Web Therapy : Season 1

  • Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jul 26, 2011
    70
    The fine cast, both regulars and guest stars, elevates the proceedings considerably.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 19, 2011
    70
    As it is, some of the sharpness, the performance-art humor of the Web series is lost in translation, but even in the new form, it remains something remarkable, if not revolutionary, anchored by Kudrow, who is not so much inhabiting a character but an ethos--the self-help movement by way of Merrill Lynch and YouTube, with outtakes thrown in at the end for good measure.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 18, 2011
    70
    It's a static look that makes these half-hour shows a bit tough to endure visually (don't try watching two episodes back-to-back). This format lends itself better to web shorts but it is fun to see Dr. Wallice's world expanded, especially for fans of comedy that doesn't telegraph a joke well in advance.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    67
    The cameos often are amusing, and so is Kudrow, but someone at Showtime evidently forgot to ask whether a one-joke webisode can or should be expanded into a one-joke TV series. This one feels like a strrrretch.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jul 19, 2011
    60
    The episodes play out in a series of uneven vignettes: droll, ironic and twisted. It's great to see Kudrow back on TV, but this visually static and comically stunted gimmick wears thin pretty quickly.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 19, 2011
    60
    While Web Therapy is certainly clever and occasionally funny, it lacks both the nerve and verve of "The Comeback."
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jul 19, 2011
    50
    Ambiently amusing but generally inert, the show is badly in need of a hard-edged producer to tell the series' creators that they cannot get by on charm, no matter how much of that precious quality is imported by such guest stars as Lily Tomlin, Rashida Jones, and Bob Balaban.
  8. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jul 18, 2011
    50
    You end up with a visually uninteresting half-hour filled with rambling conversations, as the actors struggle to advance what little story there is while slipping in the all-too-occasional funny remark.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 19, 2011
    40
    While the project had its devotees in its original form, the first four legs of a 10-episode flight feel stilted, claustrophobic and only fitfully amusing as stitched together for Showtime.
  10. Reviewed by: Sal Cinquemani
    Jul 19, 2011
    25
    It's not just that Kudrow has failed to find a vehicle for her comedic talents since Friends; it's that the two-dimensional, often insufferable characters she's created are largely to blame for the failure of those projects in the first place.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    7
    How do critics pan this show and keep their jobs. It has great writing and acting and is genuinely funny and interesting. I used to watch itHow do critics pan this show and keep their jobs. It has great writing and acting and is genuinely funny and interesting. I used to watch it on web prior to release and saw great potential. They cut out a lot of the great scenes with Bob Balabon and others but I still really enjoy the characters they decided to develop. Full Review »
  2. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    The BEST new 30 min. comedy show on TV!!! So cleverly written and acted superbly by Lisa Kudrow. The guest stars are high caliber andThe BEST new 30 min. comedy show on TV!!! So cleverly written and acted superbly by Lisa Kudrow. The guest stars are high caliber and extremely funny. I laugh all the way through it. PLEASE don't cancel it Showtime! Full Review »
  3. Jul 22, 2011
    8
    Give it Time. My hopes are high. The first episode sets a promising season though not fully fulfilled yet. Hold on there,,something tells meGive it Time. My hopes are high. The first episode sets a promising season though not fully fulfilled yet. Hold on there,,something tells me Kodrow found her voice though needs more then "Well I'm the therapist put preoccupied with my own issues" shtick, then we might see some biting comedy. Hope so Full Review »