• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 7, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jul 11, 2013
    100
    Every character bursts with life here, in what may be the most fully realized show on TV. [13 Aug 2007]
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 11, 2013
    100
    None of its quirky charm and tone-shifting mix of comedy and drama has lagged since we last witnessed Nancy's precarious situation.
  3. While Botwin's crime world is the engine that drives "Weeds," there is much more to the show than that. At its core, it's a subtle satire of suburban life, politics, social mores and race. [13 Aug 2007]
  4. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 11, 2013
    90
    One of the best things about “Weeds” is how efficiently it moves forward; it’s an incredibly well-paced half-hour that always leaves you wanting more. [13 Aug 2007]
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 11, 2013
    90
    "Weeds" is odder, darker and more suspenseful than ever.
  6. Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Jul 11, 2013
    83
    The humor is more subversive than ever. [13 Aug 2007]
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 11, 2013
    80
    Parker, so unlikably strident on "The West Wing," is a revelation in "Weeds," making Nancy sympathetic even when she's making terrible decisions.
  8. Reviewed by: Daniel Fienberg
    Jul 11, 2013
    80
    Always a 30-minute show with a rich vein of drama, Weeds feels darker than ever this season.
  9. Reviewed by: Doug Elfman
    Jul 11, 2013
    75
    The new episodes find the upper-middle-class mother of two evolving into a gangster. This is a good move for the show. [13 Aug 2007]
  10. Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Jul 11, 2013
    75
    This isn't the best role TV can give Parker, but it'll do for now. [13 Aug 2007]
  11. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Jul 11, 2013
    70
    It thrives as radical comedy because it challenges one of our most preciously held assumptions: that parenthood is ennobling, rewarding work; that it grounds us and makes us marginally better people.
  12. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jul 11, 2013
    50
    It has so much going for it on paper -- notably Mary-Louise Parker as a pot-dealing soccer mom -- but the series' creators remain so pleased with themselves that they're rarely as funny as they obviously think they are. [13 Aug 2007]
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    I liked this season, but not as much as season two. But I wouldn't rate it an 8 and put it with season 7. This isn't really a review? MyI liked this season, but not as much as season two. But I wouldn't rate it an 8 and put it with season 7. This isn't really a review? My ratings are for me anyway. :) Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2011
    7
    This season has got too complicated for itself with too many characters and our leading actress being stuck in the role of being someonesThis season has got too complicated for itself with too many characters and our leading actress being stuck in the role of being someones 'bi##h'. Not as good as the first two. Full Review »