• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 23, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
White Collar Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A con man is given the choice of taking a job as an FBI consultant or face going back to jail.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Terrific acting, crackling dialogue and geek-hip crime are not the only things that make this the most electric drama to premiere this fall.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    White Collar is not original. But White Collar is enjoyable.
  3. Light with no pretensions of loftiness, White Collar offers pleasant enough entertainment.
  4. It's the best drama pilot I saw over the summer.
  5. Reviewed by: Lesley Smith
    80
    The show benefits as well from its lack of exposition, focus on present action, and a ruthless economy of editing rarely seen on primetime TV.
  6. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    75
    When the boys team up to bring down fancy criminal types, the dialogue is sharp, the music is snappy and the clothes are snazzy.
  7. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    67
    The con-man-works-with-G-man series is already a well-oiled machine, which is both good and bad. Good, because the interplay between Matt Bomer's hipster criminal and Tim DeKay's square fed is crisp; bad because the plots are often wilted.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Must Watch... If you dont, you'll regret it :)
  2. JenniferK.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This show is amazing!! I love the cases and the mystery surrounding Kate!
  3. SammyP.
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Well done Rat-Pack-type young leading man, Carnival man and sexy 90210 alum...America will be watching you all next week...another hit for USA Network's Friday nite lineup. Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    Brilliant! This show is highly addictive. I've introduced 5 people to White Collar, including my mother and everyone is hooked! My one complaint, the season is way to short. More episodes, please! Expand
  5. ShaneO
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    I'm generally not a big fan of American series but this one really slipped past my guard :) Looks good, with an engaging cast, and somebody in the crew knows how to hold a camera steady. Nice use of locations too. If the following episodes hold up as well as the first one, then I'll be watching. Nice one! Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Yeah it's nothing really new it's a lightweight Mentalist, but the chemistry between the main characters is way better. I enjoy this show for it's lightness and dialogues. Yeah it's a bit cliche at times, but it's a classy cliche. This show keeps me entertained and gifts me with a laugh or two with each episode. If you're not too serious about a TV show and want to be at least a bit connected to the show White Collar is a show for you. it's premise isn't very realistic, but hey! neither were (or are) were Friends, The Mentalist, Lost or Walking Dead? Check it out it's not lost time. Expand
  7. mungostj
    Oct 30, 2009
    5
    it's better than Burn Notice but still not good. FBI agents have to be smarter & better trained than these ones. And Tiffani only has a small role, she is the only reason to watch. Stupid FBI move of the night, take a bomb & throw it on the sidewalk instead of a large water fountain. Collapse

See all 33 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.