• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Web Therapy Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 18, 2011
    70
    It's a static look that makes these half-hour shows a bit tough to endure visually (don't try watching two episodes back-to-back). This format lends itself better to web shorts but it is fun to see Dr. Wallice's world expanded, especially for fans of comedy that doesn't telegraph a joke well in advance.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 19, 2011
    70
    As it is, some of the sharpness, the performance-art humor of the Web series is lost in translation, but even in the new form, it remains something remarkable, if not revolutionary, anchored by Kudrow, who is not so much inhabiting a character but an ethos--the self-help movement by way of Merrill Lynch and YouTube, with outtakes thrown in at the end for good measure.
  3. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jul 26, 2011
    70
    The fine cast, both regulars and guest stars, elevates the proceedings considerably.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 19, 2011
    60
    While Web Therapy is certainly clever and occasionally funny, it lacks both the nerve and verve of "The Comeback."
  5. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jul 19, 2011
    50
    Ambiently amusing but generally inert, the show is badly in need of a hard-edged producer to tell the series' creators that they cannot get by on charm, no matter how much of that precious quality is imported by such guest stars as Lily Tomlin, Rashida Jones, and Bob Balaban.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jul 18, 2011
    50
    You end up with a visually uninteresting half-hour filled with rambling conversations, as the actors struggle to advance what little story there is while slipping in the all-too-occasional funny remark.
  7. Reviewed by: Sal Cinquemani
    Jul 19, 2011
    25
    It's not just that Kudrow has failed to find a vehicle for her comedic talents since Friends; it's that the two-dimensional, often insufferable characters she's created are largely to blame for the failure of those projects in the first place.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    The BEST new 30 min. comedy show on TV!!! So cleverly written and acted superbly by Lisa Kudrow. The guest stars are high caliber andThe BEST new 30 min. comedy show on TV!!! So cleverly written and acted superbly by Lisa Kudrow. The guest stars are high caliber and extremely funny. I laugh all the way through it. PLEASE don't cancel it Showtime! Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    I absolutly love the show, one of the very few left to make me laugh, superb what they do with such a small amount of possibilitys from thatI absolutly love the show, one of the very few left to make me laugh, superb what they do with such a small amount of possibilitys from that camera angle, top notch show! im staying tuned Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2014
    10
    I really like Lisa Kudrow. This gal has guts in portraying really despicable people and making them human. But I digress, mainly because II really like Lisa Kudrow. This gal has guts in portraying really despicable people and making them human. But I digress, mainly because I cant believe THE COMEBACK is coming back. But I digress. The real reason I write about WEB THERAPY is that the best performance anywhere from any actress is on WEB THERAPY right now!!!

    Gwyneth Paltrow is delivering a performance of remarkable restraint, while being totally over the top. Funny and so real and so sad. Her 5 minutes of screen time says more about America today than any of the indie films mentioned under LAGGIES combined. STUNNING!!!!
    Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    Absolutely loved the webseries & the tv show seems quite promising! I do hope though that the same guest stars will appear since theirAbsolutely loved the webseries & the tv show seems quite promising! I do hope though that the same guest stars will appear since their interaction with Kudrow was the soul. It hasn't received a 10/10 since I am still trying to get used to the idea of a 30 minute show instead of the bite sized webisodes. I strongly believe though that the best is yet to come! The backstage bits during the end credits also a very pleasant surprise. Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2011
    9
    i think people need to be open minded and realize that this show is just hilarious. good casting; good timing; good script. everything worksi think people need to be open minded and realize that this show is just hilarious. good casting; good timing; good script. everything works just fine. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    8
    Give it Time. My hopes are high. The first episode sets a promising season though not fully fulfilled yet. Hold on there,,something tells meGive it Time. My hopes are high. The first episode sets a promising season though not fully fulfilled yet. Hold on there,,something tells me Kodrow found her voice though needs more then "Well I'm the therapist put preoccupied with my own issues" shtick, then we might see some biting comedy. Hope so Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2017
    4
    I tried, I really tried to like this but it's just too repetitive. Lisa's character, Fiona Wallace, is not Phoebe from "Friends" and I thinkI tried, I really tried to like this but it's just too repetitive. Lisa's character, Fiona Wallace, is not Phoebe from "Friends" and I think that's what we all want. Instead she drops her voice and speaks with a certain pretentiousness that wears on you after a time. Her guest stars are all familiar faces so that's great but they just don't add enough to it. It's a half hour show that comes off as a one-trick pony, she needed to add a b-plot and additional settings. Note, this is specifically regarding season 1, so maybe she mixed it up further for subsequent seasons, we'll see... Expand

See all 14 User Reviews