• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 7, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 11, 2013
    100
    "Weeds" may indeed be the best-written new show of the year so far, but the performances are superb as well.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 11, 2013
    100
    The best new show this season. [5 Aug 2005]
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Peyser
    Jul 11, 2013
    90
    A first-rate show with a wonderful cast... and a delicious satirical streak. [1 Aug 2005]
  4. Reviewed by: Cynthia Littleton
    Jul 11, 2013
    90
    "Weeds" is a blast, a wry, well-written look at the life of the pot dealer next door in small-screen suburbia. [1 Aug 2005]
  5. Reviewed by: Mekeisha Madden Toby
    Jul 11, 2013
    83
    Smarter and more creative than ABC's "Desperate Housewives," that other show about superficial suburbia, "Weeds" has edgier and wittier writing. [6 Aug 2005]
  6. Reviewed by: Gillian Flynn
    Jun 18, 2013
    83
    The opening of Weeds makes me want to scream. ... That said, Weeds is a dozen times more creative than its opening credits.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    I just finished binge watching this on Netflix. There are periods throughout the series where the show seemed to be in a lull for severalI just finished binge watching this on Netflix. There are periods throughout the series where the show seemed to be in a lull for several episodes at a time, but eventually it always found it's stride and left me wanting more. The characters are entertaining, especially Andy, and I enjoyed that the show doesn't even pretend to take itself seriously. The recurring theme of being white and privileged and expecting everyone to take care of your problems for you makes for a lot of comedic moments. Also, it's definitely not glamorizing weed so don't feel like this is a show that you can't admit to watching. I do wish that the season 7 finale had been the ending though, season 8 was pretty weak and didn't add much to the story. Full Review »
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Funny, quick, amusing, sad, relate able, and completely satisfying. I love this show! Parker is a great actress who really makes the show whatFunny, quick, amusing, sad, relate able, and completely satisfying. I love this show! Parker is a great actress who really makes the show what it is and the writers do a fantastic job of creating voice and inventing these fun and bubbly personalities! i can not get enough of this show! Full Review »
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    1
    Weeds had so much potential, but unfortunately Mary-Louise Parker ruins it. She is not funny or entertaining to watch at all. I am veryWeeds had so much potential, but unfortunately Mary-Louise Parker ruins it. She is not funny or entertaining to watch at all. I am very disappointed with this show because the main character should have been Kevin Nealon instead. He is the only reason why my rating isn't a 0. Full Review »