• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 30, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 11 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    The show is not a snarky sendup of loveless nerds or callous swingers; it’s a fairly gentle comedy about burnouts who call themselves a band of brothers.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 30, 2013
    50
    What you're left with is a series that, while less repellent than the even-more-misogynistic Dads, is equally dull.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 30, 2013
    50
    Of all the dumb shows you can watch on a Monday, here’s one more.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 27, 2013
    50
    There's nothing terribly memorable about it other than the appeal of the cast members. And that was earned from previous films and shows.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    50
    The cast is certainly talented enough to overcome We Are Men's shortcomings, if the writing improves.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 27, 2013
    42
    It's the tired guys will be guys trope dusted off for one of TV's pre-eminent comic actors, Tony Shalhoub, who can't even break through the smog of mediocrity that's enveloped him here.
  7. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Sep 26, 2013
    42
    It's the male Sex and the City, with more shirtless scenes (courtesy of Jerry O'Connell) and way less wit.
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 28, 2013
    40
    The guys behave badly in mostly cliched and predictable ways.
  9. Reviewed by: Reed Tucker
    Oct 3, 2013
    37
    Shame We Are Men is so off-putting, because the cast is generally likeable, especially Penn.
  10. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Sep 29, 2013
    33
    Like the dullest of origin stories, it all seems pretty perfunctory, a series that longs to be a shaggy hangout show shoehorned into a rickety single-camera framework that may as well be called How I Left Your Mother.
  11. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Sep 30, 2013
    30
    For a comedy, We Are Men is, in a word, sad.
  12. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 30, 2013
    30
    [A] show [that] is far better cast than it is conceived.
  13. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 29, 2013
    30
    Tepid stuff.
  14. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 27, 2013
    30
    It’s hard to escape a feeling that We Are Men is really just TNT’s short-lived “Men of a Certain Age” without the ambition, and maybe with a lobotomy.
  15. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 30, 2013
    25
    Its first half-hour comes and goes without providing any further reason to hang out with these guys.
  16. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 30, 2013
    20
    These Men of no certain age and character aren't so much bad influences as terribly unfunny company.
  17. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Sep 30, 2013
    12
    Run! Run fast and far from We Are Men.
  18. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Watching We Are Men made me feel stupid almost immediately and then bitter that I'd wasted the time. But maybe that's because I wouldn't want to be anywhere near the four male representatives of this series, nor hear the actors portraying them say any more "jokes."
  19. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 19, 2013
    0
    The existence of this comedy, which pretends to be brash but mainly succeeds in being more offensive, unfunny and predictable than Dads, told me that we have angered the gods.
User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 4 out of 4
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    3
    Maybe Tony Shaloub should've stayed for another season of Monk. But as worse as the new comedies goes (Sean Saves the World), We Are Men is a little less Hangover-like series into another Harold and Kumar movie. Let's face it, CBS tried its best but unfortunately, 2 Broke Girls and Mike and Molly were the big winners of Monday nights. Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    2
    So, it's a show about drunken college students, who do not happen to be going to college and are older than most college students.

    What is
    the purpose of this show? Surely it is not to be funny. Full Review »
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    AWFUL. So disappointing. It's like a Saturday Night Live skit that just went on and on and on and on... Such a disappointment since the casting of Tony Shaloub and Kal Penn gave it so much promise. In an ensemble, only one guy should be the designated schtick-man... Jerry O'Connell's brand of over-the-top "comedy" really needed balance. Too bad all of the other guys are jockeying for the Jerry Lewis crown. ICK. Full Review »