• Network: TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 12, 2012
    63
    It's an affable show, but at an hour long, it starts to feel like a slow dance that won't end. [12 Nov 2012, p.46]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Nov 12, 2012
    60
    The celebration and surrender are enough to put the viewer in a vicarious good mood, no matter how unconvincing its context.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Nov 12, 2012
    67
    There's a likability to it that occasionally reminded me of another one-hour comedy that loved music, NBC's "Ed," and the varied nature of the parties the guys play evokes Starz's late, lamented "Party Down."
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Nov 9, 2012
    70
    The interactions among the core four men are the key, and the likable actors playing them make most of the scenes work.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Nov 9, 2012
    80
    The jokes flow nicely, the music is fun, and the pop culture references will make almost everyone smile.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Nov 9, 2012
    58
    The music has its moments and the comedy occasionally rattles home. Not nearly often enough to make it "Very Funny." But worth a few grins and maybe even a shimmy shake.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 9, 2012
    70
    This agreeable, though hardly groundbreaking, hour-long buddy comedy-with-music is almost as catchy as the cover tunes these wedding (and occasional Bar Mitzvah) singer/musicians specialize in.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Nov 9, 2012
    70
    The Wedding Band delivers a good time, even if--sort of like an actual wedding band--nobody remembers much the morning after.
  9. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Nov 9, 2012
    50
    Not wild enough, not funny enough, Wedding Band comes off as merely OK entertainment.
  10. Reviewed by: Nuzhat Naoreen
    Nov 9, 2012
    58
    It just can't seem to deliver the same laughs (or swoons!). We're already getting cold feet.
  11. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 9, 2012
    25
    The show isn't funny, but worse, it's not interesting. The characters are dull, the performances off the mark at virtually every level, and the writing is flatter than a deflated implant.
  12. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Nov 9, 2012
    58
    Wedding Band is frequently vulgar, and few punch lines can be quoted here, but it has such affection for all its characters that you might be troubled that you can't return the love.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I'm not absolutely in love with this show (yet) like I am with Community or Cougar Town, but the jokes do make me laugh out loud, especially now that it's easing into a few more episodes. I really love the drummer in fact. But what I really love is the MUSIC. I still can't get their Greek version of "Like A G6" out of my head! Just bought it on iTunes :D Full Review »
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    After seeing the previews, I honestly didn't expect to enjoy this show whatsoever, and just happened to catch it one night when I was home andAfter seeing the previews, I honestly didn't expect to enjoy this show whatsoever, and just happened to catch it one night when I was home and there was nothing else I wanted to watch on TV (I believe this was the second episode). Everything about this show was surprising: it's funny more often than not, most of the jokes land, the characters are generally likable, and the musical segments actually work. The songs add to the fun of the show, and they often come up with some really interesting arrangements. After watching a few episodes, I actually set my DVR to record it... something I almost never do with comedies (the only others being It's Always Sunny and Psych). Wedding Band is definitely worth checking out. I hope TBS gives it at least one more season! Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    This show isn't even remotely funny. Trying to keep an open mind (as I was underwhelmed within ten minutes), I suffered through a coupleThis show isn't even remotely funny. Trying to keep an open mind (as I was underwhelmed within ten minutes), I suffered through a couple episodes and didn't crack a smile once. The main character (Green) is incredibly annoying - and the guy looks way too old. I'm not sure which is worse, his acting or his singing. In the end, the band just comes off as being some mid-life-crisis wanna-be-hip group of immature douches. Worse yet, they try to make the band look "cool" by pitting them against "nerds" and "boy-bands". And yet, they still just reek of pathetic desperation.

    The underlying story-lines are as boring as the listless performances by the four main characters. They immediately try to infuse some celebrity power into the show by starring Megan Fox to get a least a few horny men to watch it. But like the rest of the show, you can tell they're just trying way too hard. If you have half a brain, you'll get bored with this show within the first 10 minutes.
    Full Review »