What About Brian : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 16, 2006
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 140
  2. Negative: 13 out of 140

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. LiekeR
    Feb 21, 2007
    0
    What an incredibly boring and awful show! It didn't really seem like a nice show, but I gave it a chance anyway: Big Mistake. Never in my life have I encountered a show that is so utterly boring and ridiculous at the same time. Of all the characters there's only one that I can tolerate:Dave. The rest may just as while die as far as I'm concerned and be replaced with more What an incredibly boring and awful show! It didn't really seem like a nice show, but I gave it a chance anyway: Big Mistake. Never in my life have I encountered a show that is so utterly boring and ridiculous at the same time. Of all the characters there's only one that I can tolerate:Dave. The rest may just as while die as far as I'm concerned and be replaced with more likeable and intelligent characters. How can this happen? How can someone write and/or produce a show with no interesting or charming characters. It's okay to have one or two villians and the odd character you don't care about, but to have every single one of them irritate the hell out of you is really an accomplishment. Even if the storyline is dumb and doesn't generate much interest, that's what the characters are for. That's why I still watch 'Gilmore Girls. I care for those characters and even though they make stupid mistakes and are subjected to uninteresting scripts I still love them and feel for them and symphatise with them. That's how it is supposed to be. It is beyond me how 'What about Brian' ever got on the air. Expand
  2. BradK
    May 16, 2006
    1
    Are all these comments from robots or ABC employees? This show is not good. It is rife with stereotypes (European lover man I'm looking at you) not to mention predictable plots. Avoid!
  3. billt
    May 8, 2006
    0
    If it wasn't for the fact I can watch south park after what about brian I would crave my eyes out with a screwdriver then dig my heart out with a spoon.The only good in this show is waiting for it to be canceled.
  4. BigDicked
    Apr 1, 2007
    0
    This fucking show sucks!
  5. ZeldaJ
    Jul 27, 2007
    0
    i watched this show long ago and haven't watched since... is it still on? it was like watching a high school play only with worse acting. Least a high school play is more beleivable. I'm from the hood and my school's plays actually had better set design and we even looked better. That said we wore handmedown costumes most of which were made by our crack addicted mothers. I i watched this show long ago and haven't watched since... is it still on? it was like watching a high school play only with worse acting. Least a high school play is more beleivable. I'm from the hood and my school's plays actually had better set design and we even looked better. That said we wore handmedown costumes most of which were made by our crack addicted mothers. I luv my mom god rest her soul but that heffer should have been in charge of set designer and wardrobe for Brian. She had to sell her ass to support her habit but the show Brian has sold it's soul. Casting couch beware, don't sleep yourself to the top or you'll end up being a bottom....this program gave me nightmares and my kids are scared for life....what a great show...yummy Expand
  6. RemyB
    Apr 19, 2006
    1
    Wow I'm so surprised people like or believed this show. This was painful to watch. I would have turned it off if the remote was in my hands but it wasn't. For starters the open-marriage idea is ridiculus. The husband and wife both obviously wanted sex, their relationship wasn't in shambles, they still communicated well, they even started to have sex with each other, and Wow I'm so surprised people like or believed this show. This was painful to watch. I would have turned it off if the remote was in my hands but it wasn't. For starters the open-marriage idea is ridiculus. The husband and wife both obviously wanted sex, their relationship wasn't in shambles, they still communicated well, they even started to have sex with each other, and then decide to have sex with other people? Come on now. Also, where is the loyalty best friends have? Brian wants his best friends girl. Lastly, Brian is a bit too dull to hold down his own show. Overall, when I wasn't bored I was repelled, I give it a 1 because I got one or two laughs from how bad the show was. Expand
  7. MikeW
    Apr 23, 2006
    2
    This is one of the most boring cliched pilots I've seen. No characters are sympathetic nor likable. None of the actors fit into their roles nor were they very convincing. BORING!
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Ironically, the differences among the characters that make the show interesting and even, at times, compelling, also test its credibility.
  2. There's not a lot wrong about "Brian.'' But there's not a lot right about it, either.
  3. 30
    Like a sunnier version of thirtysomething, lacking only the inspired casting, the insightful writing and the wrenching realism.