• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Wedding Band Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After years of playing at bachelorette parties, bar mitzvahs, high-school reunions, and weddings, Tommy (Brian Austin Green), Eddie (Peter Cambor), Barry (Derek Miller), and Stevie (Harold Perrineau) want something more than being just the "wedding band."
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Nov 9, 2012
    80
    The jokes flow nicely, the music is fun, and the pop culture references will make almost everyone smile.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 9, 2012
    70
    This agreeable, though hardly groundbreaking, hour-long buddy comedy-with-music is almost as catchy as the cover tunes these wedding (and occasional Bar Mitzvah) singer/musicians specialize in.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Nov 9, 2012
    70
    The interactions among the core four men are the key, and the likable actors playing them make most of the scenes work.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Nov 12, 2012
    60
    The celebration and surrender are enough to put the viewer in a vicarious good mood, no matter how unconvincing its context.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Nov 9, 2012
    58
    The music has its moments and the comedy occasionally rattles home. Not nearly often enough to make it "Very Funny." But worth a few grins and maybe even a shimmy shake.
  6. Reviewed by: Nuzhat Naoreen
    Nov 9, 2012
    58
    It just can't seem to deliver the same laughs (or swoons!). We're already getting cold feet.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 9, 2012
    25
    The show isn't funny, but worse, it's not interesting. The characters are dull, the performances off the mark at virtually every level, and the writing is flatter than a deflated implant.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    One of the better comedies to be on US TV in a long while, the music is entertaining and there is a genuine feeling that the guys could be friends. Good writing and very good mixes of the songs. All in all PLEASE do not let this get cancelled Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    Great music in each episode. Liked it more when I read they actually sing all the music. It's not a "deep" show but entertaining. and if u get the pop culture references, it's pretty darn funny. Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Love the show! It is light and the kind of show that you watch for an hour just to escape from the real world! The music is pretty good, the writing is witty. It can be over the top, but if you are looking for the same old comedy, this is not it. If you come from that magical decade of the 80s, like the Wedding Singer and Hot tub TIme Machine, you should defintiely check this one out. Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not absolutely in love with this show (yet) like I am with Community or Cougar Town, but the jokes do make me laugh out loud, especially now that it's easing into a few more episodes. I really love the drummer in fact. But what I really love is the MUSIC. I still can't get their Greek version of "Like A G6" out of my head! Just bought it on iTunes :D Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    the show was not as bad as some of the (horrible) critics say. it reminded me a lot of the show secret girlfriend which I and friends I have talked to all liked but also did not recieve stellar reviews. while the show is not the best out there it is completely worth the watch if your not oldand dried up Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2012
    2
    This is one of those shows that tries too hard to be funny, and - when it actually has the potential *to* be funny, it squanders it with unwitty writing. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    This show isn't even remotely funny. Trying to keep an open mind (as I was underwhelmed within ten minutes), I suffered through a couple episodes and didn't crack a smile once. The main character (Green) is incredibly annoying - and the guy looks way too old. I'm not sure which is worse, his acting or his singing. In the end, the band just comes off as being some mid-life-crisis wanna-be-hip group of immature douches. Worse yet, they try to make the band look "cool" by pitting them against "nerds" and "boy-bands". And yet, they still just reek of pathetic desperation.

    The underlying story-lines are as boring as the listless performances by the four main characters. They immediately try to infuse some celebrity power into the show by starring Megan Fox to get a least a few horny men to watch it. But like the rest of the show, you can tell they're just trying way too hard. If you have half a brain, you'll get bored with this show within the first 10 minutes.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews