• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 9 out of 77

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2013
    5
    It is proabably the most stupid fun you can have with a TV show. Yes it's stupid, but in a good way. It's kinda of cathartic to watch people kill each other for 13 episodes. It's not a must watch, but it isn't bad.
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    I love this show! I live in the UK and managed to check it out online. It's so entertaining and has a great concept. I do enjoy how creative the murders and riddles get. I also really love the character 'Giles'. I hope to see more in the future!
  3. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    Surprizingly enjoyable murder-mystery reality series. I didn't know what to make of it at first, especially as it slides into a new layer of reality TV where everyone was oddly convincing as they pretended their teammates died and/or were scared to die themselves. There was something special about it, and enjoyed watching it throughout the summer.
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    1
    This show was really bad, wasted my time and watched all the episodes! Time I cannot retrieve. ABC please revamp the show or cancel it. By the way Lindsey should have won.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    The most interesting and the best TV show currently being aired. It is an important event on my Sunday night to watch "Whodunnit". I hope it gets renewed for a second season.
  6. Aug 25, 2013
    2
    Such a numbing an truly terrible show. It takes what could be a good idea and totally ruins it; if it were tongue-in-cheek or just funny in any way it could be good. Instead everyone acts serious like they're actually going to die and the acting is just painfully atrocious. Everything that happens is unintentionally hilarious: plot points, acting, writing, the reveals of how people die, and more. I watched it for about the first six episodes but then I just gave up because it was basically like watching paint dry, if the paint were somehow drying in a way that made you angry. I did, however, find out the end episode and it's just beyond stupid. I'm at a loss for words. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Ironically the critics thought that the viewers wouldn't like this show, yet almost all metacritic user reviews came back positive. Great show and I highly enjoyed watching every bit of it and I really hope they bring this show back.
  8. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    I love this show!! Very interesting and cool!! It would be better if it was a little less scripted but other than that it's AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  9. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I personally loved this show because it got you thinking and the suspense was great! The show gave me something to do in the summer and every episode I was jus writing down whodunnit and it has actually helped my brain see that out there is a scary world and you need to find your way through it. I knew that the killer was Cris because she has some popularity on media by being a miss Nevada and she was finding out very quickly how the clues work. She was also giving out hints that she was the killer and has never ever been scared once. Now isn't that a little suspicious but alas we now have solid information and have put an end to the suspense. I really do hope that they come out with another season and when I saw that they might not because of the reviews I was scarred so that is why I am writing this for all fans out there please make another season of whodunnit on behalf of the fans of whodunnit. Expand
  10. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite tv show! Hope they make another season. I would watch every episode just like i did this season! Amazing, suspensful, and mysterious. My sister anne enjoys this as well.
  11. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    This show is really entertaining and makes sunday nights actually enjoyable! Also, the cast of characters seem like ordinary people. This show is a must see.
  12. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have no idea why the critics think that this show is bad. I think that this is the best show on tv this summer. For someone to make one of these shows is amazing. I can't wait to see who wins! Expand
  13. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    I normally hate mystery shows but this one got me all hooked up! My friend told me about this and I must say he sure did make the right choice. The suspense on this one will deliver chills right through your spine. I'm loving it so far and look forward for future seasons and episodes!
  14. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    I was devastated when ABC canceled Pan Am, I didn't watch an ABC show for 3 years until I heard about Whodunnit. I was very excited about it. It is a very great show and I love it. I don't want whodunnit to get canceled like Pan Am. I really want it to have second or more seasons.
  15. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    love this show needs to have a second season or ill cry im epsessed with it!!!!! please renew it or i wont watch abc anymore i love this show!!!!! LOVE IT SO MUCH!!!!
  16. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    so amazing i love this show this show should go on forever i am totally one hundred percent loving this show so fun and i will never stop loving this show! Its so good if it gets cancelled i would cry i LOVE it so much and my family does too!!!!1
  17. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    I do not understand all of the negative reviews for this show.
    I personally enjoyed this series: excellent production, lots of storylines along with strategic play.

    Cannot wait for a season two.

    Also downloaded the audiobook as well which served as the prelude. One of the better e-Books I listened to.

    Gabe from Canada
  18. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Whodunnit? is an amazing show that I look forward to every single week. The suspense never gets old, and the intensity of the show remains. It is not only entertaining, but it makes me think and makes me want to solve the crimes along with the contestants. Although some scenes of the show may seem staged, the show itself is very suspenseful and really entertaining. I hope this show gets a season 2, because there has been nothing on American TV like this in a long time, if not ever. Expand
  19. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite show on Sunday Night. My family is all hooked on this show hope it lasts for few more seasons at least. Its very different concept than most reality shows. Just a fun show to watch.
  20. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While the show is silly and campy there is an element of charm the show has that will suck you in. Yes the death scenes are clearly fake but the deaths don't matter its how they solve them. That's why I give the show an eight. Expand
  21. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    when I saw the coming attractions for this show, I thought it looked like it was going to be corny, but it is now actually one of my favorite tv shows! I hope they make a 2nd season. I really enjoy watching and trying to figure out each case.
  22. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    I love this show! I hope they make another season cause I'm so depressed that it's almost over, because this is the only show that me and everyone else in my family all can agree on and really have fun watching together!
  23. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Yes there are mixed feelings about this tv series. I think people want to like it because it is a unique twist on normal reality TV. However, there are parts of the show that if tweaked could make this show a hit. Personally I like this show already, can it be improved, yes. I have my fingers crossed for a second season with some improvements.
  24. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    This is the BEST SHOW EVER! Even though critics have negative reviews about them, it is still a SUPER AND MYSTERIOUS SHOW!! And people should really stay tune to the show
  25. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    This show is AMAZING! The plot, the characters, the game! AMAZING! I think Melina is the winner and Cris is the killer! I love this show! Its my favorite part of Sunday night
  26. Jul 31, 2013
    7
    I gave the show a 7 because although I love the show for it's originality and suspenseful drama of running around trying to search for murder clues, the contestants DO feel a little fake at times, the only time I've ever seen a hint of a real moment is after they're dead. At least 2 of the 13 are professional killers are professional actors (Sherri, who was killed in the first episode and whoever the "killer" is). Things feel a little too controlled and obvious with regards to "evidence", which makes for a good crime procedural drama but not so much for reality TV. But, despite it's minor flaws it's nice to see a reality show that relies on intelligence rather than who's the most popular/conniving/unlikely to pose a threat or whose got the best Jersey Shore tan (I didn't even bother to watch past 1 episode of that show but since they all looked like oompaloompas who were exposed to heavy amounts of gamma radiation I assume that's what it was all about) Expand
  27. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    Really cool show. For the reviewer who said it was like clue as if that's a bad thing, they don't really know what they're talking about. While the show is sort of like clue at times, it's pretty much like CSI in game show form without finding out who the killer is. It's a fun watch without a doubt and for a summer game show, it's not bad at all.
  28. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    BEST SHOW EVER!!! Never seen anything like it, Gets better and better each episode. Give it a chance, you wont regret it! ITs so good! Watch it! NOW:)
  29. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    I think this show is much more thought provoking than the other reality shows on TV. It is reminiscent of survivor, because teams form as a result of the game. I love it! I hope it's renewed.
  30. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    I consider myself an extreme whodunnit watcher although sometimes I find myself paranoid at the end of each episode. Let me start by saying that this show does not get nearly enough credit! Critics hate this show but really it's not terrible. Like one review said, we know that a body is not actually a dead one and we know that the killer is not actually killing people but we are still sucked in and scared. Sure, the contestants are actors but why is that so terrible? It's reality TV! Take, DanceMom for example. That show doesn't get crap about those girls being actresses! Anyways, the mysteries are fun to solve with the contestants and whats even better is the fact that the viewers know the whole story. The only reason it does not get a 10 from me is because I admit to being slightly paranoid after watching. Expand
  31. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Rated a 10 because I've never seen another show like it. The mysteries are great, and it's fun to watch how each day pans out. Even if the hypothetical situation that some or even all the contestants are actors were true, it still wouldn't detract from the show's entertainment value. I find it unfortunate to see critics rate it so low, and hope that this show will live to see another season!
  32. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    I think this is a cool show. although it is extremely cheesy, it didnt bother me because it is very entertaining to see who lives, who dies, and who solves the mystery most thouroly. it is one of my favorite shows right now and recommend to anyone who likes mystery, suspense, and cheesy acting
  33. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    I watched this show years ago. It is called the board game Clue. I mean I thought ABC was good with what they offered to their viewers but this is just a travesty.
  34. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Whodunnit? is an interesting spinoff of Clue that keeps you interested with minor problems. Sherri getting killed and losing her chance of the cash prize was unfair, if they really are normal people, not actors. The other bad thing is the obviousness of the murder cause after watching 40 minutes of the episode is disappointing, like the cause of Dontae's death. But don't judge the show based on the players' fake emotions of "dying", judge it on its unique mystery aspect. Read the book to understand it more! Whodunnit! That is why I give this show an 8. Expand
  35. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    Really enjoying this one! I love a good mystery. I think it would be immensely fun to be on this show. It's so nice to see something DIFFERENT on tv for once.
  36. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    THIS SHOW IS SO COOL! I imagined it to be a giant game of clue, but really, it's its own unique idea. It's something special, and I think this is possibly the most peculiar show I've ever seen.
  37. Jun 26, 2013
    7
    I gave this show a 7, not because the first episode was terribly impressive to watch, but because it looks like it would be incredibly fun to play.

    In fact I'm going to go see if i can convince some of my friends to start a life sized game of clue modeled off of this show.
  38. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    If you usually read my reviews, I basically give a show up to a rating of 9. but this show.. NO IT DESERVES A 10 ********BASED ON THE FIRST EPISODE ONLY**************** this show is full of intense and mystery. it kept me gut wrenching and it kept my heart racing for a whole hour. just mind blowing!!
  39. Jun 24, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The show tries to mix acting with challenges- The "contestants" are clearly actors- at points they are so unbelievable that I laughed when I really wasn't supposed to. The redeeming qualities on the show came from he enjoyment I got watching my least favorite character get kicked off and the hot guy being the smartest character- but seriously- Drowning... really?) Expand
  40. Jun 24, 2013
    6
    It's clearly that a few of the cast members are actors, Not very good ones mind you. It is an interesting show though and I can't wait to see how it plays out.
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 24, 2013
    70
    We know the body convulsing on the floor of the grand foyer isn't really being electrocuted. And yet we get sucked into the suspense and the gore as the players express fear, anxiety and tearful protests against being the next to die. ABC's amalgam of drama, murder mystery, parlor game and elimination competition for money is a curious mishmash.
  2. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Jun 24, 2013
    40
    Though Whodunnit? wants to give ordinary people the ability to step up and use their brains to solve a crime, the results (as of the first episode) are either painful or unintentionally funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 24, 2013
    40
    The cast seems no better, or worse, than any reality TV assemblage, but the clues are delivered to the group in such a way that much of the pilot is spent watching them troop, mostly en masse, from one room to the other. It's not terribly exciting.