gandolfini

    Dear Mr. Gandolfini: The subject of military suicides has been near and dear to my heart since my 19 year
    An open letter to James Gandolfini

    Dear Mr. Gandolfini:

    The subject of military suicides has been near and dear to my heart since my 19 year old nephew decided to enlist in the Marines a year ago. When I saw the trailer for your documentary, â
    Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Very Powerful. Its tells how men with good hearts have to live their lives after war ,dealing with killing others and seeing their friendsVery Powerful. Its tells how men with good hearts have to live their lives after war ,dealing with killing others and seeing their friends die. I thought i knew all about PTS, but this documentary shows it like it really is. Has to be seen. Deserves even hired than a 10. Collapse