• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Whodunnit? Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Giles the butler (Gildart Jackson) hosts this reality-competition show where 13 contestants must figure out who is the "murderer" at Rue Manor to win the $250,000 prize.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Reality, Action & Adventure, Suspense, Game Show
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 24, 2013
    70
    We know the body convulsing on the floor of the grand foyer isn't really being electrocuted. And yet we get sucked into the suspense and the gore as the players express fear, anxiety and tearful protests against being the next to die. ABC's amalgam of drama, murder mystery, parlor game and elimination competition for money is a curious mishmash.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 19, 2013
    42
    Maybe this will prove to be a bit more interesting as the contestants dwindle. But based on Sunday night’s premiere, that seems like a long slog toward the show’s eventual payoff.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 24, 2013
    40
    Whodunnit? asks its contestants to become actors when they are chosen to be killed off, which gives this show a cheesy vibe that's accentuated by contestants screaming at the top of their lungs when they find a body that they obviously know is just someone playing dead. Add in pacing problems and reality show cliches and Whodunnit? may prompt a big "Who cares?" from discerning viewers.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 21, 2013
    40
    The problem with shows like this is that even if the game is diverting, it's all so patently phony that it's hard to muster up much of a rooting interest in who solves or even wins the game.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 24, 2013
    40
    The cast seems no better, or worse, than any reality TV assemblage, but the clues are delivered to the group in such a way that much of the pilot is spent watching them troop, mostly en masse, from one room to the other. It's not terribly exciting.
  6. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Jun 24, 2013
    40
    Though Whodunnit? wants to give ordinary people the ability to step up and use their brains to solve a crime, the results (as of the first episode) are either painful or unintentionally funny.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 19, 2013
    30
    Frankly, if you’re going to waste time on something this silly, why not put it to more community-minded use and support your local dinner theater?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite show on Sunday Night. My family is all hooked on this show hope it lasts for few more seasons at least. Its very different concept than most reality shows. Just a fun show to watch. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite tv show! Hope they make another season. I would watch every episode just like i did this season! Amazing, suspensful, and mysterious. My sister anne enjoys this as well. Collapse
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    I think this show is much more thought provoking than the other reality shows on TV. It is reminiscent of survivor, because teams form as a result of the game. I love it! I hope it's renewed. Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    when I saw the coming attractions for this show, I thought it looked like it was going to be corny, but it is now actually one of my favorite tv shows! I hope they make a 2nd season. I really enjoy watching and trying to figure out each case. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    Really enjoying this one! I love a good mystery. I think it would be immensely fun to be on this show. It's so nice to see something DIFFERENT on tv for once. Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    I consider myself an extreme whodunnit watcher although sometimes I find myself paranoid at the end of each episode. Let me start by saying that this show does not get nearly enough credit! Critics hate this show but really it's not terrible. Like one review said, we know that a body is not actually a dead one and we know that the killer is not actually killing people but we are still sucked in and scared. Sure, the contestants are actors but why is that so terrible? It's reality TV! Take, DanceMom for example. That show doesn't get crap about those girls being actresses! Anyways, the mysteries are fun to solve with the contestants and whats even better is the fact that the viewers know the whole story. The only reason it does not get a 10 from me is because I admit to being slightly paranoid after watching. Expand
  7. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    I watched this show years ago. It is called the board game Clue. I mean I thought ABC was good with what they offered to their viewers but this is just a travesty. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews